We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves every bit of star rating it flaunts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We, myself and my wife, stayed at Lakehouse for 1 night on 27th Sept. Its worth every bit of the experience. We stayed in Deluxe-Double room and it was nice and cozy. Staff was courteous and friendly. Breakfast was good. but its really the property and location itself that is the highlight of the stay here. Deserves every bit of star rating it flaunts.

PS: Separate charging for drinks (coke/sprite/beer) inside mini-bar in the room stuck out like sore note while checking out. Small things like this should be either included in the price for a 5 star property or guests should be given option of ordering as per their requirement if going to be charged separately. Just a small matter maybe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anshulshirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear anshulshirke

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands.
Feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your suggestion on the minibar has been well noted and will be reviewed for any future plans to implement it in the room cost.

Once again, thank you very much for the review and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 821 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had relaxing weekend break (2 nights) at The Lakehouse and we left feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. The place is charming with 'english cottage' details and staff were attentive, friendly and accommodating. We liked the fact that the hotel is quite small, therefore quiet and intimate. We had tea and scones on the open terrace which was lovely if not for the sudden afternoon showers. The terrace overlook's the hotels garden and a big lake across the road. It's a shame the lake is more 'muddy' than 'green', but other wise the setting is perfect being high above the road level with sweeping views of the mountain range.

We had the junior suite for our family of 4, which is big enough to accommodate us all. The room is very plush and more importantly very clean. It comes with a 4-poster bed, a sofa bed, and a small extra bed which was wheeled in for our youngest. The common areas have huge fire places, a small library and a selection of board games. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. While food portions are rather small and a bit pricey, the quality is rather good especially the salmon dish.

All in all, a lovely quiet place to stay if you want something different from the standard hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear limaje

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were spending our 40th anniversary touring Malaysia, from KL to Penang. I hired a car to climb the hill to Cameron Highlands in difficult weather conditions and discovered The Lakehouse. Our welcome at reception was exemplary and our 4-poster room superb, At dinner time our table was decorated with rose petals and we were presented with a cake by the staff. The lounges, plural, were discrete and very comfortable. The weather outside was constant monsoon but the service was more than warm. This hotel and staff are absolute gems.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe lave view room, never mind that dredging work has turned the lake cappuccino colour...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear mjw44

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had so much fun at this hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and informative. The room is cosy and clean. We love the common area and reading area especially the fire place where guests could request for it to be lit up. The outdoor terrace and the pockets of gardens are nice too. The tudor inspired architecture of the hotel is simply impressive and awed upon. The lushes green that surrounds the hotel somehow creates a sense of unparalleled tranquility. Best to follow the North bound Plus highway and take Tapah exit if one chose to stay here since its nearer this way. An excellent place to stay and have family & friends fun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheHasnadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear CheHasnadi

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel, its gardens, the fireplace which we light up every evening at 7pm and the service during your stay.
The hotel was built over a 4 year period from 1966 by an eccentric retired British colonel, and we do invest annually to preserve the quality and maintenance of the building for our guests to have a genuine experience during their stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendations and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent service, excellent accommodation, excellent staff, excellent place, excellent F&B experience, excellent environment!
This is our 1st wedding anniversary trip, after a year of hectic lifestyle, we just wanted to spend quiet time to relax. We definitely came to the right place! I loved the lovely essential oil that they burn, smells relaxing.
Upon arrival, we were given hot towels & welcome drink. it was a nice gesture after being stuck in stupid jam at Kea farm and Brinchang town. Then we were brought to our room which was freely upgraded to the Junior Suite (super large room with my dream bathroom). They folded Swan towels with rose petals & rose bouquet for us... aw.... that's super sweet of them... and then another card from the management wishing us happy anniversary... that's super nice... makes me want to move in and be permanent guest already..
I super love the smell of their toiletries (especially the lotion!)
The overall environment of the hotel is lovely with beautiful garden and herb garden.
The afternoon tea was alright... we had better one at Cameron Highland Resort... but to be able to sit outside in the garden and have afternoon tea, that was a nice experience.. try having tea at 4pm in KL or Kuching outside ur own garden, you'll drown in own sweat...
We made a dinner reservation and when they bring us to our table, it was covered with rose petals... omg... which restaurant do that? that's just soooo super romantic... the food is great.. and then we move to the bar to have our cheese platter... and suddenly, the manager, Mr Thiru brought out a chocolate dessert with "Happy Wedding Anniversary" and presented it to us... How can you not love this hotel and their staff?? the attention that they give us.. almost makes us feel like the royal family!
Thank you so much for making it such a memorable stay for us on our 1st anniversary... we definitely plan to come back again...
Keep it up! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill_Kch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear JennKuching_Malaysia

Thank you for the wonderful review and strong recommendation on Tripadvisor
We are delighted to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations and succeeded in providing you with a memorable experience that made your anniversary special.

We are pleased to see your detailed review highlighting each and every aspects and areas of the resort. This will not only inform our future guests of your experience and what they can expect from us but it is also a great media tool to motivate and reward our Hosts.

Once again, thank you very much for the strong recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Lakehouse. We found it to be a good location as it is south of Tanah Rata meaning you avoide the crowds and the terrible traffic. The hotel was serene with great views across the lake and gave us a taste of oldy worldy Malaysia - not unlike oldy worldy britain! A little taste of home in some ways. The food was great and the room super comfortable. Sitting in the bar by an open fire after a long day trekking in the jungle was bliss. There's not many places on the equator where you want to do that! The staff were attentive, polite and friendly and the food was great. All round a top stay and would highly recommend the Lakehouse over and above similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Ruth81

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to rest and be away from the busy city. The lakehouse provided us just that. From the moment we arrived, We were served with chilled drinks and a hot towel to freshen up. We were then brought to our room, where the moment you step in, you don't want to leave the room at all. The ambiance of the room was amazing and the scented candle burning just makes you drowsy in love. There was a plate of fresh fruits and at night a platter of pure butter cookies was served. The beds were so comfortable and we slept really well. The staffs were very helpful and gave us tips on where to shop and even provided us the capacity to store the fresh strawberries we purchased. All in all we were really satisfied and will definitely return to this beautiful scenic place again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which are above as it can get noisy
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Geraldinearianne

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands.
Feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
2.9 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
796 reviews
3.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
336 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range: $141 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing