We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but poor standards and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although the name suggests that the hotel is situated right at a lake, it is not. There is a main road between the two. The setting is very nice (apart from the main road) and the hotel looks beautiful from the outside. It however is completely worn-out and needs major refurbishment. The rooms as well as the public areas need thorough cleaning too! The service is poor and the food (chef's suggestion menu for dinner) and breakfast are very basic. Would have been acceptable if no insects had been using the breakfast buffet as a playground...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear kodieken

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, which we value very much. We note your concerns as an opportunity for improvement.
We appreciate your reference to the hotels appearance, the hotel was built over a 4 year period from 1966 by an eccentric retired British colonel, and we do invest considerably annually to preserve the quality and maintenance of the building for our guest to have a genuine experience. We do have a perception of being an old building, yet The Lakehouse is relatively a new property compared to some of the other properties throughout Cameron Highlands. Just a note, recently in November 2011, all the rooms were renovated however we did maintain the furniture as it is as these are antiques, yet we did reupholster majority of the furniture to give a refreshed look & feel.
With regards to your comment about the services, we assure you that this has been briefed to all of our staff with more intense training to be lined up for even better service. Meanwhile, we understand that we did not meet your expectations during your stay here, we hope that with more training, we will be able to provide our guests a more pleasant staying experience

Please be assured that we make every effort to improve and greatly value and appreciate your time and feedback. Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 821 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent service, difficult to fault. Far from the main Cameron Highlands attractions, ideal if you are looking for privacy, but not if you want everything at the doorstep. Due to it's small size, you feel more like a house guest, they even wash your car every morning. Breakfast is good, you get to choose your main breakfast plate, while everything else is on the buffet table.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank BKassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear BKasssim

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we stayed at this outstanding hotel that has been built by one of british army leaders ( Foster ), it was a real unique experience for me and my family.
for the honeymooners they can ask about the honey moon suite which was the bed room of Mr.Foster. it is unbelievable. the jungle walk is over imagination.
the restaurant was good but not much choices it is like a continental breakfast.
everything there is old and classic which was so much well maintained.
the rooms and bathrooms were so much spacious with an excellent amenities.
the evening tea was so much fun and really relaxing don't miss it.
the reception phone extension most of the times busy i think the phone central is old.
the internet signal at the rooms is very poor u need to go downstairs.
there is no elevators so if u need this service this hotel is not your choice.
The location is a bit away from the cameron city.
no swimming pool or children's activities i knew from the people working there that Mr. Foster didn't allow any kids or families with children to visit this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Alismail

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel, its gardens, the jungle trekking and the service during your stay.
The hotel was built over a 4 year period from 1966 by an eccentric retired British Colonel Foster, and we do invest annually to preserve the quality and maintenance of the building for our guests to have a genuine experience during their stay.
Internet is available in the common areas only as due to our regular guests' requests the rooms should be left as it is as they are here to relax and not work, which we find is a valid point.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendations and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My fiancee and I spent one night at The Lakehouse in conjunction with my birthday. We'd a great time there. The management helped to set up a romantic decoration with fresh flowers, balloons and lovely Swan towels. We love the poster bed! The candlelight dinner was lovely. Thanks to Chef Edmund for the satisfying meal and the cake. Thanks to the crew who sang me the birthday song - you guys had a good voice. Oh yeah, the signature welcome drink was nice. Love it. By the way, thank you for the complimentary car wash. It was an extra effort and we appreciate that, really. We'll return for sure. Hope on our next visit, we could try out the couple spa as it was not available this time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear holidayman23

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.

We are delighted to know you liked the special arrangements prepared for you and your comments will be shared with Chef Edmund and the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Its a smaller hotel, but very cosy, comfortable and with much personal attention at all times. We went for our 26th wedding anniversary and stayed 2 nights. What a splendid getaway.... it was so pleasant and the staff made us feel so welcoming and was being personally looked after. Thank You all...for giving us such wonderful memories of your property and service.!!!! Management and staff,....thank you once again for giving us such a satisfying holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yalindrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear yalindrani

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just dropped by to have lunch in the restaurant yesterday afternoon. Dear Lakehouse, if you cannot tolerate child crying, i suggest you to change your policy to CHILDREN BELOW 12 ARE NOT ALLOWED TO ENTER YOUR PREMISE. My 3 yr old cried, and in less than 5 minutes the staff approached me and said: please calm your child down, it's disturbing. I was seriously shocked to hear that. I WISH my 3 yr old would stop crying immediately when i ask her to do so. We will not return!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank MummyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear MummyTan

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you encountered during your short visit to The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands

We certainly do not wish to offend or upset any of our guests and children are welcomed on the property. Please rest assured our staff have been briefed to be more cautious when approaching guests and we appreciate your feedback.

We do hope for your understanding and hope this does not deter you from visiting Cameron Highlands in the near future

Should any reader of this review have any further questions or queries please contact me at lena.wee@lakehouse-cameron.com

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We, myself and my wife, stayed at Lakehouse for 1 night on 27th Sept. Its worth every bit of the experience. We stayed in Deluxe-Double room and it was nice and cozy. Staff was courteous and friendly. Breakfast was good. but its really the property and location itself that is the highlight of the stay here. Deserves every bit of star rating it flaunts.

PS: Separate charging for drinks (coke/sprite/beer) inside mini-bar in the room stuck out like sore note while checking out. Small things like this should be either included in the price for a 5 star property or guests should be given option of ordering as per their requirement if going to be charged separately. Just a small matter maybe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anshulshirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear anshulshirke

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands.
Feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your suggestion on the minibar has been well noted and will be reviewed for any future plans to implement it in the room cost.

Once again, thank you very much for the review and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
2.9 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
796 reviews
3.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
336 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range: $141 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing