We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique accommodation with lots of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique accommodation with lots of charm”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Cameron Highlands are a great place to get away from the humidity and bustle of Kuala Lumpur and the Lakehouse is a wonderful place to stay. The hotel itself is in a Tudor style building with lots of authentic touches. The bedrooms are furnished with antiques, but the bathrooms have been renovated and meet expectations.
The communal areas of the hotel are outstanding, the bar, lounges, terrace and gardens are great to spend time in with good drinks and food available at a reasonable price.
The hotel itself is not cheap, but the individual experience it provides means it was well worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysNearWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaNirmawaty, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear AlwaysNearWalls

Thank you very much for staying at The Lakehouse during your trip to Cameron Highlands recently.

We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed the hotel & facilities which we have tried to maintain according to the period as much as possible.
Food & Beverage prices have recently been reviewed and reduced and we are certainly pleased to know this has made a change to our guests experience at the hotel.

We thank you once again for choosing The Lakehouse and sharing your staying experience on TripAdvisor. We trust that you have reached home safely and look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plan brings you back to Cameron Highlands in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    280
    71
    34
    10
See reviews for
251
373
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The building is truly unique and the atmosphere fits the place. We enjoyed a few days rest here. The place is 'remote' and not much around. At the time we were there April 2013 the hotel bus was not yet up and running but was promised. So really own transport or organised trips out would be good. The staff were friendly and helpful the breakfasts were good and the honey couldn't be fresher. We also enjoyed afternoon tea on the patio a great experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaNirmawaty, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear westcorktravellers

Thank you very much for staying at The Lakehouse during your trip to Cameron Highlands recently.

We are delighted to hear you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to inform you that the shuttle service to Tanah Rata commenced on 01 May with the arrival of the hotel's Land Rover
Thank you once again for choosing The Lakehouse and sharing your staying experience on TripAdvisor. We trust that you have reached home safely and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plan brings you back to Cameron Highlands

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We needed to stop for the night, saw the sign board and drove in.
Great old charm hotel, very friendly staff, very helpful and engaging.
The room had a mixture of styles in their furniture and fitting, but all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaNirmawaty, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MarkMendes

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback
We are delighted to know you had enjoyed the property and service from our team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plan brings you back to Cameron Highlands

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'd say its old charm is its strongest point. Funny it didn't smell musty at all (probably less humidity as compared to the rest of Malaysia). The property is beautiful and peaceful. The front desk was very friendly. We got a family room and it was really big.

My complains: The bed was too hard and pillow were too soft. I think the management should look into this. And the ala carte breakfast service was so slow, we had to wait for more than half an hour for food to arrive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbaceous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaNirmawaty, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear herbaceous

Thank you for staying with us, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the property and service from our team.
We have noted your comments on our beds & pillow and will this in mind for the next replacement. Just a note they were recently replaced when we had our renovations in November 2011.
With regards to your comments on the food service, we assure you that this has been briefed to all of our staff with more intense training to be lined up for even better services

Thank you once again for your choosing The Lakehouse and sharing your staying experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plan brings you back to Cameron Highlands

Best Regards
Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We returned to the Lakehouse one year after our first visit and, introducing ourselves as returning customers, we were welcomed with a courtesy upgrade to Junior Suite, which we appreciated.

Our weekend stay was just as we expected: we enjoyed our time in the room, in the lounge, in the terrace, in the garden. The Camerons is a place for relaxing, there is very little action going on and, as you are going to spend lot of time in the hotel, better off choosing a place offering a special and personal experience that you will remember. From this perspective, the Lakehouse is a great choice.

Since last time we visited they upgraded the property adding TVs to the rooms but not wireless (available only in public area), addition which we would have appreciated better. Apparently a shuttle service to Tanah Rata is establishing, however it was not operational the days we were there.

Regarding the most recurrent complaint, the hotel being isolated, in a place - the Camerons - where main attractions are farms and plantations, wherever you decide to stay you are going to need to drive or taxi for touring around, adding ~15-20 minutes to the drive (taxi in our case) did not affected us a great deal. It would be nice to have free transportation at about meals time to Tanah Rata and Brinchang, the two tourist villages of the Camerons, which hopefully will be addressed with the establishing shuttle service.

Except breakfast, we did not check the restaurant which indeed looks boring and expensive, preferring eating in town.

The Lakehouse is a nice place for a personal and relaxing vacation in the Camerons. It does not come cheap. If it fits your budget, recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lakehouse, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear gdilieto,

Thank you for returning to The Lakehouse and taking the time to write us another comment after your previous post on Apr last year. For such a supporting guest like your goodself, it’s just our little gesture to upgrade you and your partner as the room occupancy permitted us to do so.

We are hearten to learn that you and your partner had a relaxing vacation here. You are absolutely right, a tranquil escapade with lots of greens surrounding the hotel or simply an afternoon tea in our Tudor-style terrace are indeed a pure enjoyment. For the reason and perspective that you mentioned, we are Ranked #8 in the Small Hotels in Malaysia category by TripAdvisor in its 2013 Travellers’ Choice® awards. Thanks to our valued guests like you.

The hotel added a few touches to add comfort to our guests. TV and air-cond are just some of the new add-ons, of course, the shuttle service to Tanah Rata as well. Whilst we are unable to change our hotel’s location, we hope by providing the shuttle service will be able to help our guests to commute around easier.

With regards to the breakfast, we will compile all guest comments and do the necessary adjustment later.

We thank you again gdilieto for your continued support. We certainly appreciate your effort and time to share your staying experience on TripAdvisor. Meanwhile, we look forward to serving you again soon.


Best regards,
Karl Muir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We (Myself, Wife & 02 Daughters) booked Family Suite and spent 03 Days/ 04 Nights in Lake House at RM804/ nite inclusive of Breakfast for 04 Pax. Before booking, i did my complete research on web and all travel advisor websites and then i booked it. The hotel has very limited rooms (total 19 rooms) and thats why no noise, rush and all but peaceful and service wise up to the mark. Here i would like to specify the names of 02 personnel of Hotel, 1st is Yen Ye (Ms) & 2nd is Mr. Thiru. Both are very welcoming and helping people. I travelled all the way from KL. I requested hotel (Mr. Param) to arrange Taxi for us to pickup from hotel in KL and arranged it at a very reasonable price of RM.350 one side. Cameron highland has 2 major towns, Ringlet & Tanha Rata. The main town is Tanha Rata but Lake House is situated in Ringlet, which is a very small and tiny town but the hotel is bit away from Ringlet Town (9 kms). The hotel is located in bit isolated area and this their especiality. The hotel is surrounded by forests and garden. Its pure Tudor / Victorian Style Property and very well maintained. For our meals, we used to go Tanha Rata (14 kms away) which is a bigger town and hotel always used arrange Taxi for us and Taxi used to charge us RM30 one sided (RM60 to/from).
My only disappointment is the their Breakfast, which is limited. I personally recommend this hotel to everyone and trust, next time whenever i go to Cameron Highland, definitely i will stay their only.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JunaidAbbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lakehouse, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear JunaidAbbas,

Thank you very much for choosing The Lakehouse as the result of your online research. We are indeed a very quiet and calm hotel, and very suitable for guests who enjoy a relaxing holiday.

We thank you for your kind compliments towards Ms Yen Ye and Mr Thiru, please be assured that your commendations have been made known to them. We are sure that this will certainly motivate them to provide even better services. We also noted your disappointment about the breakfast spread. We will take all guest comments into considerations and make adjustment accordingly when appropriate time comes.

We thank you once again JunaidAbbas for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and your kind support. We look forward to offering hospitality to you and your family again soon.


Best ragards,
Karl Muir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A most pleasant surprise! After a traffic riddled trip, we were delighted to arrive at The Lakehouse. What an oasis of tranquility !
We stayed in the family room. A most relaxing set of two rooms.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful, however their attention to detail was sometimes lacking. For example, we needed to get away on time. We were advised breakfast was from 0700, however at 0715 we were still requesting for bread and other items to be delivered to the restaurant. Staff standards of dress were also mixed. The hotel also has babysitters. The staff were most friendly and willing to help.
The terrace is wonderful and the the lounges beautifully decorated.
The food was lovely. The children's meals were a real hit with our little one and the adult meals were great too! We had curry on one night and a 'steam-boat' the next. Great fun!
A nice relaxing end to our few days away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaletAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lakehouse, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Draft:

Dear ChaletAustria,

Thank you very much for staying at The Lakehouse during your recent trip to Cameron Highlands.

We are delighted to know that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and especially liked the lounge and terrace. It was tastefully built by the late Colonel Stanley Jack Foster himself, hence, no wonder our guests often fall in love with the hotel and its tranquility.

A hearty steamaboat dinner can hardly be resisted especially when it is served with fresh highlands ingredients coupled with cool weather and the beautiful view of the terrace, we are glad that you and family had a fun and lovely dining experience here.

Meanwhile, we also noted your comment with regards to our staff and services. Rest assured that your feedback have been highlighted to all department heads and staff for further improvements. However, we believe that there might be a miscommunication about the breakfast serving time as our usual breakfast time starts from 7.30am. Nevertheless, we will arrange more trainings to our staff to ensure even better services.

We thank you for supporting us ChaletAustria and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Best regards,
Karl Muir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
3.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Property: The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing