We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but better service required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but better service required”
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We arrived late Saturday afternoon. The staff seemed under considerable pressure and unwelcoming. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, although not completely renovated. The weekend was very busy and noisy. On the way from the airport our driver asked why we had come to Kuantan, as very few Australians do. This was not a good omen. A shuttle bus service to Kuantan was advertised, however, this was not the case due to the increase in petrol . We were able to hire transport into the town, which was further than described. The person at the tour desk spoke very limited English and was not able to organise any tours. Luckily, we orgainsed tours with our driver from the airport. This is not the spot for people who wish to enjoy water activities and sightseeing. It is more suited for those who like to laze by the pool and maybe join in paintball. Breakfast was very average. The pastries dry and tasteless. The staff seemed to stand around and made no effort to serve tea and coffee. The staff need to smile and offer better service.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — Lack of tourist activities or ability to help in this regard
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Connievic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
9
2
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Needs a paint job but big rooms and bathroom. Staff were friendly, not a great location, near sewage/treatment works and no restaurants.

  • Disliked — step in bathroom, dangerous
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastyge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

It was a last minute arrangement and my family decided to visit Kuantan/Cherating over the weekend. As expected all the beach resort were fully booked and after several call, I was deciding whether to go with Vistana or MS, but eventually I settled with MS Garden for about RM 270 (1 breakfast).

Room wise, it is spacious but there is nothing to shout about as my first impression the place needs a bit of furnishing. It is not a resort style hotel or 4 star hotel and plainly a business type hotel within the Kuantan city The lobby ambience is abit cold and quiet. The good thing about the place is it is next to a Shopping mall.
The hotel website/photo needs updating.

My kid seemed like to the pool a bit but for me, I can't wait to go to other beach hotel.

  • Liked — It is next to Shopping mall
  • Disliked — The place is abit run down. Need some reno
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LTCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed here for a week after travelling to Singapore and Kuala Lumpur, and it was the best place to wind down after the big cities. The service of the Swiss Garden was fantastic, all staff were friendly and welcoming. It was my husbands birthday when we were there, and they went out of their way to make it a special day for him.

We were also impressed with the variety of restaurants and food available at the resort.

I would highly recommend this property for a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Very nice property, excellent service, excellent food.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Good idea to find a cab driver who you can negotiate a 'regular' fare with if you need to take frequent trips into the town (approx 15 km away)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

spent 4 weeks here with my work, loved every minute

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulBrown1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.4 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.2 mi away
Grand Continental Kuantan
Grand Continental Kuantan
#33 of 43 in Kuantan
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#5 of 43 in Kuantan
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons View Hotel - Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan

Property: Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan
Address: Lot 5 & 10 Lorong Gambut | Beserah, Kuantan 25300, Malaysia (Formerly M.S. Garden Hotel Kuantan)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing