We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Felda Residence Tekam
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Was expecting to stay in the middle of a plantation (many trees surrounding, airy, shady ...) But this place is more like a Malay kampung (village) instead, with chalets scattered under the sun.

Staff helpful and friendly, which was good.

The chalet we stayed in, however, was run down and dirty. In dire need of repair, renovation and upgrade!

As the chalet was directly under the sun with no shade from any trees, it was HOT!

Info we got before going was they had Astro. As it turned out, it was only Astro Ria, Fox Sports (snowy reception) and some local channels.

Breakfast was inclusive, and it was GOOD. Nice nasi lemak in big portion, together with small-selection buffet (local kuih, bread, etc).

Suitable for people wanting to experience living in Malay village, and/or people looking for a lot of sunshine. Not suitable for people looking for cool place to crash.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yasumi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 1 nite with family to attend a kenduri on the following day.Stayed in Superior Rooms.Quite comfortable but the bathrooms need to be cleaner.The kids enjoyed swimming in the swimming pool.There's a small glide for the kids too.Breakfast was ok.A strategic location for those who plan to attend kenduri nearby felda or kota gelanggi.The price is ok for the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razila76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed with 2 colleagues on business trip, so we haven't experienced much (somehow regret it a little, considering the experience tomanwang expressed in his review).
The whole residence is very well kept - peaceful, clean, green.
We were booked a family room with 3 beds, since the rooms are quite booked with companies doing teambuilding and stuff. The check-in was smooth, no issues, just that the reception could do with a little smiling.
The family room is located in the block next door. Didn't expect much, so the room turns out pretty okay. No keycards, just plain doorknob lock, so just be careful with your belongings, and I don't suggest for ladies to stay alone in that particular room type. Then again, maybe the rooms in the main building has keycards.
Upon entering the room, we were welcomed with 2 towels (yes, 2, for a 3-bed family room, haha). There's no phone to call the housekeeping for extra towels, so we just let it be. Luckily one of us brought her own towel. There's a looonngg table in which sits a CRT TV. That table, with the height of the chair, is not so suitable as a workdesk, but we squeeze in regardless.
The beds are comfy and we've no trouble sleeping at all, except for the sound of the aircond unit. It was on lowest fan but sounds like we revved it up to max. The room could do with carpets too. It was so bare that it feels like we're sleeping in a lab.
The room is equipped with a closet that extends up to the ceiling. There's 2 large drawers high up, that I assume stores the extra pillows, but it was so high that I don't think hurting my back from falling for a couple of pillows is worth it. Then again, maybe the pillows are not there. Even more wasted.
The bathroom is okay, equipped with shower and all the amenities. There's a small, clear vase that house some plant. Doesn't hurt if they want to lose this - it's attracting the mosquitoes.
On that note, just bring along insect repellent or spray etc. Our room at that side of the building has a couple of them mosquitoes. You don't want to fall sick after finding your peace.
Breakfast was okay, limited choices, and mostly Malaysian food. Lunch is good too.
After 2 peaceful nights, checking out was a breeze (except some smiles, again). Just remember to get the details of the room first prior to booking.

Room Tip: -Try get the rooms as in the professional photos. It might be in the main building. -Bring insect r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allymelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

had stayed here for several times but in the hotel rooms only. beds are comfortable and there is daily cleaning of the rooms by staff. the old wing offers spacious space compared to the new wing. menu are mostly locals. view from new wing top floor is marvelous.

food is mostly local. but can have bar-be-q if going in a group. check with the hotel. good place for seminars, training and family day. kids love the swimming pool.

a good place to distress as hotel is surrounded by greens. early morning walk or evening walk is refreshing. there are food stalls, a petrol station, a mini market, and fruit stalls outside and inside fruit orchard. guests can pick fresh fruits from trees near the hotel.

i would recommend to anyone who lieks to have fresh fruits everyday and love to stay in a plantation environment. be there during the fruit seasons.

Room Tip: if you wish to experience living in a settler's house (upgraded), stay in teh chalet. if you wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeBadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed in the chalet for the night to attend a wedding ceremony tomorrow morning.
Maybe because it was still in the festive Hari Raya season, most of the shops inside the residence were closed.
30 minutes drive to Jerantut Town.
Requested for an extra bed. Was already there in the chalet when we checked in.
The room was good enough. Bathroom amenities were provided.
All in all more than I expected.
Lots of outdoor activities to do there, but you have to book them earlier / a day before.
I saw 3 great hornbills, so who knows what else you'd find if you go looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

i booked family room with one double bed and one single bed.
my room located in the old building and the furniture inside is kind of 80s furniture. no carpet wall to wall. it's not as what i saw on the website.
breakfast inclusive and food are ok.
my children enjoy playing at the pool.
not easy to get food here as it is located not in the town area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is surrounded by palm oil plantation...if you chose a chalet, what you get is actually a refurbished old 'felda' original 'peneroka' house. The look from outside the chalet may not give good impression but the inside is hmmm....acceptable....comfortable but not luxury....the bed sheet should be replaced with more comfy materials...

A strategic stopover if you plan to go to the Taman Negara....which is just an hour journey from tekam...the hotel has nothing else to offer but a complete peace.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nizberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
0.0 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Town Inn Hotel
Town Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Jerantut
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Han Rainforest Resort
Han Rainforest Resort
#3 of 12 in Jerantut
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Darul Makmur
Hotel Darul Makmur
#4 of 6 in Jerantut
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felda Residence Tekam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felda Residence Tekam

Property: Felda Residence Tekam
Address: Tun Razak Agricultural Research Centre, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Felda Residence Tekam 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felda Residence Tekam(formerly known as Tekam Plantation Resort) is nestled within the lush forests of Jerantut on hectares of plantation land harvesting rubber, cocoa, palm oil, various local fruits and gringing on one of the world's oldest rain forests. We have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets for families, school groups, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Felda Residence Tekam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felda Residence Tekam Hotel Jerantut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing