We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, very touristy in high season, wouldn't use NKS”

Taman Negara National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.50*
and up
Full-Day Taman Negara Tour from Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #12 of 149 things to do in Pahang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, very touristy in high season, wouldn't use NKS”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent three nights in Taman Negara, two in Kuala Tahan, one in a cave in the jungle.

Kuala Tahan: beautifully positioned on the other side of the river from the national park, but is full of tourists - no locals in any of the restaurants for example. Fine as a gateway to the park, but I didn't want to linger, which is a shame because the surroundings are stunning.

Getting there: got the NKS bus from Kuala Lumpur (you pay for the bus and boat together) which was fine, but overpriced. Can be done more cheaply independently, but worth taking the boat from near Jerantut one way (I took a local bus from Kuala Tahan to Jerantut on the way back - 7 RM)

Canopy walkway: costs 5RM, is fine and can be easily done yourself (though many companies include as part of an overnight package). Unlikely to see any animals from here and probably missable.

Jungle trekking: The jungle is incredible. I didn't have proper gear so decided to go only for one night in the jungle itself (I would spend several nights, but would have wanted to prepare properly for anything more - for one night though no special preparation needed). We spent a night in a cave in the jungle and did a night walk there, then had lunch the next day by a river and swam; would definitely recommend this, so long as you don't mind sleeping in a cave. Pick your day to go; we had 50 French school children doing the same trip with a different company and they were noisy and probably scared away any animals (don't expect to see many).

Tour company?: I went through a tour company, they provided food and gear (sleeping bags, mats etc). Their trip included canopy walkway, night in jungle, village visit (which I opted out of) etc. You can also organise independently and get a guide from the wildlife office - I'd definitely do this if properly prepared, but the tour company for a night was fine. Wouldn't use NKS - their local rep was rude and unhelpful and other operators in town can- after negotiation- offer a cheaper price.

Fees: 1RM to get into the park (flat fee however many days), 5RM for a camera. When you enter the park you need to declare numbers of plastic bags, clothes etc ostensibly to ensure you bring out what you take in. But the process doesn't work, is too heavy and they didn't check us on the way out anyway - best to confidently say what you have even if a bit inaccurate rather than spend fifteen minutes going through your stuff trying to make sure you get it exactly right.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Samuel_Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    89
    36
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A superb place to visit for people of all ages. Rapid shooting is great fun (and if you have groups/boats willing to "fight" and soak each other it's even more fun!) and the canopy walk well worth a go. Visiting the indigenous Orang Asil people was a great experience too. I was there with a group of kids and we all loved it. It is not overly touristy and this is a big bonus. I hope it remains this way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank FKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonderful Boulder Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Otherworld experience in the world's oldest rainforest”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Rain, rain and more rain... and oh yeah... a bunch of welcoming macaques between us and our cabin. The boys loved the isolation of the rain forest and the nice buffets at the Park. It would have nice to visit some of the more exotic locations in the park ... to camp out to see the forest elephants or visit the various caves. Yet, we consoled ourselves with many hikes, nighttime and otherwise. A visit to the cataracts not to be missed... but oh the leeches. The trip to get to and from the park was half the experience. Riding a small dugout canoe up the river to the vast set of steps up to the encampment. Truly a lifetime event.....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank JoeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great jungle experience!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Taman Negara is a not to be missed experience. The best way to get there is by boat from the jetty at Tembeling.The 2 1/2 hour journey to the park entrance at Kuala Tahan was blissful and the skill of the boatman navigating the shallow waters was most impressive. Along the waterfront are floating restaurants, many of which also offer guides and trips. There is a constant buzz of small boats ferrying visitors between the park and the village or along the river. There are numerous small tour companies to choose from. We used both Han Travel and Danz Travel and had a great experience with no problems.
The jungle itself is astonishing. We did a night walk with a guide (recommended). However we did the walk to Bukit Teresek without a guide. Paths were often boarded and were well way marked so easy to negotiate. The not to be missed experience is definitely the canopy walkway - stunning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Living in tropic jungle experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Malaysia is all year round humid. Most locals would prefer to stay indoor and visit malls rather than going out there and be close with nature (this include animals and insects). We were amused by how much our tour guide knows about all the "grass" and "leaves" that have medication and heath benefits; and why they leave certain annoying and gross insects on their own. It was a great experience learning about the nature, basics of live, mother earth. I would recommend insect repellent to avoid irritation of mosquito bites to interrupt you appreciate other stuff there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank white_myvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taman Negara National Park also viewed

 

Been to Taman Negara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing