We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Nearby Hotels
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pantai Regal Hotel(Kuantan)(Great Value!)
$33
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vistana Kuantan City Centre(Kuantan)
$55
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$47
$33
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cherita Rooms(Kuantan)(Great Value!)
$17
$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
$21
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveler rating
172
436
293
77
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
436
293
77
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswiss gardenchinese restaurantgarden terracegames roomswiss deliswimming poolbatik paintingdim sumgreat poolprivate beachclean beachbreakfast buffetseafoodfamily vacationmonsoon seasonthe south china seaextra bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night in this hotel and had a very bad overall experience. Check in took us 20 minutes and finally we ended up with a smelly room on the first floor next to the pub/club. At 10pm when we wanted to sleep the noise was too loud and we requested to change rooms. They gave us a room on the 8th floor and woke up the following morning with BED BUG bites!!! Which is aweful. Bathrooms were very dirty and they only give 1 towel per person. Breakfast is ok. Dinner at the chinese restaurant was fine. Service at the pool is lazy and unfriendly. We wanted to have lunch at te pool. The waiter was not around and the guy of the towels was not able to take our order. When the waiter arrived he took our order and finally we had to wait another hour to get a box of fried rice. Overal i could really not recommend this hotel, specially if u do not want to end up with bites all over your legs...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMulier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We have noted on your feedback regarding the services rendered at the Hotel and would truly like to apologize for the unpleasant experience that you had during your stay. We have conducted a thorough investigation and have taken the necessary steps to further improve on our services rendered and products available at the Hotel.
We do hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you once again, and please do not hesitate to contact me when you make your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay though it was short. The resort is so clean especially the beach n there were sufficient deck chairs. We enjoyed the food especially the Chinese restaurant. Truly wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay.
We thank you for the positive feedback and our associates will be further motivated to deliver exemplary service standards that will meet if not exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your next visit to Kuantan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Swiss Garden is actually quite nice - Should have been 4 stars, but I hate waking up to a noisy smelly petrol air-blower in the morning. Why not use a broom and remove the dirt - rather than pushing it around?
Poor fellow visitors who took their breakfast early with exhaust fumes and dirt flying around them.
Reception staff is excellent, rooms nice, beach and pool clean and Ramadan Buffet plenty.
In all a good hotel, but if they wake me up tomorrow with the blower!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay. We have noted your feed back regarding the gardeners using the blowers in the morning to clear the leaves and have immediately implemented that this will only be done from 10.00am onwards. In the interim period till 10.00am we will guide them to rake the leaves only. We thank you for this important feedback that ensures that there is minimum disturbance to guests early in the morning.
Once again we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and do hope that you would stay with us on your next visit to Kuantan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights with our two daughters (13 years of age) in July 2013 while enjoying our vacation in Malaysia. The hotel is situated 12 kilometers from the centre of Kuantan.

Behind the luxury façade of the entrance, there is in fact an old worn-out hotel. We stayed in a family room apartment. This apartment has a surface of approximately 60 sq meters. The living room is has a flat screen television. It has an additional bedroom with two beds, in some of the family rooms without any windows. The rooms were not very clean and furniture was outdated. At the moment of our stay, some of the apartments were being renovated; let’s hope the bathrooms will be part of this renovation as well. Some tiles were broken and the bathtub was plugged, but this was taken care of after we complained about it. Renovation should have been carried out a couple of years earlier! There were some stains (moist) in the bath, but the apartment is cleaned daily. Last but not least, the rooms were very noisy. Everything happening in the hallway could be heard in the hotel rooms. Sleeping was almost impossible. We complained about this noisiness at the front-desk and got another family room. Much better, in respect to the noise, but still with the worn-out furniture. A free WIFI connection is available in the lobby, but the quality is very poor according to European standards. Wi-Fi in the hotel room is possible, but there is an additional charge for this. In respect to the safety: There are sprinklers in the main room and separate bedroom, but there a no fire-detectors in place. Escape routes are clearly indicated.
The hotel has a large pool of approximately 20 x 10 meters, with a depth of 1.5 meter. There is a shallow part, suited for children who cannot swim.
In summary: If you would like to stay in a affordable hotel in Kuantan, but not in the centre this place might be what you are looking for, although we had the feeling it is definitely overpriced given the outdated furniture and other annoyances. Let’s hope, the renovation that is going on will improve the overall quality. As the situation is at this moment (july 2013) I would suggest to look for another place, despite all efforts of the staff to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the inconveniences that you had encountered during your recent stay in Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We are truly apologetic of the noise coming from the rooms under renovation and are trying our best to minimize this by segregating the floors that are being renovated. The renovations are to further enhance the guest experiences in the room in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards. I sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you here at our resort on your next visit and hope that you could contact me personally prior to your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Agree with Melabid that the hotel needs some updating. We enjoyed the beach very much but the hotel in general was average. The staff were very helpful though we would hope that for an international hotel, more of its staff would be able to converse in English.

Room Tip: Would suggest to book 2 interconnecting rooms than a family room if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Kuantan and we have noted on your feedback regarding the services rendered and all efforts are currently in place to improve on the language proficiency to ensure staff are able to be conversant in communications with guests.
We do hope that you would stay with us at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your next visit to Kuantan.
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback which will will ensure that we further improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews