We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staffs”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Came across Rocana Hotel in Kuantan through TripAdvisor. No regrets. indeed it is a very nice hotel in good location. Though it is a corner lot but feel comfort once stepped in. Situated between two shopping malls with easy access to restaurants too. Staffs are friendly especially the lady from front desk, Ms Zati. Another from house keeping, Ms Sharifah. Prompt action was taken when we needed to change into another room. Ladies, thank you for the concern and thank you for making our (me and my daughter) stay comfortable and feel welcome. Sure looking forward for another stay at this hotel and to meet them both again. Not to forget Mr Premm, the receptionist I just spoke to. Keep up the good job.

Room Tip: Book early for city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank sheilaaishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
16
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bodh Gaya, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have to travel to Kuantan once a month to see my east coast clients. Location wise, Rocana Hotel is an excellent place to stay with. Premm the receptionist is super friendly and helpful. He would recommend places to hangout in Kuantan and where not to go. Which for someone who is not familiar with Kuantan would find it super useful. Right opposite the hotel there is a great bar with very nice lamb chop, which is really convenient for people who has to travel a lot during the day. Reasonable price plus easy access to everywhere in Kuantan. I would highly recommend Rocana Hotel for busy people.

Room Tip: Bed in Rocana Hotel is really comfortable. I always have good sleep. I personally would prefer the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ShaynaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been at Rocana Hotel Kuantan for every month with my family. My kids love this hotel very much. The service is very excellent. The housekeeping was very friendly,politely and very hardworking. Even they have only one lady in that department but she treat all people like her family.
The food was very nice,delicious and the price are reasonable. I love all about Rocana Hotel.
If all of you interested to visit Kuantan,I prefer to you to choose the Rocana Hotel Kuantan. The place is near to the shopping mall,near to the bus station and easy to get the taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank shaamir_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I follow my husband and this is the 1st time coming to east coast area. This hotel is very strategic places cause of hotel in the middle of 2 shopping mall. Which is Megamall and East Coast Mall. Parking wise i just parked my car and let us walk going to either one of this mall. One thing interest on this places. near to saturday night market and sunday day market. The service also good i request for hair dryer and can be reach fast within 5 minute. But the breakfast need to be more variety. I also feel welcome cause of the staff are friendly during check in and also check out. For my next visit I prefer to stay this hotel due to strategic places. :P

Room Tip: Try first then you all know
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

the service there is unbelievably poor. even when you request for room make-up it is not being done. hopeless. enough said!!!! can'treally say anything more to explain how bad the service of this place is. when you request for room cleaning and it is not done for not only 1 day but 2 days of reques then that says it all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aaz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

i booked a standard room in the hotel on last saturday. i checked in and make the payment at 2.15pm. The staff said the room was not ready yet, she told me to check in at 3pm. It's ok. After that, i came back to the hotel to check in again at 7pm. I get the same answer again, the room was not ready yet. The staff called to the housekeeping department and asked the worker. The irresponsible worker told me to give him another 1 hour to let to clean the room. The staff said he also don't know why they're cleaning the room. The staff should always alert, once the guest already paid the money, so make sure the room is ready... I don't know what's the housekeeping doing for almost five hours. Lazy? keep chit chatting or.... I don't really understand why such a big hotel looked nice but the service was sp lousy. At last, i have to wait at lobby which is no air-conditioning. Finally i checked in at 7.30pm. i can say that the room was quite comfortable but the service was lousy.
The last quesiton is we have to pay more if we check out after 12pm, is it? But now is your fault, i checked in at 2.15pm and the staff said the room can ready by 3pm. Why after 5 hours i still can't check in? So are you going to pay me?
i like the room as well, but not the service...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peifoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very poor service rendered by staff name Effa. Leave message to her to clean the room at 13:12 . When I came back at 15.40p.m. they still haven't clean my room. When I asked Effa why after more than 2hrs the room is still not been clean she explained- "HER DUTY IS ONLY TO INFORM THE STAFF AND THEY HAVE A SYSTEM WHERE ONLY CERTAIN NOS OF ROOM WILL BE CLEAN IN EACH FLOOR IN EVERY HOUR". Then, I ask her where should I rest now while waiting for the room to be clean? She explain that she cant do anything because she's in the Reservation Dept. Then I said if you're not the person that I can rely on why you accept my message?? then only she apologize and will directly ask the Housekeeping Dept to clean at that point of time. Me,my mom and my daughter 2.5yrs old was so tired and looking forward to rest in our room but was failed due to "WE HAVE TO WAIT FOR OUR TURN IN ORDER FOR THEM TO CLEAN OUR ROOM - THAT IS SO CALLED ROCANA SYSTEM"-according to Effa.
Other than this unwanted experience, the room and location was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 30LILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.6 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#17 of 43 in Kuantan
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocana Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocana Hotel Kuantan

Property: Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Address: B2-B10, Lorong Tun Ismail 8 | Sri Dagangan II, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocana Hotel Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocana Hotel is a business hotel with 87 rooms with an inviting atmosphere. The hotel is situated in the heart of Kuantan town. Guests are able to reach the Sultan Ahmad Shah International Convention Centre (SASICC), local shopping malls and restaurants within walking distance, making our hotel one of the most strategically located hotel in town. For the beach lover, Rocana Hotel is just 10 minutes away from the famous Teluk Chempedak beach. The hotel has a modern and contemporary style tailored to the business travellers segment. Rocana Hotel offers a complete standard business services, from the hotel rooms to the function rooms’ facilities; you will be able to enjoy complimentary 24 hours wireless internet service. It is an ideal hotel for those who are looking for value-for-money accommodation with quality. We offer attractive corporate rates and group rates for overnight accommodation in conjunction with meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Rocana Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing