We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no more stay at this resort.”
Review of Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kuantan
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Room was dirty,smelly,front desk staff very rode,no hot water at bedroom.you can fine so many ant at their floor.i and my family have bad experience stay at this resort and we never came back at this resort.Room rate so high Rm 350.00 you gate nothing . for any friends thing 1000 time if you need to stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zek_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tosswill, General Manager at Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Its sad, these guests did not enjoy there stay, we are extremely sorry for that. We recall this guest and we at times have problems due to the amount of persons staying in a 3 Bedroom Apartment. Our staff at the front desk are very co operative other than when over crowding in Rooms applies.

The Hot Water Switch is in the Kitchen, and it apears sadly our Guest did not read the instruction in the room, for this we are sorry for. However we have adequate maintenance staff and could not find any record of a complaint logged to my surprise.

We are located on the Direct Beachfront of the South China Sea. So we are fortunate to get a Sea breeze with Two Sliding Doos opening to a Large Balcony plus several other Windows and 4 Air Conditioners, we can only assume what could be what the guest call smelly was in fact something Else.

Again no comments logged at our front desk to my surprise.

We do find when more than 6 Guests are in a 3 Bedroom Apartment guests that have to pay extra fees for Extra Persons do not like it and get very Angry.

This is human nature, we have now a no tolerance Policy when it comes to Extra Persons in Apartments which is surprisingly before very common, but there is resistance to Change.

For this were are sorry for inconvienience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Why most all the review is so bad? I come to this apartment it not like what are they say. The apartment so nice with nice view (sea view). The toilet clean complete with a soap, shampoo and towel. All the staff so nice and helpful. Have a pantry and can cook by our own food just need to pay only RM 50 for kitchen kit. So peaceful at night. I suggest to all to come here.
I will come back here sometimes.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aNm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room was dirt, toilets are dirty. Sheets look as if it has not been washed for months. The staff are not helpful they even complained to the boss that we ask them to clean the rooms so many times. Well we expect a decent room, I was dreading to go to the toilet it was that bad! And one of the people in my group bummed into the owner and complained and instead of being apologetic he was very annoyed and did not apologize for the conditions of the room. Overall I would not recommend to anyone and i will definitely not book a room here ever.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Endorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tosswill, General Manager at Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We are so sorry for the inconvienience to this Guest. When a Group is booked in Here, the Organiser for the Group allots there Members to each Apartment. If Standard Room or Rooms with Extra Beds definetly members guests can be inconvienienced.

Again we find it disspoiting and sad that some comments dont reflect the Resort when others are to blame. Heresay sadly damages our reputation.

As I am the boss, and I can assure all if I had a Guest Complaint I act Imedietly I had no conversation that I can recall where upon logically one would not address a guests complaint imedietely.

We opologise for what appears to be more politics than events as we never wish to have an unhappy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Where to I begin?

1. Paid RM350 for a 2 bedroom apartment with NO hot water shower. When asked, the receptionist said that it was only available in the 3 bedroom apartment (going for RM430). Mind you this was for the apartment NOT facing the beach or the pool.

2. The 'resort' has seen better days..perhaps about 20 years ago. It is a little run down. Musky air, dirt, dust and stains are everywhere.

3. When I arrived, I notice a used coffee cup on the 'dining table'..in the hall, it was still there 24 hours later.

4. It is dark everywhere - stayed on the 4th floor of Block B and the lights along the aisle were not working (no bulbs?) and the lift was 'erratic' (I suggest using the stairs).

5. NO security was evident except for the lone young girl at the reception. I don't feel safe, thankfully I was with group of 20.

6. The pictures are accurate description of the deplorable condition.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sza1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Believe all the bad reviews you are reading from other reviews! I don't normally write bad reviews but the condition at Sanctuary is soooooo bad I had to write this one. I had to stay here because the company I work for booked the hotel for its get-together.Top on my list of hell at Sanctuary is the air-conditioning which needs servicing, The second, the staff who never showed up to service the air-cond, hence, two nights of tossing and turning on the bed due to uncomfortable room temp. The third, the clealiness of the hotel. Ohhhh my God, if you could bear to sleep in a bed full of stains and sit on a sofa that is very dirty, than maybe this hotel for you, BUT wait that is not the worst news, they actually have very nice rooms here at Sanctuary, with working air-cond, clean sofas and so on but these rooms are few and far between. If you are lucky, you might end up with these rooms which are the ones advertised on the internet. If your company is considering booking this hotel, be suspicious of the person booking the rooms for your company. She or he may get the best rooms and leave you and the rest to dumpster rooms like ours did.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ameraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The apt unit tht I stayed was huge, 2 bedrooms n 2 barhrooms n a kitchen n a living room. Tht's the only positive aspect of the stay.
The cons:-
1. The place was dirty! Like nobody bothered to mop n sweep the place before the arrival of the guests. Dust everywhere!
2. Terrible sheets n pillows. The pillow cases hv turned grey, n hv seen too many better days! They were hard too.
3. TV didn't hv clear reception, like they forgot to install the aerial or something.
4. We were located on the 3rd floor n the lift was not working! N nobody to help us carry our luggage to our unit.

And the list goes on.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mijae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After coming back from a holiday beach resort on Redang Island our family had decided to take the road back to KL and had booked in advance for an over night stay at sanctuary resort on our way back. Once we had arrived, we were greeted by a midnight barbecue and drinking party held by a large group of youths infront of the lobby playing intolerably loud music. We checked in and walked upstairs to a room and greeted with a broken door lock, a broken kitchen cabinet, ancient furniture, half used viles of soap, stained sheets, broken toilets with yellow water and much more. We had even seen cockroaches outside the room door.

Room Tip: Make sure the airconditioning, water, lights and anything that you might need to use works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
5.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
125 reviews
10.0 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
1.9 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
10.6 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
3.6 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 44 in Kuantan
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Resort

Address: 342 | Mukim Sungai Karang, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kuantan
Price Range: $65 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Resort Cherating is truly a beachfront resort hotel withonly 10 meters away from beach, beautifully surrounded by refreshing lush greenery. With 90 units of 2 & 3 Bedrooms All Suite Apartmentwith each room with its attaching bathroom, Sanctuary Resort Cherating creates a perfect setting for singles, couples and even families group. Enjoy your stay at this serene and peaceful property, guests are also offered access to water sports like sailing and canoeing, with its own private island right in front, only 900 meters away. For those in need of a relaxing vacation, you can simply take a dip in the alluring pool or go for sunbathing at the beach. Enjoy various activities including the one at the Classical Fishing Village River where you do the fresh catching daily. Sanctuary Resort Cherating is a great choice for those looking to getaway from the bustling city for a True Beachfront Holiday Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing