We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serene retreat away from the city!”
Review of The Dusun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seremban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dusun
Ranked #1 of 24 Seremban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

i dont know where to start. okay i would certainly recommend a four wheel drive car when going to the dusun, the roads as you reach dusun gets steep but worth it when you are up there.
we stayed in the emas house. got there in the evening and yes this place is an hour drive from Kuala Lumpur.

i've lived in Malaysia my whole life but who knew there would be such a place so serene like this. so peaceful, nature, houses crafted like kampung style ! i just loved everything about the dusun actually. in the evening, someone will come and lit the BBQ fire up ( i highly recommend bringing your own food to cook only because utilities are provided and its more fun when you cook right? )

during the day, people will come in to clean the place for you :) stayed here only a night with friends but i wished i could wake up to this view every single day. i highly recommend this to people who just want to GET OUT from their everyday routine and just have a relaxing retreat not that far from the city. the smallest house (berembun is perfectly located next to the swimming pool and the centre patio. i liked how the houses were crafted. i highly recommend this.

at night, don't be afraid of all the weird sounds you hear ( hello you're in the jungle just enjoy what nature has to offer!!!) :)

this place is secured as they lock the gates at night.

oh and for breakfast they serve food for you.. but you can still cook if you want of course :) && we were lucky to get a later checkout as in guess no one was staying in that house after us. it was perfect , my friends and i left after cooking lunch & it was certainly a trip i will never forget! i hope one i day i will be able to try all the other houses too and maybe stay a bit longer if time permits!!

Room Tip: berembun house if its just two people but the rest of the house will be suitable for more than 2!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for The Dusun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was certainly a weekend to remember. My wife and I had a very good rest. We chose to stay in the smallest residence and it was very cosy and well set up. The views from our bedroom were lovely as we were surrounded by jungle.

The food supplied to us for our BBQ was very tasty Malaysian style and the satays especially were delicious.

We did not have a TV and this was great as I was able to read at leisure, in between taking a dive in the adjacent swimming pool.

My only regret is that I have been in Malaysia for 2 years and have just realised this lovely placed existed just a short distance away from Putrajaya.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose the smallest accommodation. If you want to eat other local food, go back...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Trevor and Shanti,

It was great to meet you and see you enjoy Berembun House together. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We came here for a weekend with our son, daughter-in-law, her brother and two small children. We had one of the houses for five adults which had a loft room upstairs with a double bed and a single, and downstairs there was a double room with sliding door panels, and a sofa bed, so there were possibilities for a variety of sleeping arrangements. The stairs up to the loft area are fairly steep and narrow so not suitable for very young children (we had a toddler with us).

We arrived very late on a Friday night, but all was ready for us so we packed the children off to bed and settled down to listen to the sounds of nature all around us.

We woke up to a wonderful view of the surrounding forest through our loft room window, and from the open air and open plan living room and balcony on the ground floor. There is a modern shower room with lavatory and wash basin on the ground floor.

The Dusun is self-catering accommodation with a small kitchenette. There is a good-sized fridge and spices are provided in the kitchen area. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is served on the patio from a covered but open air kitchen. We had freshly made pancakes, fruit and fruit juices, tea and coffee.

There are now two swimming pools, the original, small one nestling into the hillside adjacent to the patio. There is a brand new pool, with a paddling section for small children, lower down the hillside by one of the more recently built cottages.

Three of our party went off on a jungle walk with a guide organised by the hotel. It was a 2 and a half hour to 3 hour walk, not too difficult for fit and active adults, but not suitable for small children. One hour into the walk there was a series of waterfalls and a natural river pool for swimming, with a sandy bottom. The water was not cold and was very refreshing. The rest of us spent our time enjoying the scenery from our balcony.

The staff were very helpful when asked for advice or replacement supplies. It is advisable to use the mosquito coils and pastilles.

We had an excellent barbecue with charcoal etc supplied on the Saturday night.

It was a very relaxing break and gave two of us our first opportunity to see rural Malaysia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

thankyou for the most amazing experience in Malaysia
we loved the Dusun and could have stayed longer even though we had already extended our trip by one night after we arrived as we loved it so much ,stunning location ,amazing accommodation,wonderful people and staff,so so helpful ,outstanding food and great jungle trip to a waterfall.A magical experience for us all as a family thankyou

Room Tip: The Sora was just out of this world ..........
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in dusun last weekend. The place is a jewel tucked in the foothills in the middle of a jungle; how the owners discovered it and came up with the idea is beyond me, but I'm so glad they're sharing it with others!

We got there after a tiring drive around rural Negeri Sembilan having attended a wedding, and the last bit, when we had to drive up a steep slope along a gravel path with crumbling sides and sharp bends, made us wonder if we had made a mistake choosing Dusun. Even more doubts hit us as we came face to face with another car barrelling down the slope and we had to reverse carefully to get to a place wide enough for it to pass. The driver must have seen the terror on our city slicker faces, because he honked for us to stop while he revved up and shot by us and down the hill!

But when we got there, all doubts and fears disappeared, it was like arriving in paradise. The view was amazing and the air was clear, the houses looked private and spaced out. We were led to our 'house', Perling, which is one of the 2 new houses. Be warned, Perling is at a lower level, and after walking along a grassy path from the main patio, there are many steep, uneven stairs to go down, so it's not a suitable place for the elderly or unfit (going down may be okay, but coming up is good exercise!)

The house is perfect - a big room with a nice comfy double bed with mosquito netting from a canopy, a spacious bathroom with all the mod cons, and a little outdoor kitchen equipped with everything you'd need to cook a meal.

And the view from the balcony - of mountains and valleys and tropical forest. You wake up to that, as the bed faces glass sliding doors with no curtains - not a place for those who want a dark closed room to sleep late in!

Dusun has 2 pools, one at the patio area which is surrounded by a wooden deck and lots of greenery and the other on the way to Perling which is new. The water in this is a light clear green, and it's not so shady yet. The whole Perling house area is a work in progress. As we moved our stuff in, there were people working on a new road up to it and the retaining wall, supervised by the owners. Because of this, there are still some bare, 'raw' areas around this side of Dusun, but once it's done, I'm sure it'll look as lush as the rest of the place.

Both pools are infinity pools, looking out into the mountains and jungles - what else could you want? Oh yes, the water in the pools is not your sterile chlorinated swimming pool stuff, it's from the mountains, clear and cold! (as is the shower water)

Breakfast is provided at the patio, and lunch and dinner can be ordered. You can also cook your own food in the kitchen, (and feel like one of those "outdoor chefs" you see on TV!) but make sure you bring all the stuff you need to cook, as going up and down into town is not something I'd recommend! The kitchen is well equipped with utensils and some basic spices, oil etc, but you need to bring the actual food to cook.

We ordered dinner and asked for it to be sent to the room, There had been a mix up and the cook had to stay extra late to get our dinner ready, but it was delicious. Half a roast chicken, a loaf of crusty french bread and a big bowl of salad - more than enough for 2 adults and one 8 year old.

There are loads of bugs outside - moths of many colors and various other unidentifiable insects- which is what you would expect in a nature resort - so not the place for anyone not comfortable with creatures! Surprisingly, there were not many mosquitoes, so it was pleasant to sit in the balcony after dinner and look out into the unaccustomed total darkness facing us, enjoying the very cool temperatures.

The owners have provided many special little touches - for example, there are tea lights and holders for them, with matches, so you can light them when it gets dark. There are torchlights provided, should you want to walk around at night.

Breakfast is served on the patio. We had fried meehoon wrapped in banana leaf with delicious chicken rendang and fried eggs, freshly brewed coffee and home made watermelon juice - scrumptious. Perhaps they should have also had some bread available for those who'd prefer that - they may have, I didn't ask.

My husband was a bit worried about security, as the house has no locks, and there is a road leading to a village just below Perling, along which we heard the occasional motorbike and car travelling. Theoretically, anyone could have entered if they wanted to. But I guess these fears are because we're paranoid city folk!


There is no TV or internet access, so for those who can't live without them, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a place to just relax and "lift thine eyes up into the hills", this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickykksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent nature hideout. Only tip for you is don't stay over on a Sunday as the staff are off and so you have to light up your own BBQ fire and wash up after cooking. Staff could be more friendly. Perfect for dogs.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Divasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Owner at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

As stated in our booking letter, the Dusun is a self-catering accommodation. Staff clean houses twice a day, including dishes, and go home at 7 pm, 6 days a week. On Sundays, most guests are happy to light their own BBQ so that staff can go home at 3pm to have some family time (we provide charcoal and starters). Our cook did light the BBQ for this guest after she was rude to me about it. The reason the staff were not too warm with this guest is because her dogs were repeatedly in the Patio kitchen, although I had explained to her that this kitchen is halal and the dogs made the staff very uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a lovely time at the Dusun for 3 nights in December. We received a friendly welcome from Helen after a long flight from Japan, and enjoyed the fantastic beef satay that we cooked over the BBQ on our verandah. The next day we went down to Serembam to the wet market to walk around and have lunch, then took a taxi back. We also took the bird walk one day and the jungle hike to the waterfall on another -- it's true there are leeches on the path, but that lends to the adventure and it's not a problem if you're covered up. A splash in the waterfall pool at the end is idyllic and refreshing.

The infinity pool is especially lovely after trekking around, and the patio a nice place to eat and talk out (bug spray necessary).

All the staff and family were gracious and helpful, and the food is fantastic. You can bring your own food or buy it at the market, but we choose to have them prepare our evening meals -- some really delicious dishes, and reasonably priced.

Would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emas house, which is up in the trees with a lovely view and open to the cooling bre...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
23.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,204 reviews
24.1 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,453 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Carlton Star Hotel
Carlton Star Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seremban
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
24.6 mi away
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
Bayu Beach Resort Port Dickson
#11 of 37 in Port Dickson
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Address: Jalan Kolam Air, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Seremban
Price Range: $100 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun is a small resort on a fruit orchard with views of the Berembun rainforest reserve. Set on a small hill, the Dusun rents out houses that are set apart from each other not only to offer peace and privacy, but also to catch the winds with traditional architecture and enjoy lovely views. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen for those who love to cook and a barbecue on an open deck for lingering dinners. Breakfast is provided while lunch and dinner can be catered if you prefer not to cook.We are just an hour south of Kuala Lumpur. KLIA or Kuala Lumpur International airport is in between us and Kuala Lumpur city so we're the perfect nature escape for those in transit who would prefer to give the city a miss. The Dusun honors sustainable practices in farming and building, which has created a beautiful and healthy environment. As the family enjoys a good relationship with the local community, the business only hires from the nearby kampungs and shops from small entrepreneurs or other interesting responsible businesses as much as possible. All activities that guests enjoy here were created to raise awareness of Malaysia’s beautiful natural heritage and support local traditions, communities and NGOs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dusun Hotel Seremban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing