We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Basic for the price but in the jungle:-)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durian Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerantut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durian Chalet
Ranked #2 of 6 Jerantut B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Basic for the price but in the jungle:-)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in fan room costing 40MYR. Note that basic bungalows for 25MYR as advertised on Taman Negara Park website are not in use any more. The bungalow was functional and mosquito coils are provided alongside the net which is very helpful. Many crawling insects but it is to be expected in the jungle. We stored our luggage there for 3 days and staff held the room for us for after our trek. It is a bit away from the village which makes it more jungly but bring torches as the road leading to the place has limited lighting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I loved the fact that this place was away from the village (5-10 min walk)- gave it a more "jungle" feeling. We stayed in the $60 bungalow with private bathroom. It was very clean, had one double and one single bed, and mosquito nets. Each night the owner would light one of those mosquito repellent coils outside our door. Very friendly staff. I would highly recommend if you don't mind the walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KariC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
443 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Durian Chalets is situated about 5 minutes walk away from the Floating Restaurants at Kuala Tahan Village, past the Police Station.
Be sure to have a Torchlight as is could get a bit dark at night, as there is no street lights.
The rooms are quite basic but clean and cheap, which came with mosquito net, fan and attached shower which cost RM 60.00 per night.
They also have a very small restaurant attached to their premises.
The wonderful thing is that this chalet is in a middle of an orchard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Im reviewing the chalets that cost RM60 per night. My wife and i stayed in one of the brick build chalets for 3 nights and were satisfied with that we had. Bed, mosquito net, fan, sink, shower, toilet and kettle (altho we didnt use the kettle).
The shower only give cold water but that's fine because coming in from the heat you want it nice and cool.
We found the place a little bit of a walk from the floating resturaunts but not too far. About a 10 min walk. Make sure you bring a torch when coming and going at night though because the road that leads there has no lights.
Cool jungle sounds outside at night.

TIP: Avoid Mama Chop floating resturaunt (the first one you come to after the shops). I dont know why it's raved about in the Lonely Planet book because the food is mediocre, the staff miserable and most of the menu is unavailable. The other resturaunts on the river are very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistermark_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The place is far out of town. More importantly our room was very old and dirty. The whole place was smelly as well. Poor value all in all. To us it seemed the owner stopped putting effort in the place after being positively mentioned in the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teernstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Different types of chalets, all located in well maintained and nice tropical garden. Jungle sounds allover the place. Location somewhat out of the village, but all is on walking distance. Chalets are clean en nice decorated. Small terrace with chairs in front. Friendly staff. Roomrates vary according to the type of chalet, our was 60 Rm minus 10 rm discount. Breakfast sometimes possible, sometimes not, however in the centere of the village there are early in the morning excellent hawker stalls with great and very cheap food. Around 4 rm for a full local breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mavis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

50 per night for 3 people room with bathroom attached. but you need some walking exercise when you want to go floating restaurant as it located quite far away.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lookforwardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
0.6 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
#4 of 6 in Kuala Tahan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
28.5 mi away
Balai Serama Guesthouse
Balai Serama Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Jerantut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Han Rainforest Resort
Han Rainforest Resort
#3 of 12 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Darul Makmur
Hotel Darul Makmur
#4 of 6 in Jerantut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durian Chalet

Property: Durian Chalet
Address: Jalan Tahan, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jerantut
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Durian Chalet Hotel Jerantut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing