We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haanim & Helen "Angels"”
Review of The Dusun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seremban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dusun
Ranked #1 of 24 Seremban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haanim & Helen "Angels"”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Whilst staying at "Dusun" my wife suffered a fall and broke her ankle badly in 3 places. Haanim & Helen not only supplied a car and drove us to and from The Columbia Asia Hospital in Seremban and stayed with us throughout,but Helen cooked us a meal on our return to "Dusun",offered us a free night's accomodation extra if we so desired and also to rearrange our flight home. We had tickets for the train to Singapore next day so did that and returned to U.K from Singapore. To say that they acted "above & beyond the call of duty" doesn't explain the gratitude we owe them for their kindness. We can only agree with all the excellent prevous reviews,"Dusun" is second to none. "Dusun"/Haanim & Helen will remain in our thoughts for a very very long time and all being well we'd love to return sometime with friends. I suppose "Dusun" will no longer be a well kept secret,so we thoroughly recommend it to anyone who would like to experience a "one off" truly unique experience.
Wendy & Terry.

Room Tip: They're all superb and now there are two "Infinity" pools one is spoilt for choice !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Terry and Wendy,

We hope you're both well and Wendy is back on her feet. Thank you for writing this review even though you were busy cooking up a storm for Wendy once you got home. Take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    71
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
75
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

During my 2 week trip to South East Asia last year our 2 nights at the Dusun were definitely unique and memorable!

Upon arrival we were greeted to a mountain of BBQ food laid out for us to cook which was delicious! Also due to the heavy rain the owners upgraded us from Tembusu house to a much larger complex so we could still BBQ under a covered balcony, a very nice touch from he owners.

The owners were great throughout and we got a lift into Seremban out first morning to check out the wet market and some beef noodles from the food stalls upstairs (looked shady but we followed recommendation and it was very tasty!)

Food was great throughout and facilities were good to cook own food! We never got the chance to sample the pool as the weather wasn't the best but I would highly recommend going on the jungle trek although rumours and warnings of leeches I read beforehand were very true and unfortunately only found one in my private area after it had had a old feast, a lot of blood but relatively harmless. I would also recommend lots of insect/bite repellent, even though I used plenty and slept under a net I got a lot of nasty bites, also we found a small snake on our balcony on the first morning which was really cool!

Overall a much loved stay, great house, great food, great views and great and friendly owners, would recommend this to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGorman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

i dont know where to start. okay i would certainly recommend a four wheel drive car when going to the dusun, the roads as you reach dusun gets steep but worth it when you are up there.
we stayed in the emas house. got there in the evening and yes this place is an hour drive from Kuala Lumpur.

i've lived in Malaysia my whole life but who knew there would be such a place so serene like this. so peaceful, nature, houses crafted like kampung style ! i just loved everything about the dusun actually. in the evening, someone will come and lit the BBQ fire up ( i highly recommend bringing your own food to cook only because utilities are provided and its more fun when you cook right? )

during the day, people will come in to clean the place for you :) stayed here only a night with friends but i wished i could wake up to this view every single day. i highly recommend this to people who just want to GET OUT from their everyday routine and just have a relaxing retreat not that far from the city. the smallest house (berembun is perfectly located next to the swimming pool and the centre patio. i liked how the houses were crafted. i highly recommend this.

at night, don't be afraid of all the weird sounds you hear ( hello you're in the jungle just enjoy what nature has to offer!!!) :)

this place is secured as they lock the gates at night.

oh and for breakfast they serve food for you.. but you can still cook if you want of course :) && we were lucky to get a later checkout as in guess no one was staying in that house after us. it was perfect , my friends and i left after cooking lunch & it was certainly a trip i will never forget! i hope one i day i will be able to try all the other houses too and maybe stay a bit longer if time permits!!

Room Tip: berembun house if its just two people but the rest of the house will be suitable for more than 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was certainly a weekend to remember. My wife and I had a very good rest. We chose to stay in the smallest residence and it was very cosy and well set up. The views from our bedroom were lovely as we were surrounded by jungle.

The food supplied to us for our BBQ was very tasty Malaysian style and the satays especially were delicious.

We did not have a TV and this was great as I was able to read at leisure, in between taking a dive in the adjacent swimming pool.

My only regret is that I have been in Malaysia for 2 years and have just realised this lovely placed existed just a short distance away from Putrajaya.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose the smallest accommodation. If you want to eat other local food, go back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Trevor and Shanti,

It was great to meet you and see you enjoy Berembun House together. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We came here for a weekend with our son, daughter-in-law, her brother and two small children. We had one of the houses for five adults which had a loft room upstairs with a double bed and a single, and downstairs there was a double room with sliding door panels, and a sofa bed, so there were possibilities for a variety of sleeping arrangements. The stairs up to the loft area are fairly steep and narrow so not suitable for very young children (we had a toddler with us).

We arrived very late on a Friday night, but all was ready for us so we packed the children off to bed and settled down to listen to the sounds of nature all around us.

We woke up to a wonderful view of the surrounding forest through our loft room window, and from the open air and open plan living room and balcony on the ground floor. There is a modern shower room with lavatory and wash basin on the ground floor.

The Dusun is self-catering accommodation with a small kitchenette. There is a good-sized fridge and spices are provided in the kitchen area. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is served on the patio from a covered but open air kitchen. We had freshly made pancakes, fruit and fruit juices, tea and coffee.

There are now two swimming pools, the original, small one nestling into the hillside adjacent to the patio. There is a brand new pool, with a paddling section for small children, lower down the hillside by one of the more recently built cottages.

Three of our party went off on a jungle walk with a guide organised by the hotel. It was a 2 and a half hour to 3 hour walk, not too difficult for fit and active adults, but not suitable for small children. One hour into the walk there was a series of waterfalls and a natural river pool for swimming, with a sandy bottom. The water was not cold and was very refreshing. The rest of us spent our time enjoying the scenery from our balcony.

The staff were very helpful when asked for advice or replacement supplies. It is advisable to use the mosquito coils and pastilles.

We had an excellent barbecue with charcoal etc supplied on the Saturday night.

It was a very relaxing break and gave two of us our first opportunity to see rural Malaysia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

thankyou for the most amazing experience in Malaysia
we loved the Dusun and could have stayed longer even though we had already extended our trip by one night after we arrived as we loved it so much ,stunning location ,amazing accommodation,wonderful people and staff,so so helpful ,outstanding food and great jungle trip to a waterfall.A magical experience for us all as a family thankyou

Room Tip: The Sora was just out of this world ..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagel-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in dusun last weekend. The place is a jewel tucked in the foothills in the middle of a jungle; how the owners discovered it and came up with the idea is beyond me, but I'm so glad they're sharing it with others!

We got there after a tiring drive around rural Negeri Sembilan having attended a wedding, and the last bit, when we had to drive up a steep slope along a gravel path with crumbling sides and sharp bends, made us wonder if we had made a mistake choosing Dusun. Even more doubts hit us as we came face to face with another car barrelling down the slope and we had to reverse carefully to get to a place wide enough for it to pass. The driver must have seen the terror on our city slicker faces, because he honked for us to stop while he revved up and shot by us and down the hill!

But when we got there, all doubts and fears disappeared, it was like arriving in paradise. The view was amazing and the air was clear, the houses looked private and spaced out. We were led to our 'house', Perling, which is one of the 2 new houses. Be warned, Perling is at a lower level, and after walking along a grassy path from the main patio, there are many steep, uneven stairs to go down, so it's not a suitable place for the elderly or unfit (going down may be okay, but coming up is good exercise!)

The house is perfect - a big room with a nice comfy double bed with mosquito netting from a canopy, a spacious bathroom with all the mod cons, and a little outdoor kitchen equipped with everything you'd need to cook a meal.

And the view from the balcony - of mountains and valleys and tropical forest. You wake up to that, as the bed faces glass sliding doors with no curtains - not a place for those who want a dark closed room to sleep late in!

Dusun has 2 pools, one at the patio area which is surrounded by a wooden deck and lots of greenery and the other on the way to Perling which is new. The water in this is a light clear green, and it's not so shady yet. The whole Perling house area is a work in progress. As we moved our stuff in, there were people working on a new road up to it and the retaining wall, supervised by the owners. Because of this, there are still some bare, 'raw' areas around this side of Dusun, but once it's done, I'm sure it'll look as lush as the rest of the place.

Both pools are infinity pools, looking out into the mountains and jungles - what else could you want? Oh yes, the water in the pools is not your sterile chlorinated swimming pool stuff, it's from the mountains, clear and cold! (as is the shower water)

Breakfast is provided at the patio, and lunch and dinner can be ordered. You can also cook your own food in the kitchen, (and feel like one of those "outdoor chefs" you see on TV!) but make sure you bring all the stuff you need to cook, as going up and down into town is not something I'd recommend! The kitchen is well equipped with utensils and some basic spices, oil etc, but you need to bring the actual food to cook.

We ordered dinner and asked for it to be sent to the room, There had been a mix up and the cook had to stay extra late to get our dinner ready, but it was delicious. Half a roast chicken, a loaf of crusty french bread and a big bowl of salad - more than enough for 2 adults and one 8 year old.

There are loads of bugs outside - moths of many colors and various other unidentifiable insects- which is what you would expect in a nature resort - so not the place for anyone not comfortable with creatures! Surprisingly, there were not many mosquitoes, so it was pleasant to sit in the balcony after dinner and look out into the unaccustomed total darkness facing us, enjoying the very cool temperatures.

The owners have provided many special little touches - for example, there are tea lights and holders for them, with matches, so you can light them when it gets dark. There are torchlights provided, should you want to walk around at night.

Breakfast is served on the patio. We had fried meehoon wrapped in banana leaf with delicious chicken rendang and fried eggs, freshly brewed coffee and home made watermelon juice - scrumptious. Perhaps they should have also had some bread available for those who'd prefer that - they may have, I didn't ask.

My husband was a bit worried about security, as the house has no locks, and there is a road leading to a village just below Perling, along which we heard the occasional motorbike and car travelling. Theoretically, anyone could have entered if they wanted to. But I guess these fears are because we're paranoid city folk!


There is no TV or internet access, so for those who can't live without them, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a place to just relax and "lift thine eyes up into the hills", this is it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickykksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
23.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,185 reviews
24.1 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,432 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 37 in Port Dickson
512 reviews
7.5 mi away
Carlton Star Hotel
Carlton Star Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seremban
32 reviews
7.0 mi away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#12 of 14 in Seremban
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jalan Kolam Air, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Seremban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun is a small resort on a fruit orchard with views of the Berembun rainforest reserve. Set on a small hill, the Dusun rents out houses that are set apart from each other not only to offer peace and privacy, but also to catch the winds with traditional architecture and enjoy lovely views. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen for those who love to cook and a barbecue on an open deck for lingering dinners. Breakfast is provided while lunch and dinner can be catered if you prefer not to cook.We are just an hour south of Kuala Lumpur. KLIA or Kuala Lumpur International airport is in between us and Kuala Lumpur city so we're the perfect nature escape for those in transit who would prefer to give the city a miss. The Dusun honors sustainable practices in farming and building, which has created a beautiful and healthy environment. As the family enjoys a good relationship with the local community, the business only hires from the nearby kampungs and shops from small entrepreneurs or other interesting responsible businesses as much as possible. All activities that guests enjoy here were created to raise awareness of Malaysia’s beautiful natural heritage and support local traditions, communities and NGOs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dusun Hotel Seremban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing