We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very dirty all over the room. I wasnt intended to write a comment but i think i should. Honestly i dont think they clean the bathroom, toilet or vacumn the floor. Sheets have stains, looking like were not washed.
Water rising in the sink when we wash our face.
Moulds collected in the bath and shower
On the day we leave guard and door man stood and watch we carried our luggages down the stairs.
Terrible stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donkeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
9
2
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Room condotion is very good..the room is big n very comfortable.. but the service just average only..not good n not bad..for sleep is the best.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haziq158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stay i night. Convenient location. Right in town and next to Berjaya Megamall. Hotel slight old so seems pricey. Otherwise okay. Room is bigger than average size although we only got two single beds. Swimming is okay but children's pool is dirty. Staff was helpful. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I just got back from a 2D1N stay at MS Garden Hotel Kuantan, after being in the area for business purposes.

The Deluxe Superior room was certainly spacious and is one of the biggest I've stayed in (500+ sq. ft.). It came with two single beds as well as the usual LCD TV, coffee + tea maker, and a reasonably-sized workstation. Uniquely, for a city hotel, every room also has a balcony although mine faced the rear of the adjacent Berjaya Megamall shopping center. And as I was in Kuantan for work, the hotel was generous enough to provide free WiFi for its guests, which is almost like a de facto standard today!

The wardrobe had enough space to hang two shirts and my jeans as well as denim shorts, as well as containing a safe deposit box. Speaking of the TV, other than the free-to-air channels, the hotel also offered NHK, CNN, StarSports, ESPN, and HBO. The ensuite toilet was huge, with a shower stand combined with bathtub and even a large sink area. As for parking, while the Hotel has no basement, there is an open-air one just opposite and has ample space for in-house guests to park their cars.

Facilities in the Hotel include a swimming pool (I managed to do ten laps on the first evening), two ballrooms, five meeting rooms, and four F&B outlets. The room I stayed in also came with buffet breakfast from 0630-1030 hrs (okay variety and tasty enough), which was a great convenience before I headed into town for my various appointments earlier today.

However, MS Garden's rooms seem rather dated and has not been renovated for some time, except for a change of TV to an LCD-type as well as a new sofa set. Furthermore, when I wanted to dial the Front Desk to inquire about the WiFi password, the phone was out-of-order and I had to use my mobile instead! Looks like the Management has to get something done about this, which was an unpleasant surprise, to be honest.

On the other hand, a positive for the MS Garden is their location, which is right smack in the city center of Kuantan. The Hotel is right next door to the Berjaya Megamall, which is supposedly struggling, but there was a good number of people doing their shopping, especially on Sunday. The Megamall comes with a large variety of food outlets, including McDonald's, KFC, and a small Chinese-style cafe on the 4th floor, where the Cineplex is located. Even across the road is the renowned Kemaman Kopitiam, with its famous in-house roasted coffee.

In short, while being in an enviable location in Kuantan, the Management of MS Garden Hotel seriously needs a major renovation to keep in touch with the competition. For the price I paid ($275-plus for a night's stay), I might as well look at the nearby Zenith or Vistana instead, with their much newer rooms + decor.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the poolside, since these offer better views than the one I stayed in (opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nice spacious room and quiet too. The toilet is nice and big with shower room and bath tub. The food is also good. Breakfast is served with local and western cuisines; roti canai, nasi dagang, cheese baked tomato, omelette and variety of breads to choose from.

The only thing we do not like is the parking space. It is an open space parking area and was full due to some events or seminars or something. We had to park our car quite a walking distance from the hotel and got a summon ticket for that! We do not realize we must pay for parking on saturday..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lila08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Me and a friend stayed at MS Garden for one night as we were taking part in the Kuantan Century Bike Ride event. Although the hotel shows some signs of age, the room was clean, the fixtures in our 7th floor room (and bathroom) were working well and service was efficient.
One more thing to note is that the aircon control is not on the wall where the thermostat is but on the bedside table. Knowing that would help as one would otherwise think the aircon was not working.

The hotel is also conveniently located just next to a shopping center but if you are prepared to walk about 15 minutes more, there is a newer and much bigger shopping center (CapitalMall) nearby. You have to walk thru the older shopping center first and cross a couple of major streets to reach it though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have been staying on and off at MS Garden for two months as my husband is working in Kuantan. I can not speak more highly of the staff, location, central to everywhere, restaurants in the hotel, and room cleaning etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.4 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.2 mi away
Grand Continental Kuantan
Grand Continental Kuantan
#33 of 43 in Kuantan
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#5 of 43 in Kuantan
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons View Hotel - Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan

Property: Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan
Address: Lot 5 & 10 Lorong Gambut | Beserah, Kuantan 25300, Malaysia (Formerly M.S. Garden Hotel Kuantan)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing