We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book for the scones! Stay for the friendly owners and great atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 76 Kuantan B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've never found hotel breakfasts to be noteworthy; much less THE most compelling reason for booking a place, but that's exactly what the scones at Riverside Boutique Guesthouse are. I ate them every single day of my 5-day/4-night stay.

The amenities in the rooms are well beyond the usual at this price range. The rooms have exquisite hardwood floors and the most comfortable pillows and mattresses I've ever had in a hotel.

The owners are an exceedingly thoughtful, conscientious couple who bent over backwards to make my stay comfortable, memorable, and productive. Chat with them if you can and get recommendations for local attractions. They are an international couple who have lived in Malaysia for decades.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very clean, friendly staff and very nice design. Not far from restaurants and the biggest mosque. Had a nice time there would recommend it and come again. And bars, there are some about 10 minutes walking distance

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked a room at this guesthouse after reading about all the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Greatly satisfied - the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The location of the guesthouse is very good and parking is easy. The wifi quality is average but this didn't deter me from having a good stay. The guesthouse serve excellent set-breakfast (local and international to be chosen from). I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chonghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can't see it from the road . . . the only glimpse you may have is the signboard next to its - yet again - surprisingly good - restaurant.
I was assured by the proprietor that the beds were magnificent . . . and they were a delight. Too many cushions and a very dirty ceiling fan did take a bit away from the overall experience, however, but what was disturbing was the traffic noise - perhaps due to insufficient insulation in the window area.
The shower was very nice - along with a piece of artisanal soap . . .

However, all in all it was an unexpectedly pleasant little hotel in the middle of . . . nowhere, really.

Room Tip: Having only seen one room I couldn't suggest anything in this regard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good stuffs:
- quite easy to find
- small and cosy (6 rooms only)
- quiet
- friendly staff
- ample parking space
- room which feels like home
- handmade soap in the bathroom... Friendly to the environment

Cons (for me):
- rain shower in the bathroom (quite cumbersome for me as I bring small children)
- only way to reserve is through agoda. Not even with counter staff nor through the phone. This is strange...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNGbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the first time i stay in this Guesthouse. Here are some finding;

Location:
- Easy to find eventhough the GPS cooridinates shows different location.
- near to teluk cempedak

Room:
- Size is a bit small but acceptable.
- Nice flooring
- Good double glazed windows (very quiet)
- Air-con and fan
- Clean rooms
- Very soft beds and quilt
- with Astro
- Bathroom is neat and clean
- toilet bowl with bidets (plus point)

Extra:
- Good living hall concepts (at the Mezzaine floor)
- Delicious breakfast sets selection, although i only eat Western.
- Security is good at night

Things to improve;
- Funny odour for the bath towel
- Improve the Astro Channel, please include 311 Wa Lai Toi
- dun put any scents in the room..not everybody is in favour of it.
- Operate the cafe until 7pm at least so we could have a place to hang out.

overall, i am quite happy with the stays. I will still recommend to my friends.

Keep up the good work.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is a gem! Well located in the centre of Kuantan along one of its main roads and easy to get around on foot or by car. Plenty of eating places nearby and it's a short walk to Berjaya Mall a few blocks away.

Rooms are new, lovely wooden flooring gives it a modern, yet slightly contemporary feel. Bathrooms are just as nice and clean, and has ample space to move about. Free wifi and good selection of TV channels are always a plus (Ok, maybe wifi is a more of a necessity these days). There is free parking just outside the hotel, and great for drivers, though the roads can get quite congested. Do note that this is a guesthouse, so there is no lift.

Did not use the 'lounge' on the 2nd floor, but it looked like such a nice place to chill with friends, read a book, play some board games or surf the internet.

Our rate did not include breakfast, so we ordered from the cafe, quite a decent selection of local and western food and it was not bad, though slightly pricey.

Great place to stay while in Kuantan - my no. 1 choice IF I return (sorry, I'm not so much impressed by Kuantan).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drunk-on-gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.4 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#5 of 44 in Kuantan
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#7 of 44 in Kuantan
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#4 of 44 in Kuantan
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#8 of 44 in Kuantan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Guesthouse

Address: No. 47 Jalan Telok Sisek, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Kuantan
Price Range: $23 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Boutique Guesthouse has to be the smallest hotel in Kuantan but provides you with the most comfortable beds in town. Enjoy our guesthouse friendliness together with 5-star comfort in a modern Malaysian setting. Our air-conditioned rooms are all fitted with beautiful local timber flooring and ensuite bathrooms. Our extremely comfortable beds are specially made to European dimensions to give you that extra length.Free WiFi internet connection is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Riverside Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing