We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More upgrading needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duta Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duta Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More upgrading needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

To be fair the resort is rather old and in disrepair. However we have noticed some efforts being put into to make this place better - swimming pool has been cleaned, some trees and bushes removed and beach cleaned. As for the room itself the furniture is old, the view is great though. (we stayed at the hotel block, not the chalet). The water heater is old but still working. Toilet is reasonably clean, there are some very old stains on the floor and the toilet door knob is spoilt. Towels are provided, toothbrush and toothpaste are not. The staff are pretty friendly. There are some mosquitoes when you go outdoors but maybe it's because it's close to the beach? However I suppose more upgrading work is required. Hopefully they will improve over time.

Bonus point: the room is facing east so I actually saw the sunrise from my room verandah.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greentoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I really suggest the travellers not to stay here. We went there after looking at the beautiful pictures they posted on the internet. But after went there we took chalet and we was disappointed.

Room is very smelly.
The swimming pool was really dirty.
Aircond is not cool enough. We was sweating at the middle of the night.
There was a blackout after we return from dinner and took 10 minutes to fix it. So we have to wait at the reception.
The caravan is just for showcase. It's just junk inside.

I really hope the management maintain this place properly so other travellers do not get disappointed. I paid RM 150.00 for this place. The room and the facility only worth RM50.00.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Irwanhassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had the misfortune of joining a company's family day outing @this place last weekend. Obviously the people who run this place are in the wrong business. From the look of it, i'm very convinced that they've never heard of the word hospitality & customer service. Lets not waste time telling what i had to endure during my 1 (thank god!) night stay there. Suffice to say that whatever have been written on this place by others are ALL TRUE & STILL EXIST. No sign of any improvement is being made. In short, RUN. Stay away from this place at all cost if you want to keep your sanity.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gorgieNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temerloh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very bad, water heater not working, does not provide towel,dirty and old room making noise when walking..stay overnight cause already too late and tired to find other hotel. Better look other hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fyzue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was fooled by the pictures which probably were taken 10 years ago. They really don't bother maintaining OR EVEN CLEANING the place. We stayed there for barely five minutes (less if you don't count check-in/out) and quickly left.
- There's a SWAMP beneath the chalets, a breeding ground of Aedes mosquitos.
- Huge red ants everywhere, not safe for children.
- Rubbish burning in front of the rooms. I couldn't believe my eyes.
- Very very small swimming pool. One look and you'll know it's not clean.
- The toilet is small, disgusting and scary.
- The room has a damp odor, bad ventilation.
- You can't open the window to let fresh air in because you'll get mosquito bites.
- There's nothing lovely about the landscaping.

If you're in Kuantan for a relaxing beach holiday, do yourself a favor and find a better place to stay at. Malaysia is too wonderful for this. Make your stay a happy, memorable one for you and your family. Duta Sands is NOT the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fran_Wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The chalet is big good for family, but the swimming pool is small and dirty. The beach is nice but a bit dirty hope the hotel management will clean it up than will be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grass1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Let's start with the Goods':
-Staffs are friendly
-Beach is clean and environment is nice
-Near fishing village

the Bads':
-Room is fairly clean, but too old and seems like falling apart
-Toilet is scary with the water leakage marks on the ceiling
-TV is not clear and small
-Swimming pool is not clean, one of it is not functioning and dirty
-Breakfast is at sister's resort (Duta Village 3-4km away), and not much choices
-Price is a little too high for such standard

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
2.4 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
2.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
11.1 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
3.5 mi away
Greenlast Hotel
Greenlast Hotel
#28 of 46 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Rhu Beach Resort
De Rhu Beach Resort
#13 of 46 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Sands Beach Resort

Property: Duta Sands Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Duta Sands Beach Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing