We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once the gem of Cheating, now pretty disappointing”
Review of Ranting Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuantan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranting Resort
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Once the gem of Cheating, now pretty disappointing”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

On a whim, went to Cheating Beach without any plan or hotel booking. Our first choice, Residence Inn, was fully booked for the weekend, so we went for what I thought would be the next best choice, Ranting Resort. Got a beach front chalet with air con for RM160 a night. Large bed, TV with local channels, and hot water.

First Impression: the garden areas around the chalets unkempt, with leaves and trash all over the place. But from the balcony, what a view of the beach and sea. The room was relatively clean. Air con and hot water worked well. Bed was firm, but OK.
No kettle for making coffee! What the hey?

Room realities: TV had a blurry screen on all channels, making it unusable. Water hose at toilet had a really bad leak, dumping water down the drain the whole time we were there. Complaints to the front desk staff brought indifference and shrugged shoulders. No kettle in the room required going across the street in the morning with a flask to make instant coffee in the room. This is no way to start the day.

For basically the same price as a hotel room, you'd expect the place to be up to a minimum standard. This place is not it. The parking lot was full, so I'm guessing that the majority of these customers are like me, and won't be back for another visit.

This is the first negative review I've made.... I don't take it lightly.
What a great location. Pity. We stayed here a few years ago with a group of people, and had a great time.

Hint: for this price range, the Cheating Bayview Resort would be much better value. For the equivalent of this place, the Coconut Inn would be be better, at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DirtyErn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed there for only a night then move to other resort. The best location in Cherating but the very2 worst in term of its cleanliness. They re-used the bed sheet and pillowcase. How could Only a light in the room and the light in the toilet very sorrow maybe to hide its dirt. Totally Not worth with the price offered to us. Besides, so many mosquito there, better bring a repellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahusnaroizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We rented 2 chalets fronting the sea; one chalet with 2 double beds in 1 room n another chalet equipped with 2 double beds in seperate room which were costed us RM250 and RM300 respectively (on weakend).The interior doesn't look very nice as the chalet made from wood painted with long-time-ago brown color, cracked ceiling,old furniture, old curtain, old & dirty bedsheet (need proper cleaning service). Our RM300-room equipped with aircond,stand fan (for smaller room),TV & shower.Equipped with neither toilettories,towel, nor electrical kettle. Suggest to have broom in every room or outside water pipe for cleaning purpose esp. needed after coming from the seashore. The chalet is equipped with TM Wifi so who has subscribbed to TM broadband svc eg. Streamyx/unifi can utilise the free Wifi here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Achiq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Condition of the chalet was good.Aircond worked very well.I took sea view chalet. The beach was very clean compare to other beaches. My children enjoyed swimming and played sand soccer.
Surely will come back later.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Agree with others, price could have been cheaper.

Goods:
-The chalets are fronting the sea, which is very nice. You get to see and hear the sea from the balcony of your chalet
-Reasonably clean
-Friendly service

Put-offs:
-Room is very very basic, with tired looking furnishing
-Overprice for the facility provided

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesprincesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Air conditioned room by the beach side is RM180 (1 double bed), and RM200 (1 double bed + 1 single bed). I think it is abit too overpriced for the quality of the chalet. The non-airconditioned room is RM80 (1 double bed) but these are the older rooms which are located at the opposite side of the road (further from the beach).
However among other chalets nearby, this chalet looks like the most decent one. The environment is nicely maintained and clean, not too old from outside. The room floor is abit dusty (from beach sand i guess) and the toilet for the chalet (we took the air conditioned chalet by the beach side) is still OK. Hot water was working well, and air cond was working well too. The view from the chalet wasnt really that great ...It was not clear sandy beach as expected.
Overall i think it was not worth to pay RM180-200 for this chalet. Whats good is that this chalet only take walk in customers starting at 12 noon, which is good for last minute trip on peak season when all other hotels/chalets are all fully taken.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_A_Traveler_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

At 120RM per night we expected a lot more for our money! The first thing we noticed when we got to our room was there was writing on the walls from previous guests most notably to "beware of peeping this is not a joke". although we didn't experience this problem ourselves it was a little off putting to say the least. The room hadn't been dusted since it was built and the wooden panels were were peeling away from the walls, the shower was hot but that was the only good thing about the bathroom. There was air con a fan and a TV (although this was older than my parents and no channels worked). You will need a mosquito net here.

Relaxed it is but we certainly didn't find paradise in Cherating and most of the other places we looked at didn't look much better.

  • Liked — noting
  • Disliked — it was filthy
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank milkbottletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 43 in Kuantan
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cempaka Beach Resort
Cempaka Beach Resort
#20 of 43 in Kuantan
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Embassy Service Residence Suite
0.0 mi away
Tanjung Inn
Tanjung Inn
#2 of 11 in Cherating
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranting Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranting Resort

Property: Ranting Resort
Address: Lot 1006, Ranting Resort Ranting Resort Kg. Budaya Cherating Jalan Kuantan-Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fan 2(pax) RM 120.00 Air conditioning 2(pax) RM 160.00 Air conditioning 3(pax) RM 200.00 Air conditioning 4(pax) RM 230.00 *During weekend and public holidays will have extra charge RM 20.00 per room. *Room deposit RM 50.00 per room. *All rooms have (heater shower, fan and toilets are inside the chalet). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing