We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a part of the city followed along!”
Review of The Shorea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shorea
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family of 4 headed to Shorea to get away from the hustle and bustle of KL, but unfortunately a part of the city came along in the form of 2 other large families. The peaceful times were between 11pm to 7am whereby we could finally hear the "forest". We figured that there is no point in informing Shorea cause it would be hard to control the noise level of such a large group. We further noted some day guests which we understood to be generally discouraged.

Apart from that we were relieved to have booked Kemboja and not Halia as it provided some privacy being the highest level of the resort but noise does travel upward :-)

The architecture and Kak Su and her team were the saving grace of our little gateway. They tried very hard to make our trip comfortable and enjoyable. We appreciated their little touches and warm hospitality.

However we decided to leave slightly earlier and return to KL since we never really left it behind :-).

It may be a good idea if future guests are reminded to keep the noise level down in consideration of other guests who are there for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If tranquility and privacy is what you are after, book Kemboja and over a non-public holiday period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Shou En,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our property and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectation.

We have added glass in Villa Shorea for better sound proofing.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence compliments to our staff is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback

Yours Sincerely,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed everything about this place : the view, the location, the architecture, the pool, the food and the people! Incredibly relaxing holiday with nothing to do but dip in the pool, take a walk in the jungle and eat their delicious malaysian food. The owners were very gracious and we definitely would love to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancinfuwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear dancinfuwl,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

It was wonderful meeting you and Hung and thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We had a great time too, bringing you to the ostrich farm. It was very brave of Hung to race on the ostrich.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My girl friends and I decided to stay at the Shorea for a night, and we were not disappointed.

The place is definitely beautiful, and we were very close to nature without compromising on comfort. The view of the lush forest is quite amazing too. Fresh water is pumped from the nearby river and channeled into the infinity pool, resulting in very refreshing swims, unlike those chlorine-laden pools that dry up your skin.

The kitchenettes stock spices, cooking oil, pots, pans and cutleries, and drinking water.

The owners and staff are also very friendly and accommodating. It was just a night's stay, but it was lovely to just not do anything and just relax there.

We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgnesLYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Agnes,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and 4 kids(10, 8, 6, 5) in Villa Bougainvillea. Definitely a back to nature getaway. The view of the forest is so peaceful. I love the fact that this place has no tv. It forced us to really bond as a family. Initially I thought the kids will not like this place but surprisingly they loved it. Elaine, the owner brought us down to the river and a walk around the estate. It was a first time for my kids and they enjoyed the experience. Too bad the current was too strong that morning. The kid's could not take a dip in the river.

Villa Bouganvillae was a good size for my family. The 2 young ones share a pullout bed while the 2 older kids slept on the daybed and another pullout bed. We had a BBQ on the 2nd night which was scrumptious and finger licking good.

Service was good. They staff were all warm and friendly. I had a good 'homey' feel when we checked in.

Do remember to buy your groceries though especially if you are coming with kids. You can cook up something in the lovely outdoor kitchen too. Its well equipped with a stove, an electric kettle and a small rice cooker. There's also a fridge, cooking utensils, cutlery and some basic condiments.

Overall it is a nice place and I will definitely consider a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naz_zpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Naziha,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

It was wonderful meeting you and your 4 children and thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I get to know this place by searching on internet, and read a lot of good reviews on this resort. First we think to go the other vacation resort which is also in Berembun forest, which is The Dusun, but my boyfriend finally decided to go The Shorea as the nice photos really attracted us. We went there with high expectation, hoping we could have a nice and memorable holiday. Anyway, we were abit disappointed when we first step in the resort, as the room is not well prepared and seems there was some miscommunication among the owner and the staffs. Anyway, we just accepted the room they arranged for us, but I was quite disappointed that the place is not enough privacy, the other family staying there is very noisy... We think that the rate of the room is too high, which not provide the equivalent service. I think the resort should prioritize the customer service first, and not always count on money. Anyway, besides some bad feeling, we actually enjoy our short "minimoon" there, and the architecture of the resort really amazed us!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BBSH1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

1) We gave this couple a Free Upgrade from Villa Halia, which is interconnecting with another villa to Villa Bougainvillea. The reason for this free-upgrade was that we Anticipated noise from a large group that was checking in that day to the said interconnecting villa.

2) Villa Bougainvillea which they stayed, stands independently. It has a layer of Full-height Timber Screen for Privacy purpose (which is shown in the reviewer's photo). The villa is also fitted with Glass Panel and Night-Curtain to further reduce noise and to ensure privacy of the occupants. We have anticipated the noise from the large group and provided a free upgrade for this couple for their privacy. Hence we disagree with the reviewer that we did not prioritize service to our guests

3) Moreover, to safeguard the privacy and peacefulness of the resort, we also provided a Guests-24hrs Help-line in our Welcome-Pack for our Guests to call us in case of disturbance from other Guests. Unfortunately we did not receive any such call. Otherwise we would have asked the other Guests to tone down their noise and maintain the quietness of the resort.

4) In regards with food, we customized a Vegetarian soup and a Vegetarian BBQ based on their request. However, they changed their mind upon checking in and cancelled the Vegetarian BBQ. Even though we have prepared the food, we have kindly waived the entire charge of the Vegetarian BBQ.

5) It's part of our customer relation practice that we send out a feedback message to all our Guests. We received positive remarks from this couple.

6) We accept the review on the oversight of 'Ikan Bilis' in the vegetarian breakfast served. This is due to our staff took initiative to the replace chicken wings with 'Ikan Bilis' (anchovy) and other fish to the Nasi Lemak breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies.

7) We are glad that they eventually enjoyed their short vacation with us despite the above and that they were amazed by the resort architecture.

We hope they will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The villa was very nice and beautiful, this is a perfect place to relax your mind where you can enjoy the nature without any noises. The villa design itself was very fantastic, the infinity pool at the center of The Shorea have a spectacular view.

The staff was helpful and available to provide any assistance that you need. What i love the most about the Shorea is the bbq is fully equipped along with the breathtaking paranomic view that cant never be forgotten. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank syamsulizhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Syamsulizhan,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My friends and I stayed for a night and it has been nothing short of spectacular. The set-up and design of the place is amazing, backdrop for the infinity pool is breathtaking and the staffs are kind and helpful! What you'll get is a perfect relaxed stay away from the city.

However, be prepared to drive off-road to reach the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam19602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Sam19602,

Warm greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
0.0 mi away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
23.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,240 reviews
7.6 mi away
Carlton Star Hotel
Carlton Star Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seremban
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sri Senawang Hotel
Sri Senawang Hotel
#5 of 14 in Seremban
6 reviews
24.1 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,485 reviews
7.0 mi away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#11 of 14 in Seremban
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shorea

Address: Jalan Kolam Air | Jalan Jelebu, Pantai Hills Orchard, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Seremban
Price Range: $660 - $944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shorea is a boutique resort, next to the Berumbun forest reserve.The Shorea is an architect's family retreat, built within a tropical forest reserve. Its secluded villas are set on natural terrains, with meandering paths leading down to a jungle stream, a waterfall within the Berembun Forest Reserve; it is the ultimate forest getaway.There are 4 villas with fantastic view of the forest. We are an hour from KLIA (Kuala Lumpur International Airport) and 20 mins from the Seremban town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing