We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3Cs-Comfortable, Clean & Cheap”
Review of Carlton Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Star Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Seremban
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“3Cs-Comfortable, Clean & Cheap”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The deluxe room with a view of a clean man-made clear water lake with many fishes. Clean sheets, spotless floor and spacious room. Had a good night sleep although the bed was a bit too soft. Located very conveniently to shopping area and eateries.. A haven for the weary traveller.. There's a good Indian Muslim Restaurant nearby next to Bata, al-Noor, they serve good roti & dosai.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
9
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a large room with air-con, tv etc and a reasonable view out of large windows. The room was well furnished with a wardrobe, desk, chair etc. The whole hotel has a nice, quality feel about it. (Better inside than out.)

The bathroom was excellent. HOT water and very clean / new everything.

Location is good, very close to bus terminal / shopping centre and you can walk to a few places around the town. There is not too much to see around the town really.

We stayed for 2 nights. Only negative was there was a power cut and they had no generator. So, we were plunged into darkness (the rest of the town was not) and then a large lorry generator came and parked outside our (front) window and was very noisy until about 3am. They did not bring candles, we had to go and buy them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minisuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice location. Walking distance to eatery. It is about 15 minutes away from Terminal I bus station. Simple basic hotel. Not 100% clean but liveable. Loads of free parking for hotel guest. However, you must watch out for windowless room...as some of the rooms are in the middle of the building and have no windows.

Room Tip: watch out for some of the windowless room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've been staying at Carlton Star every time we drop by Seremban. I mentioned in a previous review that it was good and cheap, and that I didn't hear any of those revving motorcycles/cars that other reviewers complained about.

This time I did, and it was quite difficult to fall asleep. None of us slept well. Plus, there was loud disco music playing from one of the rooms on both the nights we were there.

But apart from these, Carlton Star is in a very good location. When I was bored, I would just walk around to the surrounding malls/shops to pass time. And I still like the view of the 'lake' next to the hotel. If I were to skip staying in Carlton next year, I will miss the convenience.

Oh, and there is wi-fi, but only in the lobby. Plus an internet gaming centre right opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beatricelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seremban hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel is near to train station and inter-state bus terminal. Chose hotel for its central location and stayed for 2 nights. Reception staff was ''cold" during check-in. Room was spacious and clean but drawer was missing at the dresser table. Bath towels were badly stained (lucky we brought our own). Bed was noisy and sunk in; linen was old. Late night noises from motor cycles and very early 'morning calls' from the place of worship nearby. Despite all setbacks, consolations came from the housekeeping staff who truly made an effort to make-up the room after our 1st night.
Well, for the room rate charged, I truly can't asked for anything more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eroslkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have stayed here many times with my young daughter and I have to recommend this hotel. The staff are really nice and make our stay extra special. Like putting my daughters bears on the tv little things like this make the differences. The rooms are clean and with good shower/air con and the price is really good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick_W_12609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My bf and I decided to stay at seremban one night after our stay at port dickson Avillion water chalet so that we can take the bus back to sg the next day, and also to explore seremban.

All we needed was a shelter over our head for a night. I have read some review on Carlton star before we set off. It was indeed a great change for us since we were staying at Avillion water chalet the night before, but for the amount RM75 for a standard room, we were not expecting alot.

the room was decent, there are warm water, and windows overlooking the "pond". It was an ideal location as the bus terminal is just 5 min away. Right next to it, there is a dim sum place where we had our breakfast, which was not bad. The bed was okay and yup the sheets do look really old but i did not had any skin reactions after a night there.

the only bad thing was yup the motorbike noises, however we are both dead sleeper, so it was not a major problem. Even noises from the next room can be heard. There are no fridge in the room (not that we were expecting) and the towels provided looked like they had been used many times. (so bring your own towels or buy from outside) There are no kettle provided but they gave us 2 bottles of mineral water. The toilet was fair and had warm water, air con also working well. There were no safe, so we just carried our impt stuff with us when we go out. The tv provided the similar channels as we had at Avillion, just that they are not clear, but still can watch.

It is a bit better den the backpacker's room we stayed before, as we have our own toilet. I guess its about the expectations. We book the room with not much expectation for the amount we are paying so yup like previous review, if you want a decent shelter for a night, you can consider carlton star.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashinozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seremban hotels
1.1 mi away
Palm Seremban Hotel
Palm Seremban Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seremban
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
0.9 mi away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#12 of 14 in Seremban
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Seremban
Royale Chulan Seremban
#2 of 14 in Seremban
317 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sri Senawang Hotel
Sri Senawang Hotel
#5 of 14 in Seremban
6 reviews
3.5 mi away
AERO Star Hotel
AERO Star Hotel
#6 of 14 in Seremban
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Star Hotel

Property: Carlton Star Hotel
Address: 47 Jalan Dato, Seremban 70000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Seremban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing