We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with a family”
Review of Tiara Labuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with a family”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here with my family (2yo and 4yo) as we had some business in Labuan. Tiara was a great place to stay. The pool area was fantastic and the food was great. The staff were flexible with our rooming arrangement as we needed a suite. They switched us from a deluxe upon arrival without any problems. The breakfast was great -- a good mixture of local and western cuisine.

A couple people mentioned noise from the club; we had a 4th-floor suite above the pool and, though we could faintly hear the music, it wasn't really bothersome. Our 2-year-old slept through with no problems.

Our air-con broke on day 2 (we stayed 5 days) and they staff replaced the condenser unit outside. It was a bit of a pain to have to stay in the room while my family was downstairs swimming, but the work was quick and the result was a more comfortable room.

The staff even helped us to arrange for a rental car on short notice. The price was great and it was perfect for what we needed. Do check the gas gauge before going too far, as I realized (almost too late) that the tank was nearly empty when they gave it to me (oops).

I would absolutely return here, especially when my kids are older and I can enjoy the entertainment and restaurants more easily.

Room Tip: Get a 1-room suite for a family with 1-2 young kids. Higher seems to be better for less pub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Marc,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest again and I am pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Taking your positive feedback on board, our team at Tiara Labuan Hotel keeps striving towards achieving excellence. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience soon.

Best Regards,

JOHN CHIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
41
36
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights , Smooth easy check in , Bags brought up to the room promptly and the room was spacious and tidy .

Service at the hotel was exceptional and efficient, smiling faces everywhere! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Billy S,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am glad that you have enjoyed a memorable hotel experience.

Taking your positive feedback on board, our team at Tiara Labuan Hotel keeps striving towards achieving excellence. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience soon.

Best Regards,

JOHN CHIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a weekend getaway and checked in to the suite. First we were impressed by the spacious room. Everything looked well taken care of, albeit slightly aging. The amenities and staff were good and friendly. Service with a smile. However the wifi is slow and tv channels often were not clear with a lot of cracking of the picture. Buffet breakfast menu is small and really not great compared to the other top hotels ive stayed in in my previous visits to labuan. However, seeing that the atmosphere of the hotel and room was the most important for this visit, i was able to overlook these shortcomings. It might not be so for the lone business traveller or family with kids.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Prasath,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your sharing the constructive feedback with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for a memorable hotel experience in the near future!

Best Regards,

JOHN CHIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked 3 nights in a Deluxe room but when our travel plans for the subsequent days changed we did a 2nd booking for another 3 nights in a one bedroom suite.

The grounds and pool area are lovely. The poolside area is shaded with good chairs/tables and loungers. The hotel clientele seemed to be mostly business types so there weren't a lot of people around other than a couple of evenings.

Our first room (Deluxe) was very large and clean. The bed wasn't overly comfortable and the furnishings were somewhat dated. This is especially true of the bathroom, although it was very serviceable. The One Bedroom Suite was also spacious and it overlooked the pool area. We were on the 3rd floor (top floor) and we had a small balcony. The bed here was much more comfortable although again the furnishings, especially the kitchenette, are in need of updating.

Breakfast was buffet style and a mix of about 75% Asian dishes and 25% Western dishes. They also did eggs/omelets. The food was generally very good. The service in the restaurant/breakfast area ("The Grill") was excellent. We had a couple of meals in the pool bar/restaurant area ("Alfresco") and again, the service was excellent and the food was very good. Prices were quite reasonable. The Friday & Saturday BBQs at Alfresco were excellent.

There is a house band ("New Generation") playing in Cheers Pub six nights a week. We went a couple of nights and thought they were awesome. Quite professional & very entertaining. The only downside of Cheers Pub is that it goes quite late and is pretty loud, esp the DJ part when the band is resting. This was a bit of a problem as our room, although on the 3rd floor, was above the pub and we heard the thump thump thump until the wee hours of the morning.

Olivia, the Customer Relations Admin person, was awesome! Very professional and helpful with all kinds of advice and assistance. We had some nice visits with her. Olivia was our key staff member and does a great job for the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Rob G,

Greetings from Tiara Labuan Hotel .

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Tiara Labuan Hotel .
We are greatly appreciate your feedback - it gives us great pride to hear that our guests are having a great stay with us. Your stay and visit experience is of the utmost importance to us.

Delighted to know that our accommodations and service were to your liking and thank you for highlighting the staff friendliness and the buffet breakfast .

On behalf of the team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Tiara Labuan Hotel in the not too distant future.


Very Truly Yours,


John Chin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent 3 months in this hotel through work in Labuan. The staff were like family and we made some very dear friends in that time. The grounds and pool are beautiful. The Chinese sea food restaurant on site is wonderful. The gym is well fitted out. Reception is helpful and the hotel bus into town is a regular service. TV for ex pats is limited and Internet isn't great. Otherwise fully recommend this hotel. We stayed in most of the main hotels on the island but preferred the Tiara. You will be well looked after

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Jeffrey W ,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the TV Channel , friendliness of receptionist and our Internet .

The team at Tiara Labuan Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back for another Refreshing Tropical experience in the near future.


Best Regards,

John Chin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We encountered no problems , room clean , staff efficient .Location good , Staff were friendly from check-in to bell boy and a nice staff from other department we met in the lift. Made to feel genuinely welcome. Breakfast buffet catered for all tastes and was good quality. Pool is very good and a relief from the heat of the day.

I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Try to get the 4th floor and the balcony facing the swimming pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Rose W ,

Thank you for choosing Tiara Labuan Hotel for your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and it was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your positive feedback for breakfast buffet in the restaurant and friendliness of our staff.

Nevertheless, thank you for showing a great support towards our hotel by recommending our hotel to your friends. We continually strive for Operational Excellence and you may be rest assured that we will be continuously improving our facilities and services to maintain Tiara Labuan Hotel as your preferred Hotel in Labuan.


Best Regards,

John Chin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rooms were very spacious, we love this hotel, but they could have sped up on the room service. we had to call several times before they sent someone up. some light bulbs and switches were falling apart, and when they did send someone up, he could not fix it on time as we had to go out for dinner before the restaurants close. so in the end, nothing much was fixed, all in all, we will return as we love its convenience of space.

Beside that , housekeeping done very good job . Love the swimming pool .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JasonJ

Greetings from the Tiara Labuan Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tiara Labuan Hotel recently. It is indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for highlighting soem of the shortcomings regarding staff attentiveness . Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodation.

Rest assured, these issues have been highlighted with the respective Department head so that they could look into this matter seriously and in turn can address these matters via on-going training and development programs.

On behalf of the team, once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Tiara Labuan Hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely


John Chin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 18 in Labuan Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Labuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Labuan Hotel

Property: Tiara Labuan Hotel
Address: Tiara Labuan Hotel Jalan Tanjung Batu, Labuan Island 87007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Labuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiara Labuan is a city cresort located off the coast of Borneo. It provides free parking, Wi-Fi, restaurant, bar and fitness centre. Rooms have a private balcony and a kitchenette. Rooms are spacious and feature a bathtub, shower facilities and a hairdryer. Cable TV, a minibar and 24-hour room service are also provided. Guests of Tiara Labuan can play a game of table-tennis or use the resort’s sauna. Barbecue facilities are available. The islands around Labuan host the world’s richest coral and fishing grounds. Labuan is a duty-free shopping haven with rich historical background. Located in the state of Sabah, Tiara Labuan is a 10-minute drive to Labuan Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tiara Labuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing