We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mossy Forest

Mossy Forest
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Brinchang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sign up Adventure tour (half day) from C.S Travel & Tour.
Tour guide is very knowledgeable.
He shown us type of plants and surrounding information.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pikarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    226
    74
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sungai Petani, Kedah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better With A Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I only read about the place from foreign visitors to the highlands & my visit there was only accidental because the famed tea plantation was close on Monday. Driving up is not an issue, just use a reliable vehicle, the road is good, Trekking is recommendable only if you don have a lot of times to kill in Cameron Highlands. Get a guide if you're not familiar with the place but there's walkway built. We were fortunate enough when a guide with a small group of tourist offered to take us along as the walkway was under construction at that time.

Been there early in the morning is quite breath-taking. Clouds racing through the peaks, amazing view of the forest and no honking! No cars, no trucks, no hawkers hawking their fresh farm's goods.

Go up to the top of the mountain until reaches the satellite tower. It is off-limit to the public, but just besides it is a lookout tower. Take a climb and be amazed of the different side of Cameron Highland. Then go down-hill until you reach the Mossy Forest walkaway. Be careful when going off the walkway as the ground there actually made by billion-of-years-of dead mosses sediments. The ground can be a little bit shaky while the moss-covered trees are quite slippery.

It felt like being in one of those movie sets, probably suited more for the Lord of the Rings setting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dont miss it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Abode tea estates, there's a small countryside. If you stay in Kuala Lumpur kinda city-side, you need occasional breaks to places like Cameron Highlands. Once in Cameron Highlands, you can never miss the Mossy forest.

Being a tropical zone, you can visit here almost any time of the year. However, if you are one of those who loves solitude, choose "non-seasonal" times of the calendar.

Good for photography, amateurs and professionals alike, we had an expert photographer with us. Learnt several techniques of shooting photos in misty lighting. Irrespective of age group, everyone enjoyed a small trek of 4-5 km from the hilltop village and loved every muck we rolled in..

Just forget cleanliness..and enjoy natural dirt (not unhygienic).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vinaykz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Magic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the cloud forest as part of a day trip from Tanah Rata. Climbing steadily, we stopped near the summit of Mount Brinchang, and entered the forest. Slender trees which can barely be attached to the soil grow up through mossy banks; the ground is covered in moss, and is spongy to walk on, and tree trunks are similarly covered. Flora was unrecognisable to me, except several species of pitcher plants and a couple of orchids. In the late afternoon, the mist descends, and the view from the top of the nearby transmitter begins to disappear.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank saffronsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had a lovely drive up to Gunung Brincang. The mist and greenery welcome us for a wonderful experience. I know i will enjoy the tour from start to end....and I did.The look out tower at Gunung Brincang (next to TNB Tower) is narrow but manageable. Our guide was really good and funny. While explaining about the plants and flowers...he kept an eye on our group for their safety. Be prepared to get dirty. Those with children and elderly are suggested to go for the board walk while enjoying the misty climate and velvety green backdrop. I simply loved it. I tried both the hard trail and the board walk which was unique in both way.
At the end of the trail, the guide promised to show me a Cobra which he claim is in wild but harmless. There are few of us decided to skip that but the guide insist as this will be a wonderful experience.......hahaha to my surprise, yes it was a something new because he was talking about Cobra Lily which I see it for first time. And yes it does look like a Cobra.
Suggestion :
1) Make sure you are wearing proper covered shoes.
2) Cap (advisable from my experience)
3) Bottle of Water.
4) Long pants and long sleeved shirts (or with jacket).

There are no mosquitoes, so don't worry.

Enjoy your trail and if possible follow with a guide for better explanation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Syamala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossy Forest also viewed

 
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Mossy Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing