We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Cameron Secrets

Cameron Secrets
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Cameron Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We Create, Others Imitate. Inspired by nature, Cameron Secrets Travel and Tours Sdn Bhd in Cameron Highlands was established on the 6th of October 2005 as an eco-tour operator. We are proud to say that we are one of the leading travel agents in eco-tour / nature programs in the Cameron Highlands having vast experience in offering various kinds of tour packages both for those visiting Cameron Highlands and also for anyone who plans their trip to other destinations from Cameron Highlands.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

As some of the other guys here I came across Cameron Secrets whilst reading activity reviews for Cameron Highlands. Very professional on the email.
We did the full day experience as we had the whole day. The morning was more packed with the Tea plantation, trek in Mossy forest, Boh Tea factory and Butterfly garden. We were then left to go for lunch in Brinchang (great Chinese restaurant - you have to try the Steam Boat) whilst the driver dropped off people who were only doing the half day.
In the afternoon we went to the market, time tunnel museum (quite interesting), Buddhist temple and a strawberry farm.
I guess we absolutely loved the tea plantations and the mossy forest.
Make sure you bring some good trainers/shoes...you will appreciate those if it's been raining.
The driver/guide was very knowledgeable with great experience. He helped my boyfriend to buy some duran - the smelly fruit :))) If you want my advice don't try duran lol. All in all we had a great time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sandulacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    18
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Fantastic time - great guides - excellent company to deal with”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We did a half day tour with Cameron Secrets of the Cameron Highlands and found the two guides fantastic. this tour was good value for money, interesting, comfortable and entertaining. The jeeps were in good condition and very comfortable. We went to a tea-plantation which was stunning! Did the Mossy Forest walk - both guides appeared to know lots about the plants and the area and gave thier talks with lots of humour. We were also taken to the butterfly farm and this is the only thing that I can say wasn't 100% and that is on top of the tour price we had to pay an extra 5rm for the butterfly farm (this isn't a problem per-se, just that we weren't told at the time of the booking that this attraction was an extra cost) that said, the butterfly farm was interesting. Definately would recommend this company to tour the Cameron Highlands with - they were great!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Countryside tour was nothing special...do it on your own.”
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We were looking forward to the Countryside tour and as we waited at our hostel for our ride a taxi pulled up and I said jokingly 'there's our ride' before I found out the sad truth that it was!

The taxi driver/ tour guide was very serious and rigid telling us the route we would take as 4 of us squished into the car. After that beginning, the rest just seemed like a joke. Cameron Secrets and this guy made a sweet deal off us 4 since in effect we paid a taxi 25 ringit each to drive us around to his buddy's shops, two of which (butterfly and rose garden) we had to pay a 5 ringit entry fee. The taxi driver was nice, as well as very formal and rigid on the tour and timeline. Unfortunately the whole trip felt tainted by the transport.

If you want to cover the points of the countryside tour on your own, then hire a taxi to take you up to the tea plantation, then on your walk back you can stop at the other sites such as the butterfly or bee farm if you like.

Helpful?
8 Thank katwithpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid knowledge of nature and culture combined with solid professionalism”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were a family of 6 (me, my wife, our 14 month old son, brother, my parents) visiting the Cameron Highlands to escape the heat of Singapore and to get close to the nature. Tripadvisor as well as our helpful host (Anne) at Eight Mentigi Guesthouse pointed us to services of Cameron Secrets, and I am happy that we went with that choice. Cameron Highlands has lots of worthy experiences tucked away in the jungles and up the hills. An experienced driver and guide (such as Vasu that we met with) can make a huge difference.

Helpful?
2 Thank sbmsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cameron Secret Tours - Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 9, 2008

After we'd read the review of the 'Mossy Forest' on Trip Advisor, we sort out 'Cameron Secret', the tour operator at 'Father's Guest House' in Tanah Rata. We booked the full day experience. This included the mossy forest walk and visit to Boh Tea Plantation in the morning and a trip to an Orang Asli village in the afternoon. We had an absolutely fantastic day - mostly due to the wonderful guides who knew a great deal about the rainforest and answered all of our questions about the flora and fauna we saw, as well as having a grest deal of knowledge about the Orang Asli (one of them had lived with the tribe for a number of months). Would definately recommend this company for those wishing to experience a real slice of the Cameron Highlands!

Helpful?
9 Thank BearBear27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Secrets also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Cameron Secrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing