We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town, big room and clean”
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Classic Hotel
Ranked #5 of 72 Kuantan B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In town, big room and clean”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed in quad room. Spacious room. Breakfast simple and good. Kudos to auntie who prepared buffet spread which my family enjoyed. Room windows should be improved.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
12
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My review concurs with the others on this site - there's nothing amazing about this hotel, but it does the required job.

Kuantan doesn't have a lot to attract tourists - it's a place for locals to live and work, not a holiday destination, so many hotels are more geared to businessmen than backpackers or tourists. I stayed there 2 nights while waiting for an available seat on a bus to my onward destination. Rooms are in the mid-range price, rather than budget (I paid 98RM a night, roughly £20).

Classic Hotel is a large, fairly characterless block. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There are decent amenities (wifi, tv, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, ensuite with hot water, hot breakfast included). They changed the sheets every day.

I took a room facing the river - unfortunately there's a fairly derelict plot of land between the back of the hotel and the river (plus the alleyway where they keep the bins) so the view is a little bit spoiled. But I suppose it's better than facing the main street at the front!

There's really nothing much to complain about, just nothing to get excited about either. If you're stuck in town over night and need a clean place to get some sleep, it'll do.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Canadian-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

When we stayed here the hotel was quite empty and very few foreign people. Easy to have a room. They are very basic and charmless. Big cockroach in the bathroom, but he was more afraid than us. Don't stay here more than one night. Except for the beautiful blue mosque there is not too much to do. If you want to buy beers go to the chinese shop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

On our trip to the Taman Negara Park we stayed for 1 night at the classic hotel. Kuantan is quite a busy and noisy town, so go for the riverview rooms! Room was OK for the price, not far away on the same road is the Tjantek Art Bistro, which is a good food option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duschted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed one night at the Classic Hotel. We checked out the other Lonely Planet recommendations in the area and were not impressed by what we saw. The price of the Classic (92 RM with taxes) was a bit more than we had been spending on rooms but we needed a good rest.
The room was large with a tv and large bathroom as well. The bed was comfy enough. The stay included a great big breakfast with local options as well as eggs and toast type breakfast foods.
Our room looked back onto the river. The hotel is walking distance to most anywhere in the city but we did need to take a taxi to the bus station.
Overall for a one or two night stay this place does the trick. Nothing fancy but it's clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seasons View Hotel - Kuantan
0.9 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Property: Classic Hotel
Address: No.7,Bangunan LKNP (Hotel Pahang), Jalan Besar, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Classic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing