We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pools and food.... rooms need an update !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely pools and food.... rooms need an update !!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recently stayed here for a couple days after working offshore Kauntan.

Pools: That's right there are 2 and there really nice clean and well maintained.

Food: We ate twice in the hotel beach front restaurant and found the food to be of a decent standard between our group we ate some European and Asian dishes and there was no complaints at all. Very tasty overall.

Room: Sadly the rooms let the resort down a little there in need of some modernization and brightening up especially the bathrooms.

Staff: Everybody seemed happy and greeted you with a nice smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Good day to you,

We Thank you very much for taking the time in letting us know your experience at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating. We are pleased to know that you’ve enjoyed our both swimming pools as part of our guests’ facilities.

Thank you for taking the opportunity to enjoy the food in our Beach Restaurant. It is our Chef’s highest commitment to ensure that all guests are provided with good food and great dining experience.

We are glad to know that our staff was friendly and greeted you with a nice smile. The management will ensure that warmth “MANJA” hospitality is provided to all Holiday Villa Hotels & Resorts guests.

Resort’s room refurbishment is ongoing at the moment in order to ensure that our rooms are upkeep at the best level.

Once again the Management & Staff wishes to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we will ensure that MANJA hospitality will be extended to our guest. We do also hope to see you again soon.

Best Warm Regards,
THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    75
    88
    52
    48
See reviews for
118
59
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked online and were impressed by the pictures. We expected everything to be older than on the pictures but when we arrived there it was obvious the pictures must have been taken in the 70's.

But the most annoying thing was that you would have to wait for ever o uour food and then you would get horrible food. for breakfest we waited an hour and a half for an egg!!
That:s when we dicided to ask our money back and move to a different resort

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twanBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Good day to you,

We Thank you very much for taking the time in letting us to know your experience at Holiday Villa Cherating as we take all our guest comments seriously with a positive mind set and by having guest like your kind self to let us know that there are still room for improvements and we may be able to identify the problem and resolve it. We do apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your love one during your stay with us.

The Garden Villa is located in the Palace Wing. The palace wing has a different concept, as the concept is based on the ancient Malay Sultanate and also the main building in the Palace wing is a replica of the “Istana Lama Sri Menanti” of Negeri Sembilan. The Garden Villa room is based on the Malay “Rumah Kampung” or village house concept which comprises a lot of woody concept and local element.
We sincerely apologies for the delay of food ordered during your breakfast.

Once again we thank you very much for taking the time in stating your thoughts of the experience at our property and we will ensure that we will do our best and work all the positive comments.

We do hope to see you and your love ones again someday as we wish to pamper you and your family the Manja way.

Best warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

i've stayed there one nite with my wife, room quite okay but dont feel so warm compared to our stay in Wina Holiday Villa Bali. For short stay, still okay to stay but if u plan to have long holiday may be u might to look few extravaganza hotel & resorts around the beach :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZulkifli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating,

Thank you for your comments and we are concern of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we once again thank you for your comments and looking forward to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Holiday Villa claims to be a 5-star hotel, but after staying there for three days two nights, I have come to the conclusion that it is NOT a 5-star hotel.

The hotel is promoting "Let Us Manja U" (Let Us Take Care of U).Unfortunately their staff has failed to display this. No one smiles nor greets the guests. They all show a lackadaisical attitude towards the guests. I booked a local tour with the staff and they just ignored me!

The room I booked was spacious and looked good. But I realized that it was an illusion. The bathroom door was not in a good condition. The long bath is full of dry paint. The shower curtain railing was rusting. And there were ants in the bathroom. Besides, the faucet could not be turned off and leaked water.

The restaurant is a pleasant and well-decorated place to spend time enjoying a meal. But I was surprised that there were cats roaming around a 5-star hotel restaurant. I believe that this is the first time I have seen cats in a five-star establishment. Maybe the cats are there for a purpose.

Furthermore, the service at the restaurant is slow. I ordered a meal about an hour earlier. When I arrived at the appointed time, the food was still not ready although only TWO tables were occupied. In fact, I had to wait a further twenty minutes before the fried rice was ready. There was no apology from anyone.

On the second morning the breakfast service was very bad. I arrived early at 7 am because I was aware that Holiday Villa staff of another outlet were having their family day at Cherating. At 7 am, there was only one person manning the restaurant. I quickly grabbed some food. At 7.15 am, a hugecrowd started to come in, and there was not enough staff to replenish all the food. Furthermore, some food stations were not ready.

Staff there is slow and lazy. The corridors and floors are hardly swept. When the place is packed with children running all over, the floors are all wet and slippery. But no one mops up the floors. They just place signs everywhere warning guests about the slippery floors.

There are many plants growing round the surroundings making it a pleasant place to walk around. However, if you observe carefully, many of the plants need water and some are dying.

If you overlook all the shortcomings, it's quite a pleasant place to stay as there are two swimming pools and the hotel is facing a beach. If you have no transport and you intend to enjoy your meals at the restaurant, you are in for a hard time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seladang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVCherating, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating,

Thank you for your comments and we are concern of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you.

We apologies on the room condition that was provided and will ensure that appropriate measure to be taken accordingly.
Corrective measures has taken place in order to reduce cats from roaming into the restaurant as the resort is facing the ocean where stray cats could come in from the beach area.
We apologies for your inconveniences cause during the breakfast as during your stay, there is also a group in house that is having their family day. The Management will ensure that the same problem will note reoccur again.
We are also glad that you enjoyed our both swimming pools during your stay with us.

Measures have been taken to ensure that such problems do not recur. We would like to thank you for bringing up these matters as it is only through constructive criticism from our guests that would enable us to monitor our hotel operations more closely.

We hope you will not judge the standard of the hotel on this one experience and allow it to deter you from patronizing our hotel.

We once again thank you for your comments. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Caves, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Could not comment much, as we got free upgrade from deluxe room to Honeymoon Suite! Although it is consider suite, however the furniture looks tired. Facilities are quite good, TV, sofa, refrigerator, in-room safe, wardrobe and everything expected. However their services are below expectation. Also, during our check in, we have realized that there are no air conditioner in the lobby! This is a big no no for a hotel/resort. The view of the room have no big deal, only roof tops. The bathroom got my compliments. It is clean and tidy, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoelXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was given a suite room instead of a superior room which I booked. My room was huge, quite far from the beach, but offers a nice view of the beach and one of the swimming pool. However, the room was on the 2nd floor but there was no lift, only stair case, that goes for the rest of this hotel.
The water pressure of the shower was very small, but there's no such problem with the basin, so we took our son's sand castle bucket to bath. We love the beautiful beach, a soft slope, easy for small kids, and the sand was also beautiful. We love the pool too, it's CLEAN. but the jacuzzi was never on while we were there.
We drove up to Chukai for dinner and packed our breakfast at the same time, and we glad we did that, when we have a look at the breakfast spread the next day. An easy and light breakfast let us take a long dip in the pool in the morning, with our son, I just cant stop saying that we just love the pool, when there were not crowded. I rose up early to witness the sunrise, which is beautiful. We snapped some photos at Eastern Pavilion next to this hotel, (they are under the same management) there are some very beautiful landscaping here.
The "old" furniture mentioned in other comments, looked "old", not because they are old but due to the timber finish on the wood, changes color in the hot and humid Malaysian weather.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jasminejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

stayed recently for 1 night in garden villa..very poor lighting, not suitable for family. asked for a double bed, was given attached twin bed. bathroom was worst..water was very hot like boiling..knobs fall out..small ants everywhere! tv is facing sofa instead of bed..aircond brokedown in the middle of the night..only 1 plug point! .no breakfast included in hotel price..in summary..horrible hotel, not worth your money..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shilahamzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.3 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
13.2 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.1 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing