We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel has a great beach, which is very clean and the facilities in general in the hotel are well maintained. The main restaurant has a good breakfast spread and we tried their ramadhan buffet which had great local food.
The staff are very friendly and courteous and you feel very welcomed. They have a large pool which is very clean and also a children's pool.
Would surely come back again as my kids had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenelim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feedback on our services rendered during your recent stay and this has spurned our staff to further improvise on the delivery aspect.
We have just completed our beach enhancement exercise which included a rubble wall and also the inclusion of deck chairs at the beach front.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have not been here for quite some time. Comparing the last stay (years ago) and this most recent, I would say they need to change to suit the current trend.
Room wise is average, with the wall paper peeling off at certain corners. Room facilities seem to be updated but ......the feel was missing.
Corridors to the rooms looked gloomy.
Service by the personnel....needs lots and lots of improvement.
Food wise....not much of choice. Perhaps the eateries outside and within walking distance is making the difference.
To compare with the sister hotels in Kuala Lumpur and Lumut, definitely the Kuantan one is at the bottom.
Overall within the vicinity, it still wins.....

Room Tip: To have a good view of the beach, request for centre wing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedMIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We have duly noted your feedback regarding the services rendered and also on our facilities. First and foremost we would like to thank you for highlighting these issues to us and we would certainly revamp our training aspects on service standards and delivery that is line with our Swiss Garden international brand standards.
We are in the midst of renovating a total of 142 rooms and the completion is targeted for the 1st week of December 2013.
We do hope that you would consider Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice hotel during your next visit to Kuantan and in the interim period we will work on improving our service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had 10 nights here. It wasn't particularly expensive so was value for what we Paid. It is a very tired hotel and with a new Swiss Garden being built down the road, if I came back I would spend a few more $$ and stay at the new one when it opens. Granted, they're refurbishing - they need to.
The pool is nice, would be better if staff cleaned away the cig butts left there everyday by the smoking guests!
Breakfast food is okay, chocolate pudding at 8am!!
Free shuttle to city mall is great.
Restaurants over the road are fabulous, cheap, cheerful and didn't get ill once.
Bed was as hard as a rock and pillows flat and cheap - I'd rather have a decent bed than a refurbished room actually!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerie5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay at Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We have duly taken note of your feedback that had been stated regarding the rooms which are incidentally in the process of renovations and our targeted completion date is on the 1st week of December.
This would encompass a total of 142 rooms. We have also just completed our beach upgrading exercise.
We sincerely would like to apologize for the shortcomings and sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you during your next trip to Kuantan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There are 3 area in this hotel. Right and left wing and centre. I requested for centre which have a good view to the pool and the beach.
Room and bathroom were impressively clean.
Service were rather laid back. You need to keep on asking before they got to it... But I'm just being picky. The staff are nice.

Clean beach too.
Try to avoid Teluk Chempedak and come here instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for the positive feedback on our services and facilities and will further improve on the delivery aspects in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards.
We once again would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden resort during your next holiday in Kuantan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I pre-booked this resort through the hotel website (http://www.swissgardenkuantan.com). The confirmation email saw an increase in the price advertised and a downgrade of the room booked. I raised this with reception on check-in and was told that bookings through the website were handled by a 3rd party. The hotel happily accepted the booking but takes no responsibility for the 3rd party. I asked them to check the advertised fee online, but amazingly reception has no internet.

The rooms are old, poorly furnished with the a/c and lights not working correctly. The cleaners must be blind as there were the previous occupants underwear in the middle of the floor when we checked in. The restaurant struggles to cope with guests at breakfast

The pool is good and the location right on the beach is great.

I think this hotel would have been great 10 - 15 years ago, but now does not deserve the 4-star ranking

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee_Erm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have signed up with various companies for internet bookings, and all these companies have signed a contract with the Hotel that ensures that each and every customer is charged accordingly as to what has been advertised on their websites. They cannot downgrade or overcharge.
Please contact me directly and we will look into personally all the grouses that you have stipulated on this company.
We have also noted your feedback on the aging rooms which are currently being renovated and completion is targeted for the 1st week of December.
A total of 142 rooms will be undergoing this renovation process. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in the room and do hope that you would contact us directly to settle this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here in June to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. Drove down from KL and arrived about 6pm. At check in the girl had trouble with our booking (from Latestays.com) and asked me if I had just booked. I was unnerved by this as I had booked and paid in full 2 wks before. Her query could have been done more diplomatically considering it was late and we just wanted to get to our room esp with a baby in tow. Due to overbooking our Seaview Deluxe got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, luckily.

Overall the buffet was fine, the beach lovely and clean and the stay a pleasant one. Plenty of local Malay food and seafood a drive away if keen to try something other than hotel dining.

The hotel Chinese Rez was supposed to have great dim sum, but we found it just average and limited in choices.

We managed to get a massage each at the Spa and that was lovely.

It was a nice getaway in general just don't expect 5 stars quality and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent visit to Kuantan.
We are appreciative of your feed back on improvements on the Front Office Check in and have duly informed the Front Office manager on improvements especially on service delivery to be made.
We thank you for your positive feed back on our beach, which is our focal selling point of the Hotel and steps are being taken to further enhance the beach to ensure guests enjoy the serene and tranquil atmosphere.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss garden Resort and Spa on your next visit to Kuantan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything outside very nice and pleasant to see. Enter the room,the aging start to reveal. Need to upgrade the amenities to it names. The balcony are littered with cigarette although the 4th floor is non smoking section. Food is great,staff not so bad. Others are catching up,need to revamp.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deaconfrost73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are currently in the process of upgrading our Garden View rooms consisting of 142 rooms commencing from the 8th July onwards.which are in line with our Swiss Garden International brand standards on continuous service excellence to our customers.
We do hope that you would consider staying with us on your next visit and experience our newly renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
6.9 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.6 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
13.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#35 of 44 in Kuantan
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
15.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 6 in Cherating
126 reviews
6.8 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656-2657 Mukim Sungai Karang, Balok Beach,, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range: $67 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing