We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise in Every Way”
Review of Tiara Labuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise in Every Way”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I could not fault anything with the hotel. the room, the staff or the location.

The hotel was quite empty during the day and it felt like the pool was our own private pool which was fabulous as it was so peaceful. The hotel seemed to cater for a lot of seminars and meetings but this did not disturb us at all. We arrived after a three hour ferry ride from Kota Kinabalu (if you can afford it, get the plane), the hotel shuttle bus picked us up and within 5 minutes we were checking in at the hotel. Our room was on the ground floor and absolutely huge (almost the same size as my apartment in Hong Kong!) There was always hot water for baths or showers but we could have had more towels in the room but we made do. Our room was made up every day and there is the option not to change the sheets to help the environment.

The facilities in the hotel are very good, a gym, a squash court and a sauna. We were able to use the towels from the gym by the pool as we had forgotten to pack our beach towels. There is a really nice bar with a pool table and a nice atmosphere, the restaurant is formal but still nice as the staff are so friendly and remember your drinks order no problem. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, asian and western choices and the coffee (from a Starbucks fan) is really good and on the second day I was given a pot of coffee to save them filling my cup all the time! The shuttle bus is available almost like a taxi, with two drop off points, one the shopping centre and the other downtown. There is not much shopping or sightseeing on Labuan itself but I liked it - in comparison to the hussle and bussle of Hong Kong it was amazing to be able to walk downt he street without banging into people every two minutes!

The staff in the hotel made out stay so much nicer - always smiling and chatting but not in an intrusive way. My friend had to use the business centre a few times to fax and print off a few work related documents but apart from that there is free wifi in the room and the connection is quite strong.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel but not if you are looking to live it up - if you are looking to recharge your batteries and rest your brain then this is the place. The only thing that I could say was lacking was an information pack in the hotel room with hotel and local information - but anything we enquired about was answered fully. I would definitely go back again and it is my new 'happy place' in times of stress.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    67
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
36
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This place was just fantastic! There are a number of hotels in the city center but i loved this one as it was quiet with a lovely pool and sun area. The beach isn't amazing but thats not a problem.

All the staff were absolutely wonderful and so friendly, i stayed a total of 4 nights between island hopping and they always remembered me.

The food was delicious, and the staff were particularly helpful and friendly (more so than in the other restaurant). My wife thinks that their Chicken Rice is the best around.

Rooms were cleaned well every day. It's all beautifully landscaped and laid out. Nice Koi near the reception office. Would be happy to return another time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPP-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Probably among the best places to stay at in Labuan - especially if you have just come to have some days of peace, and don't mind taking a taxi wherever you want to go.

the rooms are great for lazing around - they have a balcony which overlooks the sea and harbour (though it is pretty far from it by road)

Has all the facilities you expect from a resort. highly recommenced for families

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We've stayed at the Tiara Hotel four times since it was under ownership and remodeled. This hotel is the best on the Island. The staff are welcoming and attentive and remember us each time we return. There are two types of accommodation: the one and two room suites and the older single rooms. For this 10 night stay we paid M$265 per night for a one-room suite consisting of a kitchenette, a living room with flat screen television, a bedroom with King-sized bed and an en-suite bathroom. An extensive buffet breakfast consisting of local and western food was included. The food at breakfast and at the a la carte was excellent.

We'll definitely stay here again; however, you should be aware that there is a night-club situated at the base of one of the suite blocks that runs to 1am nightly and to 2am at weekend; there is a bit of breakout at times so you might want to consider that when agreeing on a room. Of course you may be one of the guests singing karaoke in which case you wont have a problem!

For us the hotel typifies everything that is good about Malaysia. As the Title says: there isn't a better place to stay on Labuan.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sejlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We went to Labuan during this holiday, and chose this beautiful hotel. We've booked the room with great seaview, walking along seaside everyday. Hotel can offer shuttle bus to downtown and airport, only takes 5-10 mins to arrive. Service in hotel is good, they are so friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youyoucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We have visited Labuan every year for the last four years - we usually stay for 4-5 days. Each time we have stayed at the Tiara Labuan - and each time we've been absolutely delighted, and sad to leave.

We always stay in a Deluxe Room, as opposed to the apartments. The rooms are extremely large with a beautiful view across the road of the ocean. Full wireless internet is available in the room. There's a beautiful pool area which is complemented by a well appointed gym close by. Good undercover parking is available. The hotel is also conveniently located to the Australian War Cemetery and the Labuan Golf Course. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is a pretty good buffet, and other meals at the hotel are good quality and reasonably well priced. There are also good eating options close by.

We always look forward to returning to Labuan, and the comfort and service of the Tiara Labuan is for us one of the big attractions.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwin_Dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The hotel from the very amiable Ausssie GM and all the staff exude an aura of friendliness, Labuan is the friendliest place ive ever been, its very small, but oh worth the journey. The Tiara hotel, tho the rooms are dated and in needing a refresh , is a great choice, has it all, location , pool, good restaurant, reasonable rates , with the added diamond of Carlos Santana playing guitar with the resident band in Cheers bar, enjoyed it there, as my bar bill shows. Labuan is a tax free area, and incredibly cheap, beer much less than 2 usd each.
The beach is across the road, the town very close by, the beautifully kept war memorial , close by the hotel, gazing over the 4000 graves of the brave Allied but mostly Aussie soldiers is a somber expirience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alewisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Labuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Labuan Hotel

Property: Tiara Labuan Hotel
Address: Jalan Tanjung Batu, Labuan Island 87007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Labuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiara Labuan is a city cresort located off the coast of Borneo. It provides free parking, Wi-Fi, restaurant, bar and fitness centre. Rooms have a private balcony and a kitchenette. Rooms are spacious and feature a bathtub, shower facilities and a hairdryer. Cable TV, a minibar and 24-hour room service are also provided. Guests of Tiara Labuan can play a game of table-tennis or use the resort’s sauna. Barbecue facilities are available. The islands around Labuan host the world’s richest coral and fishing grounds. Labuan is a duty-free shopping haven with rich historical background. Located in the state of Sabah, Tiara Labuan is a 10-minute drive to Labuan Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tiara Labuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing