We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good.. Old charrming English Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overall good.. Old charrming English Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Lakehouse, during valentines. We liked the hotel surrounding (quiet and calm), the deco in the hotel / room, and also the service which was overall, satisfying.. We were provided welcome drinks upon arriving the hotel. There were 4 of us - parents + my partner + me, so we decided to take up the family suite. Whilst we were expecting 2 rooms with 2 bathrooms but it turned out there were 2 rooms indeed, but only with a bathroom. So throughout the stay it was a little inconvenient for 4 of us to share a bathroom especially in the morning. If you are staying with your kids in the family suite, I guess there should be no problem, but with 4 adults, perhaps maybe it's not so recommended, well in my opinion.

Our room has a lake view but I thought the view was not my favourite with a muddy lake. The family suite is simple but cozy enough; the bathroom though, is slightly dated as mentioned by other reviewers. Note, the hot water supply is not constant (I had to take a cold shower one night when the hot water ran out after 15minutes..)! Location of the hotel, it's slightly away from the major hub, it's located in Mile Ringlet, which takes about 15-20 mins drive to Tanah Rata from the hotel itself, and probably another 15mins drive to Brinchang from Tanah Rata. If you are travelling in Cameron Highlands without a private car, I wouldn't recommend to stay here unless you don't mind taking a taxi or renting a car / driver, or if you have an arranged tour which the transportation is arranged.

We also found the F&B here is very expensive. As there are not many nightspots in Cameron Highlands, and we liked the cozyness of the lounge, we had been staying in the hotel at night for drinks - cocktails, beer, coffee and etc.. The drinks here are very much overpriced, not to mention the strawberry cocktails we tried were not good at all. We never have a thought of dining in the hotel as it's obviously expensive, and we were not sure the quality of the food after trying the cocktails... We enjoyed our meals - steamboat, Chinese.. very much in the town!

The staff were helpful and attentive most of the time, although I have a problem with the bouquet roses they prepared (my partner made a special arrangement with the hotel staff to prepare a bouquet of roses in bed for our valentines). Instead of blooming red roses, I was presented with plenty of rose buds and few pieces of barely bloomed roses, plus one of them was already drying... I was very disappointed with the flowers and I supposed my partner paid quite some for the roses + the arrangement. I was hoping the roses would bloom in the next few days but nope. I had to discard them after, so please be careful with the service if you happen to make such arrangement.

Lastly, for us the breakfast was ok. Not extravaganza but good enough for us. Breads, cereals, croissants, scones, fruits and also we could order eggs (any style) + bacon on the menu, which is included in the complimentary breakfast. If you are not picky with breakfast, this should serve well.

I would recommend this hotel for a quiet, calm and cozy stay, and better with own transportation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    278
    71
    34
    10
See reviews for
246
369
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at Lakehouse in May 2008 as a part of our honeymoon trip. Found the stay quite comfortable and cozy. Its an English cottage styled hotel and looks charming.The rooms are quite spacious and clean. No TV in the room. The bathroom fittings looked dated but it was clean.
The breakfast spread was average. Liked the pan cakes and maple honey. The food is quite costly.Nice view of the lake from the terrace but unfortunately you can not eat out on the terrace as there are too many flies... they should do something about it.
Location of the hotel is a disadvantage as it is quite away from the nearest town and you need to have a vehicle at your disposal.
Overall service is quite good. Would recommend the hotel for a quite, cozy stay.

  • Liked — Rooms were very cozy
  • Disliked — Distance from the nearest town
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarusGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed for one night recently at the Lakehouse. We drove from Penang and as soon as I saw the hotel my heart sank! In spite of studying the website very carefully and reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor, no one had mentioned that it overlooked the main road from KL to the Cameroon Highland Plateau where there was a constant stream of cars, lorries and buses. While our bedroom overlooked the lake, it also over looked the road which was between the hotel and the lake and we were awakened in the very early morning by traffic noises. We had to shut the windows and the result was that we were far too warm, as a small desk fan was not sufficient cooling for our bedroom.
The terrace could not be used for eating due to the huge number of flies.
Our bedroom was a good size with a bathroom which was dated but clean and worked very well, though the shower was not very powerful - there was a separate bath. The bed was very hard, though I appreciate that this is a personal taste and not cause for complaint. However, the carpet was stained and even had cigarette burns on it. There was also a tear in the mosquito netting on the windows which we managed to seal with sellotape! The furniture was worn and shabby,
We found the food and drinks here very very expensive - we had come from the E&O hotel in Georgetown and beer was more expensive in the Lakehouse than in the E&O! We aso felt that the equivalent of £5 for a bowl of tomato soup to be excessive. We queried the charge for a toasted sandwich and to their credit, they did reduce the charge. Sadly, it was the only time in over 3 weeks in Malaysia that we felt that we had been 'ripped off'.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. There was absolutely no problem about borrowing a laptop to check in for our flight.
My husband, quite an experienced walker, took the circular walk from the hotel grounds and was concerned at how dangerous it was, particularly as it had been raining and felt that there should be some warnings about this for guests.
The hotel reminded us of an English small town hotel in the 1950's, complete with swirly carpets and cartwheel lights. We felt that the whole thing was very prententious. Having said that, it is interesting to note that most of the really good reviews come from non Europeans and so perhaps if you are visiting from the UK this hotel is not for you but others probably find it 'quaint' and enjoy the step back in time!
The final thing to note is that it is quite a way down from the Cameron peak and if you want to eat elsewhere rather than in the hotel you definitely need a car.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

We've wanted to visit Cameron Highlands for many years and were attracted to the Lakehouse by TA reviews. We were not disappointed by either.

Lakehouse arranged a reasonably priced transfer by taxi from KL; a very interesting and informative journey which included impromptu demo of rubber tapping from a roadside tree.

We booked the hotel's 2 nt "Mossy Forest" package which we'd recommend. It's weird staying at a hotel in the tropics which is themed as an English country house but the welcome seemed genuine and staff could not have been more helpful. Our room with 4 poster bed was huge, as was the bathroom. Sipping drinks by a fire in the evening was cosy but our first dinner was rather mediore - though roast lamb and three veg. was what you'd expect in an English country house! Trip next day included a challenging jungle walk and good explanation of tea growing/processing. None of the restaurants in nearby town looked inviting so we settled for another dinner at Lakehouse which proved much tastier than first night.

All too soon it was time to return to the swelter of KL. Staff at Lakehouse obligingly booked a bus back and arranged for the bus to stop and pick us up immediately outside the hotel. It was typical of the great service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We planned our trip to Cameron about one month before and we were surprised by the limited number of good hotels avaiable in this area. One hotel which caught our eye was The Lakehouse and the pictures on their website looked brilliant. However, we were a little sceptical at first as you don't always get what you see (this is normally the case when you go to restaurants and look at the nice pictures on the menu). Our main objective of the trip was to find a place to relax and The Lakehouse looked like it would fit our plans.

When we arrived in Cameron after a long drive from KL we were welcomed by this home. I will not call this a hotel as it feels like you are in someone's house. The decor inside makes you feel like you are in a house as it doesn't have the typical hotel feel.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and paid careful attention to you. It is not one of the places you would go to if you were looking for entertainment but they do have a common tv in the lounge as well as board games. The outdoor area is nice to sit and enjoy your afternoon scones and tea. There is nothing much to see and enjoy from the lake as it is not really that nice.

Although the hotel was a little pricey it met our objectives and we had a memorable experience.

  • Liked — Quietness, Good Service
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SamsulAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Very very nice- we had been wanting to get away for a short break from Singapore and wanted something really laid back and restful, especially since we had a toddler...the place was very nice...food excellent, they even prepared simple meals on request for our son. Lovely fireplace...it was just what we were looking for...best of all no TV, just a small library and some board games and movie DVDs in the Highlander's Room with a fireplace (kind of like a lounge) are the one way you can spend time here. Also liked the fact that children can run around (like we saw some do) without the risk of getting really lost as its a small family run place...Would like to go back someday...

  • Liked — The beds were lovely and soft and clean bedsheets...and the bathrooms were also very very clean with fresh towels everyday and even when we requested for xtras!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights with the whole family. We had a family room which was very convienent. The view is quite nice and the surroundings relaxing. The hotel is more a king of guest house with very pleasant common fcailities : living room with TV, fireplace, dining room... It's king of an ambiance from an Agatha Chritie book - but with no murderer hagging around. In the evening it was raining and a bit cold so the management lighted up some firewood for us : really cool - all the kids in the hotel gathered around and played a little bit.
Food is very average but acceptable for the price.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jplure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
3.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.9 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
3.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Property: The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing