We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - the best in Malaysia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 72 Kuantan B&B and Inns
pauanui
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant - the best in Malaysia”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Looking for a hotel and could not believe our luck when we stumbled upon this one while cruising down the road. We travelled for 3 weeks right around Malaysia and this hotel was the best by far and soooo cheap. Everything was perfect right down to the beautifully presented bathroom with soaps and neatly rolled facecloths, in fact the only bathroom in Malaysia which did not have mould included, it was immaculate. Friendly staff and the owners have done everything right. Although tv in rooms there is a cosy well furnished lounge available complete with books, tv, internet. On main road but no noise whatsoever....what a pity there were not more of these places in Malaysia. Amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffyPauanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
22
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
's-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The title says it all. Nicely designed rooms, with a light modern interior. Has all the amenities you need: hot shower, aircon, WiFi, comfy bed and although situated near a busy road, there's almost no noise in your room.

We just had an overnight stop on our way to Taman Negara, but we had a very relaxing night and morning. The breakfast cafe downstairs serves delicious food (even better scones than at Ye Olde Smokehouse in Cameron) and good coffee. For us it was the perfect stop.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GertjanMarieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Never I expected to find thus cozy little accomodation in Kuantan. We've never been to Kuantan before n ended up staying in this last minute decision place. Turn out that it is highlighting our stay. The room is designed superbly with minimalistic . And as me being quite picky with cleanliness, I found that the place is really met all my standards. Loves the staff , n the location is very convenient. I would definitely put this place a high star to recommend whether you are in holiday or in business !!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The accommodation, food and service during our four-night stay were faultless and we'd unhesitatingly recommend Riverside to friends, relatives and anyone else considering a stay in Kuantan. We purposely chose a city rather than a beachside stay, having stayed once before at what's now the Hyatt Resort at Telok Cempetak beach, a short and inexpensive cab ride away.

There's nothing wrong with the beach. This time we were a little more budget-conscious and that aside, we just wanted to do something different. We're delighted we did. Riverside far exceeded our expectations. We were treated royally by owners Erica and Atord, as well as by their superbly-trained and caring staff.

The food served in the attached, breakfast and lunch-time Little Croc cafe was excellent in both value and quality, as was the evening meal we enjoyed at the owners' nearby dinner venue, Crocodile Rock. We can't speak too highly of the quality of our stay at Riverside. We enjoyed it immensely - and if time permits, we'll certainly be back before we return to Canada a couple of months from now.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallbarrie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

While I would not really call this a Guesthouse , rather a small hotel, this place offers very nice accomodation in the centre of Kuantan Town and is ideal for business travellers looking for a quiet yet central location to stay which is also convenient for the airport. If you are arriving on the late flight from KL it is an ideal place to stay , without the need of travelling out of town for the other resort hotels.
The rooms and especially the beds are superb and equal to any of the 5 star places I have stayed in KL or Jakarta ! The windows are double glazed to minimize street noise and there is a flat-screen TV with cable service. To find this sort of accomodation in a small town is quite exceptional .
There is a well run coffee shop on the Ground Floor serving Western-style food and snacks and a Residents Lounge on the Mezzanine Floor with PC and internet facilities. There is also free Wifi throughout the building.

I regularly stay in Kuantan travelling between Jakarta, KL and Kerteh and have never been too impressed with the large resort hotels in Kuantan. The Riverside is something special and a place I would certainly recommend .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaituo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.4 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.5 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#5 of 43 in Kuantan
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Riverside Boutique Guesthouse
Address: No. 47 Jalan Telok Sisek, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Boutique Guesthouse has to be the smallest hotel in Kuantan but provides you with the most comfortable beds in town. Enjoy our guesthouse friendliness together with 5-star comfort in a modern Malaysian setting. Our air-conditioned rooms are all fitted with beautiful local timber flooring and ensuite bathrooms. Our extremely comfortable beds are specially made to European dimensions to give you that extra length.Free WiFi internet connection is provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing