We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best International standard hotel on Labuan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed again at the Grand Dorsett for 11 nights while visiting relations on Labuan. We chose a executive club floor room on the 17th floor facing the city and well away from the noise of the night club on the ground floor. Again the room was fine - there were small issues with decor and maintenance which would preclude it from making a truly luxury hotel grade but the overall impression is acceptable.

Front desk service is friendly and efficient. Breakfast service was patchy - sometimes very good, sometimes less efficient - it seemed that individual staff personalities had a lot to do with how the service felt.

The club lounge is open for drinks and nibbles from 4pm daily and we used it regularly. The staff there were friendly and efficient. Tiger beer glasses were topped up automatically! The term "Executive" is somewhat misleading: it does not have that feel about it when very often occupied by Oil Industry employees still in their work gear. Perhaps there should be a minimum dress code for this facility?

To summarize: The Grand Dorsett is probably the best hotel to stay at on Labuan if you require anything close to an international feel. It is not without its faults but we will stay there again next time we visit.

Room Tip: As mentioned by others - stay well away from the night club! The city view rooms are cheaper and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Sejlane,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. Please be informed that our Executive Club Rooms are located at 7th and 8th floor. Rest assured that this situation has been addressed and reviewed with the department concerned and refurbishment work is proceeding in stages. We take great pride in being able to provide the best service possible and constantly strive for perfection. It is only by receiving comments from our guests that we are able to overcome any deficiencies. We will conduct additional training to further reinforce the standard of our service. Once again, thank you and look forward to welcome you back at Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 522 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Grand Dorsett Labuan is the highest rating hotel in whole island, but overall is would only give a 3 star. the food is not up to standard. the hotel room is rather small and toilet / bathroom is one of the smallest i've been to. sound proofing is indeed very bad. loud music noise can be heard if you are at lower floor.

internet / wifi connection is pretty slow, probably whole island is slow. location wise, okay there's some restaurants and foodcourt within 10 mins walk.

Worst parking space i've ever bump into. there's only like 2 rows of parking space. Not enough for more cars. I happen to come back late at night and there's no space left and i have to park at car park nearby hotel building which is so inconvenient.

Room Tip: This is the best hotel in labuan town, so you got no choice after all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Ywey,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. Rest assured that the management has duly noted your constructive feedback on the areas concerned and will be sure to seek for improvement where necessary. We look forward to welcoming your next trip back to Dorsett Grand Labuan. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just spent 4 days at the Dorsett, on the 11th floor so no noise from the pub. The executive lounge is small but adequate with great service. Our room had some maintenace issues such as toilet door not closing, and we had real trouble trying to change the clock, at one stage the toilet stopped working altogether. Petty yes and really thats all I could find that was wrong. The food was good and its in a great location, if ever im back in labuan will stay again.

Room Tip: Try stay up the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0WerMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear MOWerMan,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. Please be informed that we do not have rooms located at the 11th floor. However, we thank you for your positive feedback on our food and will seek for improvement on the other areas of concerned where necessary. Nevertheless, we hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Grand Labuan. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I must highlight this utmost terrible sleepless experience during my current stay in room 402. As my job nature, sleep is crucial and it was deprived. Sound transmission from the ground floor pub in dorcett hotel has "boom boom dong dong boom boom " till 2am. Call up frontdesk during my second night stay @12am, was told the sound will go on till 2am and told to request different room on next trip. Polite enough though he offer change room (but @midnight??) and may ask the DJ to tune down the volume... nothing happen still hear sound. Today is my last night stay and still hear similar sound @1207am now..... Dorcett manager in charge, do you expect your guest still awake at 12am in room 402?

Having said this, being guest over the last 2 years regular intermittent staying, this is my first time stay in room 402 (above the pub ). So guys, until they improve the sound barrier, i propose not to stay in rooms ontop of the pub.... Nonetheless, for those who like thumping music to ease sleeping , then room 402 would be heaven for them.

credit though also must be given for those friendly staff, speedy check in, central location, bright lighting as well as nice breakfast.... But truly i was deprived sleep and need a shout on my experience.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank surgeon-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Surgeon-KL,

We thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. First and foremost, we regret to hear that you had unpleasant night sleep during your stay with us. Rest assured, these issues have been addressed to the respective departments for necessary corrective actions. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome your next trip back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had stayed here couple of times during my business trip. I must say, among other hotels in Labuan, this is among the best. Breakfast was good with variety of choices, strategic location, close to town by walking distance and the duty free shops and other facilities i.e. Banks, post office, government offices etc. @ Ujana Kewangan Complex, which also a shopping mall..that i found quite convenient. Local food stall located just next to the hotel.

Nice and clean room.

The only problem is that, the parking space is really2 limited, if you happen to rent a car there.

Room Tip: request an executive room to get access to the executive club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Edd_81,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. We are glad that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us here. We look forward to welcome your next trip back to
Dorsett Grand Labuan. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have always enjoyed our stays. When I booked in January 2014 for a stay in November 2014, I was told they could not guarantee my requests, despite my booking being 10 months in advance! My requests did not seem difficult - a non-smoking room with a double bed on a higher floor. The higher floors are away from noise and so provide better sleep quality. It seems we may be better to choose another hotel where we can be sure we get the room we asked for.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LibbyBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear LibbyBrunei,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. We assured you that the hotel management has duly noted your constructive feedback on the area of concern and the necessary corrective actions have been implemented. We hope to welcome you back at
Dorsett Grand Labuan in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A colleague and I spent three nights at the Dorset Grand during the last week of November '13.
We arrived on spec, without an advanced booking, and the Ladies on reception were extremely helpful in handling our request, and providing suites. The Front desk Team were extremely good at what they do, and are as good, if not better, than their counterparts at some of the best hotels
back in Europe.

Throughout the hotel the Staff are friendly, helpful, and appear to go out of their way to fulfill your requirements.

We have advised the company we work for, and our travel desk, the next time in Labuan this is where we wish to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Mike M,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel. We are glad that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us here. We look forward to welcome your next trip back at Dorsett Grand Labuan. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.7 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Labuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Labuan

Address: Dorsett Grand Labuan 462 Jalan Merdeka, Labuan Island 87029, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range: $57 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorsett Grand Labuan 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-star hotel in Labuan, Dorsett Grand Labuan brings out the best of what Labuan Island has to offer. The hotel is only minutes away from the Labuan Airport and a short distance from its bustling town centre. With an international buffet spread and a wide array of ala-carte dining, a sports lounge for guests to catch their favourite sports coverage, and a bar offering live entertainment at night, Dorsett Grand Labuan truly inspires! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Grand Labuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dorsett Labuan Hotel Labuan Island
Sheraton Labuan
Labuan Sheraton
Grand Dorsett Hotel Labuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing