We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff but poorly maintained hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but poorly maintained hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Greeted by friendly and helpful staffs but disappointed with the room and overall maintenance of the hotel. Was expecting more from holiday villa as its a reputable resort.

Below were the issues with the room encountered:
- very difficult to access into the room. Door knob problem.
- room had no phone. Receptionist apologzed for inconvenience as there was lightning strike a week before.
- toilet sink height is higher than normal. A shorter person would probably have to tip toe.
- toilet shower and beday device had leaks.
- daybed coffee table had nails sticking out.
- the safety deposit box is so tiny that you can carry it out of the room and run with it.
- switches are poorly placed and designed. Some were hidden behind the lights and were not locatable until maintenance ppl pointed it.

Below are the notable experience:
- friendly and helpful staffs who always smiled
- maintenance and housekeeping are efficient and quick to response
- King size bed is clean

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellephant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    87
    52
    48
See reviews for
118
58
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at Garden Villa for 2D 1N. Let me start with the good points.
1. The surrounding area of the hotel is great, the garden villa can assure you the privacy and most of the units are facing the pool.
2. Easy access to the beach and the beach is clean
3. There are 2 pools, 1 located at the hotel rooms. Another one located at garden villa. Both pools are big and clean. There is a kid's pool.

The bad points are:
1. The entrance at lobby need to redesign.. not suitable for the brand of 'Holiday Villa' .. come on.. you can do better that this..
2. The room (garden villa) is not well maintain.. old furniture and some already broken (cupboard door is spoilt)
3. The toilet flush is not working well.. u need special skill to flush it correctly
4. The towel provided are torned ..
5. Bedsheet got stain..
6. The aircond is still workable but a bit old.. need to change..
7. The kettle is rusty --> this one is very bad!

Overall, i think you need to refurbish almost everything... You have the brand name 'Holiday Villa' but you are actually not reach to the brand 'standard'... Anyway, your pool is big and clean, i am very satisfied with that.. but please.. you've got to do something with your interior used in the room.. i am surely will come back if you can improve those bad points i have highlighted above..

Thanks

Room Tip: Garden Villa is a chalet type.. and facing the pool, only few steps away from the room..can jump str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonie7808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

What was supposed to be a relaxing beach vacation last week turned out to be a horrible one. At the end of the 2 nights' stay, my husband and I could not wait to leave the place. It was unfortunate that we had paid in advance, or else we would have cut the stay short and headed elsewhere. Where should I begin? the chalet situated close to the pool is in terrible shape. the toilet is so old and mouldy, the tv has bad reception. on our second day, before we left the hotel to do sight seeing around the area (this wasn't on our itenarary for this trip but we just had to find a reason to leave the hotel!) we called the housekeeping to make the bed. When we came back late in the evening, they did make the bed alright, but did not even bother to clear the dustbin and ashtray and wash the cups!
I read somewhere that they serve decent breakfast buffet and we were really looking forward to it, thinking it could somewhat compensate the other areas we were shortchanged. sadly this is not the case. It is really sad to see the resort's surrounding in such a sorry state. there was garbage all over the sprawling resort, the corridors were dimly lit and eerie. The only good point that I can think of is the breathtaking beauty of the beach. with such beautiful beach, the resort actually does have its allure and potential. It's simply sad that the management has failed to capitalize on this.
In its newsletter, I note that the company which owns the resort has expanded and it has acquired quite a number of hotels abroad. Just a small suggestion, it may want to concentrate on investing in its assets here before embarking on such an ambitious venture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Was there the last weekend with my family and we were very happy with our stay there. Upon arrival we were dissapointed to find out that the Garden Villas that we booked were all taken, Nouri the reception staff and her manager Bernard were quick to upgrade us to their boutique resort with 2 rooms and a private pool. The boutique resort units turned up to better than expected, thumbs up guys. On the last night stay about 10pm, I urgently needed to print some important documents for an important meeting the next day, Rusmin the sales manager again attended to my request and assist me to print out the necessary without any hesitation. Im impressed yet again. I believe they were having a "Manja"(Pamper) campaign when we were there, they definitely lived up to it. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lustdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a shame I can't say too much good about this hotel - so I will start with the bad and end with the good points. We booked one month before arrival - booked Garden Villa as recommended by fellow Trip Advisors. Check in was ok but we were taken to a Capitol room which was of lesser value than the villa we booked as they told us they did not have a villa available on the day - room number 204 was large with king size bed and balcony but at the back of the resort with mouldy bathroom but otherwise a ok room except it was not what I paid for. I complained and they found a available villa so we transferred that night to Villa 216 which was the one furthest from beach and pool with mouldy bathroom (which was otherwise clean - mould is hard to avoid in this humid climate) toilet was constantly running and did not flush everytime we used it, sheets were stained, we got twin beds even though we booked a king size, safe was not operating but they fixed this promptly. When I complained about the above they organised us to move to another villa number 257 - no different to the last one but it was closer to the pool and had a king size bed. 3 different rooms in 2 days - was a pain moving. We only booked 3 nights (thankfully) with option to extend our stay by 5-7 days (which we didn't do - instead we chose to move to another resort). Upon check out they tried to charge me for the 3 nights again even though I had prepaid online before arrival. Phones in room 216 and 257 did not work which meant every time something was not working we had to walk over to reception for help. I organised internet access in the room and that did not work either and had a hassle getting the charge removed from our account.
Good points were helpful staff who tried their best to keep us happy. Buffet breakfast in beach restaurant was fantastic with a great atmosphere. Pool was clean. Internet in foyer area was free and worked good. It's a shame the Holiday Villa Management do not allocate funds for some simple maintenance on this place would bring it up to standard - instead it is tired and run down and I was glad to leave mainly because I did not enjoy having to complain and constantly ask for things to be fixed. Most of the staff were lovely and I say thank you for trying hard to help us have a nice stay. We checked out other hotels while we were there looking for somewhere to move to after our 3 days here. See my other reviews for details. Holiday Villa is 15myr taxi ride from Cherating Village - walk out to main road from Holiday Villa and wave a taxi to stop for you as it is much cheaper than the taxi fare they demand from the reception at Holiday Villa (they wanted 40myr to the village). We paid 70myr from Kuantan Airport to Holiday Villa, Cherating.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what you ask for when booking - you will have to negotiate on arrival. I will po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasuarinaGrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

With the international chain hotel name, the hotel just lower than the standard grade of Holiday villa ! the hotel has no maintenance at all, weird smell in the room, fungus in the wall ! Only good things is the beach . Not a pleasant stay and not recommended.. get other hotel elsewhere !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Avoid this place. In fact, avoid Cherating altogether. There is nothing noteworthy about this beach town apart from the clear water. And regarding this hotel, well, to begin with the staff are appalling. Their levels of laziness and glib replies completely take the p*ss out of your holiday. We booked 2 rooms with kingsize beds but were given one that had 2 separate single beds. The reason stated was that Agoda bookings were subject to availability, which is a complete [--] clause that I had no idea about previously. Anyway, there was no option of changing rooms since everything was booked out. From a non-cooling AC to a non-heating geyser, a dysfunctional telephone line to niggling flush problem, the list could go on. All in all, avoid Cherating, leave alone this excuse for a resort. People here wear complete clothing and enter the swimming pool. They do the same at the gorgeous beach. Beer is available at exhorbident rates and it's about 6km down the road where you could score a reasonably priced pint. Cherating lacks any semblance of a beach culture where the locals will stare out women in shorts or a sleeveless tee. I'd skip the entire east coast of Malaysia if I were you. Travel the extra distance and hit Krabi instead for a chilled out beach holiday. Malaysian culture simply can't accommodate it at the moment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
12.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
5.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
2.7 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing