We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boy, did we get it wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duta Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boy, did we get it wrong”
Reviewed May 28, 2010

On a recent trip to Malaysia, Duta Sands Beach Resort was the worst experience of the three weeks. It is definitely not what is advertised on the internet and on the pictures. Although the receptionists were friendly and helpful, the accommodation is a disgrace for what they are charging. I feel sorry for the staff because they must get it in the neck often from unhappy guests. Lawns unmowed, grounds in a state of disrepair, both bedside lamps smashed in the cabin, bathroom door had to be opened using a toothpick, which some kind guest had left before. We couldn't stay there, but because we had booked over the internet, we were refused a refund. Our taxi driver picked us up and took us to a wonderful resort just down the road at a lot less money. Honestly, Duta Sands Beach Resort needs to pull its socks up. It is neglected and is way too expensive for what it offers. We thought paying RM178 per night would guarantee us some sort of reasonable comfort, we were not expecting luxury, but basic cleanliness and functionality. It is definitely letting Malaysia Tourism down and shouldn't be supported by tourists. The rest of our trip to the East Coast of Malaysia was wonderful - hospitality and value for money superb and exactly what we have come to expect from a holiday in Malaysia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tenikwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Room was spacious, clean & comfortable.
Location is near to beach and very fresh seafood available around the area.
Simple pool.
This place is right next to the beach. Nice scenery from room.
Wall is thin enough you can be awaken by people talking in the next room. Old building.
Room rates RM180 is a bit high for this kind of room, other choices around that area would be nicer and more value for your money. Just remember to book early.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Very good value at RM 80 per night (booked via Wotif.com). Located about 10mins drive North of Kuantan at Beserah beach. Convenient stopover if travelling between Tioman and Perhentian Islands particularly if you don't want to do the long bus or taxi journey in one hit. Do not confuse with Duta Village Resort which is a different place some kilometres away. We took a Standard room described as 'well appointed room with bed, refrigerator, TV, sitting area, bathroom with shower'. Turned out to be a spacious, pretty and spotlessly clean chalet with two double beds,crisp linen, clean towels, aircon & all amenities as described, including hot water in the bathroom (not always a given!). Ample room for us - 1 adult, 2 teens. Set in pleasant gardens with a small sparkling clean pool just outside our chalet with a few tables and chairs by the poolside. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel seemed almost empty. We ate locally outside of the hotel so cannot comment on food. Location is on a long stretch of beach which does have a line of debris blown in from the sea but is also littered with lovely seashells. Sand is a darkish colour. Fishing village close by and we enjoyed watching the fishing boats come in. Between the hotel & the beach were about 10 rundown old caravans under some trees. These could have been viewed as an eyesore by some but as they were under trees in a nice setting, didnt spoil anythign for us. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara_1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerteh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Hotel was okay, clean room and bathroom. They only have the local channels on TV. Breakfast was either a plate of continental (eggs,baked beans,bread & sausage) or local (kuew teow, fried mee/bee hoon) food served with a small cup of juice. swimming pool nothing much to brag about :)

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — swimming pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suriadavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
7.0 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
29.0 mi away
Cempaka Beach Resort
Cempaka Beach Resort
#18 of 43 in Kuantan
4 reviews
6.9 mi away
D'Embassy Service Residence Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
79 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mandurah Hotel
Mandurah Hotel
#3 of 72 in Kuantan
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eastville Residence
Eastville Residence
#9 of 72 in Kuantan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Sands Beach Resort

Property: Duta Sands Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duta Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Sands Beach Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing