We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed a night whilst we attended the Remembrance Day Service at the Australian War Memorial nearby. I must admit we had a very good experience, the room was reasonably priced and we were given a free upgrade because they had run out of the deluxe rooms we had booked. The staff were always polite and the hotel is well placed in the town. The only slight concern is the lobby bar staff were a little overwhelmed Saturday night and Sunday lunchtime. The breakfast was very good with a surprisingly high standard of coffee.
I will certainly stay there again, although reasons to come to Labuan are relatively few.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Jason R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your memorable hotel experiences with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 524 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Please beware if you choose to stay here. I had my phone STOLEN. It took 3 days of complaining before I was shown the CCTV footage of what appeared to be a MEMBER OF STAFF taking my phone. The hotel admitted that they the staff member was their first SUSPECT. But no further action was taken. I had to keep ALL my belongings in bag and take them with me each time I went out as I felt it UNSAFE. The hotel didn't offer any form of compensation. My room had BROKEN BATH and the wall paper was peeling off. Denfinatley NOT A 5 star hotel. I've stayed in better 3 star hotels for HALF the money. Labuan is a nice place to visit but please choose another hotel if you value service and security.

Stayed: November 2012
3  Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Grant M,

Greetings from Grand Dorsett Labuan!

First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the loss of your iPhone.
We have taken all the necessary steps to retrieve your iPhone and a thorough investigation was carried out, which you are aware of it. At Grand Dorsett Labuan, security and safety of our guests are of the utmost importance, our Executive Assistant Manager had personally attended to you and assisted in every way that we could.
Rest assured that we have duly noted your comments seriously with regards to the room conditions and immediate measures have been taken to improve the condition.
We hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It is an impressive hotel when you enter the lobby. The staff was professional and friendly. Our room # 110 –with harbor view – was large with a king size bed, a 2-seater sofa and big bathroom too. The bathroom had a bathtub with a shower head and shower curtain. From a small balcony we had a view of the sea. Unfortunately we were unhappy about a few things: We had asked for a non smoking room and there were ashtrays in the room and we could smell the smoke. There was also some dark dust or even mold around the air condition vent which we asked to be removed. We had ants in the room. They were all over the desk and over the coffee table. We informed the reception desk and were told that something would be done about it. When we returned from a walk the vent had been cleaned but we still had an ant problem. The room was altogether in need of a general renovation. There were cuts and stains in the wallpaper, the grout around the bathtub needed to be redone and the lampshades were dirty. We were offered another room -#702- which was the same size but had a larger window. That room was in a better state just the wallpaper started to separate at the seams. The breakfast buffet was very nice, lots of items to choose from and good quality too. The location is central. It takes about 10 - 15 minutes to walk to the ferry terminal. We used their room service once and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. It was very good value for money. We would come back at any time.

Room Tip: It is worth to choose a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear dasreiseteam

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us in general.

We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

Once again, we thank you for choosing the Grand Dorsett Labuan and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed for 4 days in September 2012 and found the hotel to be at par with other 5 star hotels. However what stands out is their 5 piece band, named SPIRAL, playing nightly at the restaurant/lounge. I thoroughly enjoyed their high energy pop music with dance and their communication with the audience. A super super band.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAI2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Lai2342

Thank you for your feedback. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel and in particularly the band.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Grand Dorsett Labuan as a preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Labuan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was there for course in Aug 2012 and notice there were lots of big fly in the restaurant and on the fruits as well.
It was disgusting to find the fly in you food and I hope hotel management will look into this.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank shho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear shho,

Thank you for your comments of the hotel during your stay with us. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory experience at the restaurant due to the flies. We are all committed to correcting our shortcomings, as the flies as mentioned by your good self is not indicative of the level of hygiene we are known for.

Please be rest assured that your informative feedback has been highlighted to the respective manager and an immediate steps of improvement have been taken, which include installation of additional unit of indoor fly trap.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visit this hotel multiple time with stay about 2 weeks. The terrace is very usefull to dry some cloth :-).
Hotel room is clean, spacious. Routine free drink at Lobby.

Staff is not as friendly as other if compare to other hotel in asia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Travel L

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Grand Dorsett Labuan. We appreciate your them as we use these to motivate and to train the team to continually strive for higher achievements and exceed guests’ expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

At this moment I guess it has got be the only 5 star accomodation in the City centre!Its strategic position makes it ideal for overnight stay of short duration;because its just adjacent to the International Offshore Financial Centre{Ujana Kewangan} and a only a stones throw from the major shopping district;the ferry terminal is only about one kilometre away & the airport is about 3 kilometres;Birds Park is about 12 kilometres from Hotel & accessible by minibus for a mere rm2;50 one way{20 minutes journey}required to take bus number 6!
[5 minutes drive}

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are more magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear jerryrich,
I certainly agree with you that Grand Dorsett is situated in a very strategic location. It is just a few minutes away from Labuan Airport, Ferry terminal and Labuan's places of interest. It is also surrounded by corporate offices, offshore banks, duty free shops and restaurants, which is very convenient for the hotel’s guests.

Thank you so much for recommending Grand Dorsett Labuan! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Labuan Island
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.7 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Labuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Labuan

Address: Dorsett Grand Labuan 462 Jalan Merdeka, Labuan Island 87029, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range: $51 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorsett Grand Labuan 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-star hotel in Labuan, Dorsett Grand Labuan brings out the best of what Labuan Island has to offer. The hotel is only minutes away from the Labuan Airport and a short distance from its bustling town centre. With an international buffet spread and a wide array of ala-carte dining, a sports lounge for guests to catch their favourite sports coverage, and a bar offering live entertainment at night, Dorsett Grand Labuan truly inspires! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorsett Grand Labuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dorsett Labuan Hotel Labuan Island
Sheraton Labuan
Labuan Sheraton
Grand Dorsett Hotel Labuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing