We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“overpriced and noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Kuantan
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“overpriced and noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights with our two daughters (13 years of age) in July 2013 while enjoying our vacation in Malaysia. The hotel is situated 12 kilometers from the centre of Kuantan.

Behind the luxury façade of the entrance, there is in fact an old worn-out hotel. We stayed in a family room apartment. This apartment has a surface of approximately 60 sq meters. The living room is has a flat screen television. It has an additional bedroom with two beds, in some of the family rooms without any windows. The rooms were not very clean and furniture was outdated. At the moment of our stay, some of the apartments were being renovated; let’s hope the bathrooms will be part of this renovation as well. Some tiles were broken and the bathtub was plugged, but this was taken care of after we complained about it. Renovation should have been carried out a couple of years earlier! There were some stains (moist) in the bath, but the apartment is cleaned daily. Last but not least, the rooms were very noisy. Everything happening in the hallway could be heard in the hotel rooms. Sleeping was almost impossible. We complained about this noisiness at the front-desk and got another family room. Much better, in respect to the noise, but still with the worn-out furniture. A free WIFI connection is available in the lobby, but the quality is very poor according to European standards. Wi-Fi in the hotel room is possible, but there is an additional charge for this. In respect to the safety: There are sprinklers in the main room and separate bedroom, but there a no fire-detectors in place. Escape routes are clearly indicated.
The hotel has a large pool of approximately 20 x 10 meters, with a depth of 1.5 meter. There is a shallow part, suited for children who cannot swim.
In summary: If you would like to stay in a affordable hotel in Kuantan, but not in the centre this place might be what you are looking for, although we had the feeling it is definitely overpriced given the outdated furniture and other annoyances. Let’s hope, the renovation that is going on will improve the overall quality. As the situation is at this moment (july 2013) I would suggest to look for another place, despite all efforts of the staff to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the inconveniences that you had encountered during your recent stay in Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We are truly apologetic of the noise coming from the rooms under renovation and are trying our best to minimize this by segregating the floors that are being renovated. The renovations are to further enhance the guest experiences in the room in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards. I sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you here at our resort on your next visit and hope that you could contact me personally prior to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    354
    232
    59
    44
See reviews for
381
209
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Agree with Melabid that the hotel needs some updating. We enjoyed the beach very much but the hotel in general was average. The staff were very helpful though we would hope that for an international hotel, more of its staff would be able to converse in English.

Room Tip: Would suggest to book 2 interconnecting rooms than a family room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Kuantan and we have noted on your feedback regarding the services rendered and all efforts are currently in place to improve on the language proficiency to ensure staff are able to be conversant in communications with guests.
We do hope that you would stay with us at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your next visit to Kuantan.
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback which will will ensure that we further improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel has a great beach, which is very clean and the facilities in general in the hotel are well maintained. The main restaurant has a good breakfast spread and we tried their ramadhan buffet which had great local food.
The staff are very friendly and courteous and you feel very welcomed. They have a large pool which is very clean and also a children's pool.
Would surely come back again as my kids had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenelim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feedback on our services rendered during your recent stay and this has spurned our staff to further improvise on the delivery aspect.
We have just completed our beach enhancement exercise which included a rubble wall and also the inclusion of deck chairs at the beach front.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have not been here for quite some time. Comparing the last stay (years ago) and this most recent, I would say they need to change to suit the current trend.
Room wise is average, with the wall paper peeling off at certain corners. Room facilities seem to be updated but ......the feel was missing.
Corridors to the rooms looked gloomy.
Service by the personnel....needs lots and lots of improvement.
Food wise....not much of choice. Perhaps the eateries outside and within walking distance is making the difference.
To compare with the sister hotels in Kuala Lumpur and Lumut, definitely the Kuantan one is at the bottom.
Overall within the vicinity, it still wins.....

Room Tip: To have a good view of the beach, request for centre wing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedMIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We have duly noted your feedback regarding the services rendered and also on our facilities. First and foremost we would like to thank you for highlighting these issues to us and we would certainly revamp our training aspects on service standards and delivery that is line with our Swiss Garden international brand standards.
We are in the midst of renovating a total of 142 rooms and the completion is targeted for the 1st week of December 2013.
We do hope that you would consider Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice hotel during your next visit to Kuantan and in the interim period we will work on improving our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had 10 nights here. It wasn't particularly expensive so was value for what we Paid. It is a very tired hotel and with a new Swiss Garden being built down the road, if I came back I would spend a few more $$ and stay at the new one when it opens. Granted, they're refurbishing - they need to.
The pool is nice, would be better if staff cleaned away the cig butts left there everyday by the smoking guests!
Breakfast food is okay, chocolate pudding at 8am!!
Free shuttle to city mall is great.
Restaurants over the road are fabulous, cheap, cheerful and didn't get ill once.
Bed was as hard as a rock and pillows flat and cheap - I'd rather have a decent bed than a refurbished room actually!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerie5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay at Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We have duly taken note of your feedback that had been stated regarding the rooms which are incidentally in the process of renovations and our targeted completion date is on the 1st week of December.
This would encompass a total of 142 rooms. We have also just completed our beach upgrading exercise.
We sincerely would like to apologize for the shortcomings and sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you during your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There are 3 area in this hotel. Right and left wing and centre. I requested for centre which have a good view to the pool and the beach.
Room and bathroom were impressively clean.
Service were rather laid back. You need to keep on asking before they got to it... But I'm just being picky. The staff are nice.

Clean beach too.
Try to avoid Teluk Chempedak and come here instead.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for the positive feedback on our services and facilities and will further improve on the delivery aspects in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards.
We once again would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden resort during your next holiday in Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I pre-booked this resort through the hotel website (http://www.swissgardenkuantan.com). The confirmation email saw an increase in the price advertised and a downgrade of the room booked. I raised this with reception on check-in and was told that bookings through the website were handled by a 3rd party. The hotel happily accepted the booking but takes no responsibility for the 3rd party. I asked them to check the advertised fee online, but amazingly reception has no internet.

The rooms are old, poorly furnished with the a/c and lights not working correctly. The cleaners must be blind as there were the previous occupants underwear in the middle of the floor when we checked in. The restaurant struggles to cope with guests at breakfast

The pool is good and the location right on the beach is great.

I think this hotel would have been great 10 - 15 years ago, but now does not deserve the 4-star ranking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friday_skyline_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have signed up with various companies for internet bookings, and all these companies have signed a contract with the Hotel that ensures that each and every customer is charged accordingly as to what has been advertised on their websites. They cannot downgrade or overcharge.
Please contact me directly and we will look into personally all the grouses that you have stipulated on this company.
We have also noted your feedback on the aging rooms which are currently being renovated and completion is targeted for the 1st week of December.
A total of 142 rooms will be undergoing this renovation process. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in the room and do hope that you would contact us directly to settle this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
8.3 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
6.9 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
21.5 mi away
Mangala Resort & Spa
Mangala Resort & Spa
#2 of 48 in Kuantan
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.6 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
#12 of 48 in Kuantan
3.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Property: Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Address: 2656 & 2657 Mukim | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing