We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kuantan Backpackers
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The place owner Jessin is very nice , and helpful to give suggestions. Floor is clean, and the environment is comfy. It also provide DVD players, free wifi and free breakfast. Compare expensive hotels, I prefer this hostel more. It is like 30-40 Malaysia Ringgit for one night, but basically can provide all the services that charges by a 4star hotel. Anyway, I really enjoyed my stay here.
Ps: the place is abit hard to find, I suggest the owner may put up some big signs to help guid the guest.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blairgugugugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Kuantan Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great 3 nights at Kuantan Backpackers. Jessin the owner of the hostel was super friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for people taking the bus into town since the bus station is only a few minute walk away. There are many restaurants around with a market across the street. There is a free bus that takes you to the beach and to other areas of the city.

The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable, there is a great supply of movies and you can even paint on the wall if your the artistic type. It's a great atmosphere and if we make it to Kuantan again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I only spent one night at Backpackers,but it was very good. The owner Jessin gave me a warm welcome when i arrived and helped me out with places to go the next day etc. The dorm i stayed in was very clean and the beds were top notch. The breakfast is the classic bread and jam, but if you don't like that you can just cook yourself something else in the kitchen. And if you get tired of walking around Kuantan.. Jessin has a box set of all the hitchcock movies - big plus! :D

Room Tip: Take the the dorm with no air con for 28rm. Its delicious.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SimonHerbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and one of m girl friends decided on a random trip to Kuantan over the weekend to check out their beaches after hearing so many good stories about it. Were a little skeptical about the place at 1st since they are new and the only backpacker around. Nevertheless, this place did not dissapoint at all!! we arrived via bus and Kuantan backpackers just 5 min walk away from the bus station.The place looks very quirky, especially with those mural and doodling stuff on the wall and room! The 3 female dorm we stayed in do not have air conditioned, but it was kept really clean. Living area is also very cozy. Jessin ,the owner of the hostel is very friendly and provide us with very useful information on how to get around Kuantan and the surrounding area. We rented the bike from the hostel and bike around the city and all the way to Teluk Cempedak and the beach is really beautiful!!! Now we know why people were saying Kuantan has the nearest ( PROPER) beach from KL!! Followed her reccomendation, we also visited the small town of Sg. Lembing and hanging around town the next day . At night, she even invited us to join her and some friends for a little pre-halloween party in the living area! Trust me it was crazy!! Felt so warm at this place as if it was like homestay =) Highly recommend anyone who plan to visit Kuantan to stop by at this place! Thank you so much Jessin!! Will definitely return to Kuantan for another trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anchovyleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Jessin's hostel. It was really nice, the kitchen is well equiped and the beds are good. Rooms are clean and the fans usefull !
The price is really good and the hostel is almost in front of the bus station, just near the market.
The owner, Jessin, is more than very interesting, helpfull, and really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank So973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jonas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank priyono_rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
0.5 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.5 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#7 of 43 in Kuantan
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
142 reviews
22.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Guest House
Golden Guest House
#6 of 34 in Kuantan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuantan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuantan Backpackers

Address: 1st Floor No. 39 Jalan Tun Ismail, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kuantan
Price Range: $11 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuantan Backpackers is newly opened and the first backpacker hostel in Kuantan! A place where travelers meet!! We offer cheap accommodation in Kuantan at its best, without compromising any of the commodities a hotel offers. Situated conveniently in the heart of Kuantan, across the street from the Rapid Kuantan local bus stop! We are a unique backpacker hostel embracing a friendly atmosphere and funky murals. We welcome our guest to leave more than a mere footprint and fill up the mural wall in the hostel with your creativity! Here are the facilities at your disposal:Clean dorms and linen. Complimentary Breakfast (Yes, it’s FREE)Personal lockers Hot water shower, allowed for bathroom singing. Fully Equipped Kitchen- free tea and coffee all day! Cozy common area with TV & DVDs FREE Wifi FREE local maps. Kuantan Backpackers is owned and runs by locals for travelers. We know what you want! It is perfect hostel for a group of friends, couples and backpackers who are looking for a budget accommodation, new friends and holiday experiences in Kuantan! Do ask us more for the travel tips and insights about this quietly charming capital of Pahang! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kuantan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing