We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Resort Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Rhu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added De Rhu Beach Resort to your Saves list
De Rhu Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   152 Sungai Karang, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Kuantan
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Resort Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, with breakfast. Room was generally clean and huge. The King size bed seem very wide too. There are english TV channels and a sports channel too. There is hot water kettle and free bottled water everyday.

Access to the beach was easy through a gate. We picked a lot of beautiful shells on the beach. The hotel pool, with slides, seem popular and fun with the kids. There is a fitness corner and a playground too. It was a long time since I sat on a swing. Fun!

Checking-in took a bit of time but the front desk people are very friendly and helpful. Greeted us when we met along the corridor. The room service captain was also very friendly. Free newspaper was also provided in the morning.

Breakfast was buffet style, with a lot of variety. There was rice, fried noodles, porridge and many more malay dishes. The rendang and curry was most delicious. The buns and croissant was hard though. We had breakfast the next day and they changed some of the dishes.

We had chartered our own van so location was not a problem. A 15-20 minute drive from town. The Natural Batik Centre is less than 5 minute drive away.

For three-star hotel in Malaysia, this resort hotel is considered good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diadia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
2
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at De Rhu. Check in and check out was easy. No fuss. Room was big equipped with basic old furnitures but great view of pool, garden and the sea. Room could be cleaned better. Toilet was ok considering everything else in the room. Pool was big especially catered for small children equipped with slides etc. Kids had lots of fun. Beach was right at resort's doorstep. Beach cleanliness is an issue but still acceptable. Breakfast was alright. Moderate choices with egg station which was great. We stayed over peak period thus place was swamped with holiday goers. However staff was efficient enough in handling request so we don't have anything to complain there. Resort is located a mere 10 minutes away from Kuantan so finding places to eat is not a problem. Best option is to head to town for lunch and dinner at one of many seafood places along the trunk road towards town. Personally, tempted to try other places in Kuantan should we go back. However, kids may opt for De Rhu with its fun pool facility.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharinaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Rhu has nice and clean familyrooms. Also it has three convenient swimming pools. That is, if they are open. When we were visiting the Rhu, two out of three pools were closed due to renovation! When you don't have your own car (as we did), a huge disadvantage is the isolated location. The public transport is terrible. Unfortunately, the overall hotel is in need of a big cleaning. The deskservants are very friendly and sprak good English.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I was on vacation 2 days here with family was very nice but very frustrating when there is no price cuts for civil servants on the grounds of school summer holidays.

The information desk when I came on duty less customer friendly that I feel like finding another hotel but harm its hotels are all full and had to stay even here. this sort is very suited for a family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matzismp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm attending the Family Day, the hotel is quite nice and reachable. The hotel facilities are quite old fasyen but well preserved. I checked in 12 and checked out 13 Nov 2012.

The overall view about this hotel is this hotel is suitable for family. Nice swimming pool and open to public. Highly recommended to those that want to bring family for school holiday vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank visitoradvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

just checked out from the resort. The first disappointing sight was that my booking thru agoda wasnt like i requested for. I confirmed for a family room and told that i will be getting a double bed with 2 singles. upon checkin.. there was only a king size bed... I need a bed for the kids n had no choice of getting an extra at an extra cost.. I have been robbed in broad daylight. The staff were unfrendly nd not imformative at all. The service were poor and if Ive not paid using my card I would have walk out the minute i went in. the breakfast was cold and food was of not tobour expectation.

Room Tip: do not recommend making reservation on line..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelabuhan Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

nice place for having holiday with our family..but call room serv frm 2 p.m asking for floor mat and towel...i get it at 7 p.m,,.and second day no room service ...cant use pc at lobby too...must buy smthing like pswrd to use it...about rm10 for a card.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izzahtrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
7.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
14.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 4 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#26 of 46 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
7.8 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rhu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rhu Beach Resort

Property: De Rhu Beach Resort
Address: 152 Sungai Karang, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Rhu Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your De Rhu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rhu Beach Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing