We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dusun
Nearby Hotels
$6
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Seremban Inn(Seremban)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AERO Star Hotel(Seremban)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Lotus(Seremban)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
104
73
19
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
73
19
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle treknasi lemakself cateringbbq pitmosquito coilsopen airclose to naturemaster bedroomnearby waterfallwater dispensersteep slopeunique experienceliving areabring your ownjungle settingtranquil retreatrainy season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 203 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Two fantastic nights at the Dusun really weren't enough, at the end of a week's demanding work in KL. But our short stay went a long way to calming me down and planting the thought that I must get back there on my next trip to Malaysia. The Dusun is a wonderful haven of nature and tranquility - but only an hour by taxi from KL's International Airport. My daughter and I relaxed by the infinity pools, cooked our marinated chicken and squid (prepared by the Dusun staff) on the huge wok charcoal barbecue (lit by the Dusun staff ) and listened at night to the sound of the jungle (no management intervention required as the night creatures turn up unaided).
We went on a trek through the jungle, arriving after an hour at a lunch spot with what felt like our own private waterfall and natural swimming pool. I found the hike along jungle paths to be strenuous. Fitter types than me would probably not have broken sweat.
The Dusun is comfortable, but if you're looking for the luxury of a KL five star, it won't be for you. It is authentically close to nature. Our one room bungalow was cooled by a ceiling fan, not A/C. We cooked our BBQ on the porch outside the bungalow, and that meant we got to meet large flying bugs at close quarters. We saw a snake. The Dusun is surrounded by trees and hills and greenery, not by many other buildings. That means it's a bit remote and had we been there longer we would probably have need a car. But for what we wanted it was perfect. And our host Cee was charming and helpful. This place was a great find.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank eurobloke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hi Bill,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. It's always helpful for guests to know what to expect when they are here, so your detailed review is very helpful indeed. It was a delight to meet you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Dusun is just a super place to enjoy nature, have great food, comfort and privacy.

The amenities of an equipped kitchen was great for those who want to make their stay as comfy as possible. The food provided (breakfast especially) was really tasty and the pool facing the forest reserve was just too good. We had a great time barbecuing, and during the day, there was a nearby pond/lake to do some recreational fishing. The folks/staff were super accommodating to every request, essentially tailoring your stay to whatever you want it to be. The decor was traditional while comfortable and it complements the surroundings beautifully.

The only regret was that we stayed for only 2 nights. The location and the view really gives you a chance to read, relax and reflect. I'd be there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ezra Zaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hi Ezra and Esmee,

It was lovely to have you and see you enjoy the dusun and each other's company. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you soon, on or off the dusun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a delightful stay, including treks in the rain forest, once under torrential rain, relaxing in the pools, introduction to bird watching and nightly BBQ on our private terrace. The owners and the staff were totally attentive to our every demand, which with our three children, were often unusual. A real touch of paradise.

Theodore, Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theodore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hi Theodore,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review despite your busy schedule. We enjoyed having you, your beautiful wife and children with us. Thank you for your kindness towards us and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely restored house with grt views bordering a forest reserve. Very comfortable and wonderful quiet escape. Meals were delicious and staff and mgmt. friendly and helpful. Loved the pools. Hiked to the waterfalls and loved being in the bush and away from crowds. Bring coffee and whatever liquor you want to drink and they do not accept credit cards. They can arrange for massages. Well worth visiting and spending time at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katievalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hi Katie,

We're thrilled that you enjoyed the Dusun, especially since you come from such a beautiful place. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We came to The Dusun for one night, and could have stayed forever. Only an hour away from KL, it felt like the highways and malls were a million miles away from our balcony nestled in the middle of the beautiful rolling orchards and jungle. The calm is unlike anything you'll find elsewhere - there's not the dead silence of an air-conditioned, double-glazed city hotel, but rather the constant hum of nature. The last hotel in KL I stayed in had an 'ambient' TV channel to try to fake this for over-stressed businessmen. Here, it's the real deal.

The Dusun is beautifully and thoughtfully landscaped, with hidden benches positioned perfectly to watch the sunset over the valley in the midst of winding, fruit tree-lined paths, and the two infinity pools also have totally killer views.

Our house was the ultimate getaway with just the right balance of luxury and simplicity. Waking up in a super comfortable bed to an unobstructed orchard view, only to have breakfast bought to the room a few minutes later was utter heaven. But also being able to fend for ourselves, cooking our own barbecue supper on our deck, made the stay so memorable.

So much work and careful thought has clearly gone into making The Dusun somewhere truly unforgettable. It's no Hilton, and it's all the better for it - concierge service can wait when there's rolling misty mountains, waterfalls and candlelit balconies instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hi Isabel,

It's heart-warming to know that you noticed all the small details that enhance the enjoyment of this place, the scenery and beautiful things that nature offers us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews