We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouted at by the owner of Shorea”
Review of The Shorea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shorea
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shouted at by the owner of Shorea”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I’ve been to Shorea twice, first trip was fine.

We decided to return to Shorea for a hen’s night for our second trip and we had booked out the Villa Shorea. We told the owners that it was going to be a hen’s night in advance. My second trip back to Shorea was to say the least very disappointing. This is not because of the lack of service, facilities etc. but because the owner’s husband had yelled at us. It was downright rude and unacceptable to yell at your guest.

We were celebrating a hen’s night therefore, the noise level was what you would anticipate. We were told by the owner, Elaine to keep out noise level down. At 1.30am, the Elaine’s husband came out and had yelled at our group and in the midst of his shouting, he had said he hoped that we won’t ever come back. Shortly after, he came out again and yelled at the guest at villa Bougainvillea (also another large group) to keep the noise down. I think the problem was that the owners (and their kids) had also decided to stay that weekend and had placed their needs over the needs of their paying guest.

If the owners intend to only cater to people who sleep at 9 pm, they should not take bookings of large groups who are likely to stay up past 9 pm. Or if they intended for it to be a private home, do not rent it out to the public. For groups of friends who intend to stay up anytime past 10 pm, this is not the place. Needless to say, it has been an utterly disappointing trip because we had paid RM3,000 plus only to be yelled at by the rude owners. As the owner had requested, I will definitely NOT be returning there. For that amount, I would book out a presidential suite at a full service 5 star hotel and be treated with more courtesy.

The help staff there i.e., the kakak and the security night guard have been very kind and extreamly helpful so the rating of service of terrible is not a reference to the help staff but the owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Janicesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We put our guests' comfort and needs as top priority and this extends to those who follow our House Rules. We welcome guests who enjoy peace and tranquillity, and do not deprive others of the same.

We have informed this group before their booking that they have to respect and follow the Rules and lower their volume after 10pm. We further asked to re-consider booking with us as our Rules will be restrictive for their "hens party".

However, they insisted on booking and re-assured us that "No worries about the noise, it will not be a traditional hens party, no games or silly things, we are just planning to chill and eat."

On the first night, at 2am. all our guests complained that they were too noisy.

On the second night, at 1.30am, this group were in the pool area and shouted "My friend is getting married" and threw one of their friends into the pool. They had broken their promise and breached our House Rules. They also disturbed other guests who were deep asleep.

As part of our hospitality, we have exercised tolerance towards this group. On hind sight, we could have ask them to leave our property, so that our other guests can enjoy The Shorea's peace and tranquillity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a group of 7 and booked the Villa Shorea (the largest villa). We enjoyed ourselves during the 2 days we were there with the exception of the extremely rude treatment we received from the owners of the place.

FYI, the entire place is designed as an open concept (i.e. no solid walls, no ceilings etc.). Needless to say, noise travels easily and even regular conversations are amplified within the area.

The owners who decided to occupy the adjoining villa (Villa Halia – literally separated by 1 door only from our villa) were extremely intolerant of any noise whatsoever. We were repeatedly told to keep the noise level down (as early as 7 pm). There was also another family at the opposite villa on our first night, who objected to us having normal conversations (albeit at 3 am, but this would never have been a problem in a regular hotel with actual walls).

To top it off, on the second night, the owner emerged and screamed at us to go to sleep. We were not the only ones who were told-off by the owners that night, another large group at the opposite villa received the same treatment.

While the owners did subsequently apologize and gave us 1/3 refund (after many grudging emails and attempts at justification), this has definitely soured my experience at Shorea. For the premium we paid, this was definitely not the level of hospitality we expected nor did we expect to be confronted by owners who prioritized their own needs above their guests.

From the other reviews of this place, it appears that noise is a recurrent problem. The owners should decide what type of resort they want to run (e.g. don’t accept large groups, keep it families only) or improve the acoustics of the place. At present, it is neither fair to guests who want some peace and tranquility nor guests who go there wanting to have a good time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank StephaniePYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We travelled to The Shorea as a group of 13 pax - 11 adults & 2 children.

We booked both Villa Shorea + Villa Halia (inter-connecting).

We chartered a bus that picked us straight from Singapore to Seremban as we did not want to be restricted by the standard travel bus timings plus the hassle of taking cabs from the bus interchange. Glad we did so - Andie (+65 9727 2655) had the cheapest quote from the bus companies we RFQ and their standards were not compromised by the low price. He sent his driver who provided fantastic service and catered to our needs to swing by the supermarket or grab some fast food on the way. Never once did he rush us. We are happy to recommend them.

The Shorea is tucked away in a forest area but Elaine (the owner) provided clear directions upon room confirmation - which came in super handy. The bus however, could not go up the steep slope so we had to 'hike' a little to the place. No biggie!

We were greeted by the majestic architecture of the resort and the friendliest resort dogs. The resort welcomed us in its cool, relaxing Balinese style.
Villa Halia wasn't ready for check-in but Villa Shorea was big enough to accommodate all of us.
Checking in was hassle-free and we were able to tuck into lunch (which has been prepared in advance for us) fairly shortly after settling in. Elaine & her cooks were great in coordination.

Villa Shorea was well equipped with 2 bathrooms (one downstairs, one upstairs), a hi-fi system (no cable provided, bring your own cable or CDs), 2 hair dryers, refrigerator, well-equipped kitchen. If they didn't have what you want in the villa, you could always request from the friendly staff there. They don't operate rigidly by rules there & are always ready to serve.

We then went trekking after lunch - It wasn't the easiest trek but the waterfall at the end made everything worth it. We spent some time chilling at the waterfall and were thankful we brought salt along. Some of us had leech attacks and the salt came in handy.
The waterfall area is rocky, the trek isn't exactly the easiest, leeches lurking around so will not recommend the trek for young kids. We were also told that there is an Ostrich farm nearby that we could ride Ostriches (but i was against plonking our heavy bodies on the poor birds so), we did not go.
Trekking time: Est. 3 hours.

We had our BBQ late evening. We brought our own food & booze, bought on our way in at Giant Supermarket located about 20 mins away from the resort. Note that the BBQ pit was a little steep so food will take a little longer to cook. The kids were wailing in hunger so we requested for some eggs from the kitchen (which the aunties gladly gave) and made sausage omelettes for them =)

Wi-fi: You could receive some at the kitchen area.

The Shorea is a relaxing place, and us being hyper-active, struggled to keep our voices low after 10pm ;)

We were constantly drenched through out the trip due to the easy accessibility of the pool, someone was always pushing someone else into it - we had much fun =)

Elaine kept in touch all the while, even after the trip and was sweet enough to drop us messages to inform us that we've left things behind.

The cons: We were expecting more out of the price we paid for lunch, portion-wise.

Our 2D1N stay was a little too short and we were too rowdy (too big a group) to appreciate the peacefulness but will highly recommend for people looking for retreats to calm the soul.

Overall a very pleasant trip squeezed over a weekend!


Short video of our trip: http://vimeo.com/74647218

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peruvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Peruvia,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

It is indeed wonderful to meet you and your friends and thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort. We still have the lovely photo of your boys and Geoffrey taken at The Shorea. Thank you for the exciting video that you have uploaded to Youtube.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Shorea. My wife and I stayed at the Villa Bougainvilla for one night and had an awesome stay. Right from the time we checked in everyone made us feel at home. The resort itself is unique and the view is fantastic. The villa was well designed, the pool with its water from the mountains is a major highlight of the resort.

We were not able to use the wifi however I look at this as an advantage. In fact I think the resort shouldn't even provide wifi. ;) Life will still go on without the Internet for a day. The price tag on this resort, although well worth, only meant that I won't be able to come as often as I'd like to. But we will definitely be back soon.

A perfect one-night getaway from the city life. The peace, calm, and serenity you get from this place is enough to recharge your soul.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mathan,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great 24hrs out of the busy city of KL to a view that doesnt get boring. Small tranquil hideaway with the hills at your shoulders was very relaxing. Great attentive service from all the staff in preparing our bbq and any thing we needed. Will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeCabrera11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Jorge,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family of 4 headed to Shorea to get away from the hustle and bustle of KL, but unfortunately a part of the city came along in the form of 2 other large families. The peaceful times were between 11pm to 7am whereby we could finally hear the "forest". We figured that there is no point in informing Shorea cause it would be hard to control the noise level of such a large group. We further noted some day guests which we understood to be generally discouraged.

Apart from that we were relieved to have booked Kemboja and not Halia as it provided some privacy being the highest level of the resort but noise does travel upward :-)

The architecture and Kak Su and her team were the saving grace of our little gateway. They tried very hard to make our trip comfortable and enjoyable. We appreciated their little touches and warm hospitality.

However we decided to leave slightly earlier and return to KL since we never really left it behind :-).

It may be a good idea if future guests are reminded to keep the noise level down in consideration of other guests who are there for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If tranquility and privacy is what you are after, book Kemboja and over a non-public holiday period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Shou En,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our property and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectation.

We have added glass in Villa Shorea for better sound proofing.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence compliments to our staff is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback

Yours Sincerely,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed everything about this place : the view, the location, the architecture, the pool, the food and the people! Incredibly relaxing holiday with nothing to do but dip in the pool, take a walk in the jungle and eat their delicious malaysian food. The owners were very gracious and we definitely would love to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancinfuwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear dancinfuwl,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

It was wonderful meeting you and Hung and thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We had a great time too, bringing you to the ostrich farm. It was very brave of Hung to race on the ostrich.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
23.1 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,164 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
24.1 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#11 of 14 in Seremban
149 reviews
23.1 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 36 in Port Dickson
507 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royale Chulan Seremban
Royale Chulan Seremban
#2 of 14 in Seremban
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shorea

Property: The Shorea
Address: Jalan Kolam Air | Jalan Jelebu, Pantai Hills Orchard, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Seremban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shorea is a boutique resort, next to the Berumbun forest reserve.The Shorea is an architect's family retreat, built within a tropical forest reserve. Its secluded villas are set on natural terrains, with meandering paths leading down to a jungle stream, a waterfall within the Berembun Forest Reserve; it is the ultimate forest getaway.There are 4 villas with fantastic view of the forest. We are an hour from KLIA (Kuala Lumpur International Airport) and 20 mins from the Seremban town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing