We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must visit this place!”

Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Brinchang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You must visit this place!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Smokehouse is an institution in CH and you must visit this place. If you decide to stay elsewhere then at least come for high tea - their homemade scones with cream and strawberry jam are amazing! I have stayed at thr smokehouse before and it is a bit dated but on this trip we stayed somewhere else but went by for tea and the scones were as good as I remembered and the charmning gardens are still beautiful. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Cathrine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    65
    34
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Came Here for Tea”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Must-visit if you're here. Super nice ambience for tea out in the patio / garden if it's not raining. Scones not the best but this place is too beautiful to miss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tanjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lived up to quaint English place”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

English breakfast was good, great Christmas decorations, clean.
Disliked that the english breakfast was RM50 each.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Opinions_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible English Breakfast set & Lazy service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We decided to go there for breakfast for the first time in early December (went few times before for afternoon tea) hoping to get a taste of actual English breakfast. We were greeted by one of the staff standing in front of the porch letting us in through the rope - knowing that we are actual diners/clients. Reach the outside dining area but no one attended to us and we found a nice corner to sit where we brought our newspapers together. But end up we had to change our table as it was rocking..and DO CHECK their chair seats....as we found most of the cushion paddings were covered with birds poo poo [--]... the waitress was not helpful as she kept telling us to just sit on the chairs with cushion paddings as it was dried, not fresh poo-poos. We were both wearing white pants and we certainly will not sit on dirty chairs. You would have done the same right? We settled the matter by choosing wooden chairs on our own and carrying it ourselves to the table. Lazy service and not helpful at all!
We ordered 2sets of their Full English Breakfast Set @ MYR42.00++ as there were only 2 choice of breakfast - Light English Breakfast @ MYR26.00++ (cereal / english porridge served with juice and toast+croissant / muffin and choice of tea / coffee). For the start, we were served with juices (orange & pineapple - not freshly squeezed), an English porridge and a cereal (one each of our choice and very small portion indeed), a piece of croissant (look alike but taste nothing like a real croissant), 2 slices of toasts (local Gardenia bread) and a muffin served with some butter, marmalde jam and strawberry jam. Then we were served with tea and coffee (one each of our choice) with some milk and white sugar ( were hoping for brown sugar which is healthier).The pastries/bread were just plain simple and the croissant/muffin tasted terrible with flour taste and nothing was homemade from the scratch at all. The size of the fruit juice seems a bit more suitable for kids as we tried our best not to finish it in 2-3 gulps. Then comes the main breakfast. It consists of 2 slices of bacon, very extremely OILY local chinese fresh mushrooms ( not even button mushrooms ) - whole plate were very oily, a piece of local sausage (after a bite, don't even feel like REAL MEAT in it) , eggs of our choice (omelette served on a slice of local white bread which was so soggy and a sunny side-up -) , a piece of hashbrown, baked beans and a half grilled tomato.
We didn't managed to finish our breakfast, not that we were full..lose our appetite. Left behind most of the oily mushrooms, soggy omelette and partial sausage and tomato and the croissant.
After the terrible meal, we decided to ask for the bill. We waited for 5-10mins for their waiter/waitress but no one seems to be around to service us. I walked into the internal side of the restaurant where i found a waiter with his head resting and hands lying on the table and another waitress busy chatting away on the phone. I was quite annoyed as i had to search for them to get my bill.
The breakfasts costs us around MYR96.00+ and we will not be going back for it anymore nor will recommend anyone to try. If breakfast were homemade and taste good and fresh and service is better, we won't mind paying for the 5-star price stated.
Hope the management will buck up on their service and deliver a better breakfast in future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Failing and fading”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had dinner at the Smokehouse in August 2012. Service was friendly but unprofessional. Food was terrible. Gritty mushrooms with lukewarm gloop that was supposed to be a cream sauce. Beef Wellington so tough a tiger would have struggled to chew it. Vegetables so al dente they may have been introduced to boiling water but only at a considerable distance. Roast potatoes supplied by McCain oven chips. All-in-all a rotten meal for a ridiculous price. You should avoid this place and either eat at the Cameron Highlands Resort or in Tanah Rata. It's a real shame. The Smokehouse used to have the best food in the Highlands but is now reduced to nothing more than an overpriced pastiche of post-colonial kitsch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dcoats62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to The Smokehouse Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing