We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent services.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Grand Labuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent services.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent services. Amazing. From arrival, smooth check-in, during the whole stay, check-out, all the hotel staff was extremely professional, helpful, smiling. This hotel really deserves top position, not only in Labuan. Personal touch, friendly atmosphere, great service. Big rooms with a balcony and a sea view, great delicious breakfast. Definitely worth staying in Grand Dorsett Labuan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annanvah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Annanvah,

We thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your prefered hotel.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable staying experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Grand Labuan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    192
    66
    13
    11
See reviews for
37
36
31
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The only Five * category hotel in Labuan aptly stands upto the ranking. Frankly I had not expected such a service on a island, but with so many big oil and gas companies working out of it, there is definetly a steady flow of top notch bosses who demand the best.

The hotel has got plush rooms with all the necessity. The hot water in the bathroom is just the right temperature to enjoy your bath. The bed and the linen ate of the finest quality and feels like floating on it.

There is a large dinning room where you can enjoy all sort of food. It is just near the pool so you can enjoy your dring by the pool side. I don't know however if you could get into the pool with a drink.

There is a seperate Karoke bar where you can enjoy a drink while some others sing a song. There is a ladies group which performs although I am not sure on which days. I could find out about it only at 11 pm and saw them performing but was not prepared to stay back.

The hotel is about 10 min drive from the airport and there is no traffic, so if you arrived tired, be assured that you can be in your room with in 30 minutes. The check in and check out is superfast and the girls behind the counter are just so efficient. And there is a welcome drink counter on your arrival with fresh juices.

All in all a very good hotel with a host of facilities.

Room Tip: Go for the higher story rooms, not that the lower ones are an issue. But then the music from the kar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Pradeep A,

We thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel.
It is such a great honour to receive a positive feedback from you. We have great pride on being able to give the best services to all our valued guests like you.
We look forward to welcoming your next trip to Dorsett Grand Labuan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Grand Dorsett several times and really like it. The rooms are great and the staff is friendly. They have a great little bar downstairs with live music. Shopping is right across the street at financial plaza, If you are going to Labuan then the Grand Dorsett is the only hotel to stay at. Book early though because with all the oil exploration going on over there it fills up fast!

Room Tip: Balcony room pool view are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel.
We feel privileged that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well as in Labuan itself.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Grand Labuan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for Merdeka promotion. Got Premier Suite with dinner. Premier suite facing both beach and the legend Padang Merdeka if I not mistaken its name. Dinner are excellent with whole lamb grilled and wide selection of grilled food including merah and salmon fish and also satay. Staff also friendly and very helpful especially Haiqal (at Victoria's Brasserie) and Aava (check-in counter).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzulkiflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear mzulkiflis,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Labuan as your preferred hotel and positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming your next trip back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at the Dorsett for a week whilst on a business trip.

My room on the second floor was large and clean although the decor was a little bit dated (Indeed there are far too many 1990's browns and dark greens throughout the hotel's decor and the place could do with updating/brightening up a bit.)
The bed was big and comfortable. A flat screen TV is provided, which can be angled towards the bed. However, this only had around 8 boring local channels so didn't see much use.

The aircon could have done with some maintenance as it struggled to keep the room at a decent temperature. The safe box worked. The room had a a mini-bar (if you ever felt the need to pay 7rm for a can of soft drink instead of 1rm!) and a kettle with free tea, coffee and drinking water provided each day. Wifi in the room was useable.

The bathroom was large, the ceiling a bit moldy. The water pressure in the shower was a bit too high and I found the very fine jets of water actually stung my skin . Towels were not soft, but sandpaper hard and smelled burnt (over-laundered). A few free toiletries were supplied.

Breakfast buffet was of a decent standard. On weekdays, there was plenty of food available when going down at 7am before work . However , when it came to the weekend, the hotel clearly hadn't planned adequately for full-occupancy or the fact that people take breakfast a bit later on a non-working day; Because when we went down at 9am on both Saturday and Sunday, the food had completely run out , and there was nothing left except bread!! This was ridiculous and the management really should address this.

The hotel has two bars: A lobby bar with a large screen TV showing sporting events, and a 'fun pub'. I was told that this was usually an ok place to go, but the Filipino band had been cancelled for the week (immigration problems?) and the pub didn't look much 'fun' at all (think all male bar-staff texting on their cellphones and a couple of Chinese guys sitting alone drinking buckets of beer!)

Luckily this hotel is within short walking distance to Labuan's other bars and their 5rm bottles of beer. There is also a small shopping mall opposite with an impressive Duty-Free shop, a supermarket, and a KFC and a Pizza hut tucked away at the back. This offers a good alternative to the room service food, which is ok but the prices are high and the selection is quite limited.

I have stayed at the Tiara, and I have stayed at the Dorsett. The Dorsett would be my preference for future trips, but they need to sort out the lack of breakfast at the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear WorldBreeze,

We thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel and constructive feedback.

We are constantly upgrading our standard of service quality and facilities.that will meet the guests' requirements.

Nonetheless, we apologize over your breakfast experience on Saturday and Sunday. Like what has been mentioned, your feedback gives us the opportunity to improve our services that will serve you better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Dorsett Grand Labuan. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Dorsett Grand Labuan offers quality food and the best succulent steak in town. Rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are friendly, professional and efficient staff. They welcome you with warm and friendly smile. WiFi is offered complimentary.

The hotel has adequate banquet facilities

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Susan C,

We thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel and positive feedback.

We feel honoured that you have experienced the finest services that Dorsett Grand Labuan has to offer.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose The Grand Dorsett from booking.com and the purpose for visiting Labuan Island was to visit the War Memorial. Labuan is a very small island, quiet, not a tourist mecca - an interesting place to visit. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, particularly Danial. Our room was large and comfortable with a view over the water , and while it was industrial, it was always changing. We chose to dine at the hotel, each night featured a themed buffet, food was very good. The in-house entertainers serenaded in the dining room, this group lacked enthusiasm.
The Museum is a short walk from the hotel, this gives an interesting history of the island. The shopping mall across the road offered poor choice, Labuan is not a shoppers paradise!
We took a taxi to tour the island, not much more than 50 kms, perhaps the easiest way to take in the "sights", we finished at the War Memorial, an emotional reunion with an uncle who was killed in 1945. The Memorial Park is well cared for by William, the Manager, who was also very sympathetic and understanding.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Rulan,

Thank you for choosing and staying with us at Dorsett Grand Labuan.

We feel privileged that you have enjoyed your stay and services provided by our friendly and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Grand Labuan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
7.7 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#2 of 18 in Labuan Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Labuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Labuan

Property: Dorsett Grand Labuan
Address: Dorsett Grand Labuan 462 Jalan Merdeka, Labuan Island 87029, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorsett Grand Labuan 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-star hotel in Labuan, Dorsett Grand Labuan brings out the best of what Labuan Island has to offer. The hotel is only minutes away from the Labuan Airport and a short distance from its bustling town centre. With an international buffet spread and a wide array of ala-carte dining, a sports lounge for guests to catch their favourite sports coverage, and a bar offering live entertainment at night, Dorsett Grand Labuan truly inspires! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dorsett Grand Labuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dorsett Labuan Hotel Labuan Island
Sheraton Labuan
Labuan Sheraton
Grand Dorsett Hotel Labuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing