We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and property maintanence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beta Service Apartment
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service and property maintanence”
Reviewed December 22, 2010

My family and I stayed there for 2 nights and encountered such bad experience!

1. All lightings were not properly checked and maintain upon guests checking in.
2. Furnitures were old, smelly and mouldy- basically they were dirty! Some lightings were dead upon checked in.
3. The receptionists have no experience in handling complaints well. Furtheremore, they have also double checked in guests, whereby they were another group of guests trying to open our apartment unit main door to check in again, that was after we checked in a day ago! Claimed they were also given the same unit room number with valid room keys! The receptionists did not even apologise on behalf and started to pin point their own colleague whom did the mistake! Their managers went hiding and no one came to settle this issue till we checked out. Claimed indeed it was our misfortune to have experienced it!
4. As far as the apartment is concerned, furnitures are old and not well maintained. They could actually donate to the needy instead being provided to paying guests like us! I've attached some pictures which are self- explanatory.
5. If you drive a car, no free parking for the staying guests and still have to pay RM1.00 per every entry to the apartment area.
6. Ants were found inside the bedroom and climbed up to the bed!
7. Breakfast dining hall was warm due to no air-condition nor fans provided. I would sugggest to eat out rather than patronizing their restaurant, food was unpresentable- simple soy sauce fried noodles, eggs, some sausages, coffee and tea. I could easily buy such meal outside at only RM2.50 with good ventilation!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LTLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

The unit they gave us was at a corner giving a triangular living room. We rented a two bedroom, but given a three, but again they came to lock one room. How weird.

The living room is so huge with TV (no sky), sofa set, adjoining dining room, that's it. There is a kitchen and a bathroom beside it. Probably meant for visitors. But the everything is either working but not in good condition or not working at all. The rooms sizes are ok, but only queen bed for a master room. 2 single beds in another. The floor looks like new, and the wall looks like it has been painted recently. Nonetheless, they do have to something about the furniture and definitely the bathroom fittings.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Labuan Island hotels

Tawau, Sabah
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

If you ever decided to stay here, try to book a room on the highest floor as possible because this place offer the best view of Labuan. The visual to the outside is stunning. Unfortunately it's a different story inside. Everything inside is total contrast with what you expect the first time you had a glimpse of the hotel building from outside. From outside you will be greeted with a modern high rise building giving out impression that this place is a 5 star, however once you entered the apartment you will only find old, worn out furnitures, wall totally discoloured by fungus, the bed sheet look old like hospital bed sheet. To make things short, the place look old, worn out and definitely not what you expect when you pay RM312 per night.

I was told (by one of the staff of this hotel) that this hotel is owned by a GLC (Government Link Company). Meaning that the tax payers money are being used to fund the existence of this building for the purpose of more money before it be returned to the people. Upon learning the status of this hotel I immediately understand the problem behind this hotel dilapidating condition, the problem I think is not the staff, but more on the bosses.

The management doesn't care if this hotel made profit or not because their salary is guaranteed by taxpayer's money. In fact, whenever they come to Labuan supposedly to visit the hotel, they never stay here, instead they use taxpayer's money to stay on a more lavish hotel nearby the Labuan Dorsett Hotel. My personal opinion, these people in a suit ought to be fired instantly.

Kudos to the staff for trying thier best to run the whole thing despite having superiors like that. The carpet and the sofas are damp but at least tolerable and does not caused itching to your skin. The air-condition still excellent in cooling the whole apartment eventhough still look dusty, and my family still confortably sleep on the bed eventhough at first my wife thought it might be swarmed with backteria (based on the first impression). All and all, and added that with the large space for my baby daughter to run around, my famil stay here is still pleasant and enjoyable.

This hotel have the best location and the best building in town. The only thing it needs is a whole new team of superiors.

  • Liked — the view outside
  • Disliked — the view inside
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mfadz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bungendore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Stayed in a two room appartment which was huge - 3 bathrooms and dining room. Everything was very grubby and the kitchen stunk. Young locals were using the pool and spitting in it. Must have been great in it's heyday but desperately needs maintenance work done.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the dirt
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stillbackpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Stayed at the Beta apartments in May 07, apartments large but rather tired, large living area 3 bedrooms 5 wash rooms, large kitchen and dining room, washing machine and drying room large balcony, air conditioning. Pool area seculed and never busy Staff friendly, position of the apartments central, attached to shopping centre through corridor from hotel reception, beach in our opinion best near univercity, empty beach warm calm water, island small but friendly nice for a few days break, must go to Mawilla fish restaurant on sea front need to get there early food great, try blue wave staff friendly food good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rather tired decoration
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyNorfolkUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel & Apartment Ambassador 3
#3 of 5 in Labuan Town
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beta Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beta Service Apartment

Property: Beta Service Apartment
Address: Financial Park Labuan Complex | Jalan Merdeka, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beta Service Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the South East of Financial Park Complex, the 87 units Beta Service Apartment offers from 1 bedroom to 3 bedroom apartments. Sophistically designed to provide ultimate comfort, all of the rooms are spacious, fully air-conditioned with fully-equipped kitchen, necessary amenities, cable TV and complimentary Wi-Fi access.Complemented with comprehensive recreational facilities such as swimming pool and gymnasium, it is definitely a unique and ideal location for all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Beta Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beta Service Apartment Hotel Labuan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing