We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to hangout with friends”
Review of Tiara Labuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
bandar seri begawan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to hangout with friends”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Tiara Labuan was the last choice since all hotels around Labuan was fully booked due to the 10s Rugby plus pay day. The price was ok since there are 7 of us.

The apartment was big and spacious - 4 rooms, 4 toilets and with all amenities inside. just lack of modern touch to the rooms and the toilet. the rest was fine. for more details on Tiara Labuan Hotel, check this link http://www.tiaralabuan.com/
Since breakfast was included, we had time to try it next day but below our expectation. Not much of choice unless you have not taste nasi lemak with chicken rendang (local dish) than it is ok.

Nowadays, Labuan give u a choice to rent a transportation - small motorcycle/scooters (RM30 nego), sedan cars to big 8 comfy van (from RM70 to RM300 nego)...it is up to your choice. if you are coming via sea, after coming out from the immigration, you will find the rent-transport counter. *Please be informed that the Malaysian goverment is implementing the fingerprint scan to all foreigners coming into the country, so expect longer time in queue.

From the town to Tiara, it takes us around 10 minutes driving..btw, we rent a 7 seaters mini mpv (RM150)...after a quick wash up, we went for our dinner at Mawilla Seafood Restaurant (contact number 087-423 888, address Jln. Tanjung Batu, Labuan. Next to Malaysia Navy base). Angela is so kind enough to help us make the reservation so no worries, and personally i recommend that you make early reservation (just in case, because this restaurant always pack with seafood lovers...). The food...all i can say is "Yummie!!!" and the price is reasonable enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
41
36
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed at the Tiara for the first time this visit, I usually stay at the Waterfront or Grand Dorsett but both were full. The checkin was standard and the rooms slightly aged. The hotel is further out of town but still only Rm13 by taxi (I never saw the shuttle bus in the three days I stayed). Otherwise the stay was excellent, The rooms are larger with kitchen and lounge area, flat screen TV's (1 bed appartment) and the pool area is the best in Labuan, the Waterfront is bigger but does not have the same character. There is a bar by the pool as well as the lounge and pub/bar. The new seafood restuarant was excellent and overall it felt like a holiday resort rather than the usual Labuan business hotel. In future the Tiara will definitely be my preference.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted00120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2011

When the booking was made these were about the only rooms available in Labuan. My wife and I were given a 3 bedroom apartment in the villas next door to the Resort. They were beautiful from the outside but dated, poorly maintained and sparsely equipped on the inside.
The cost of the apartment was 780RM per night.
The apartment had a deficiency form which I filed the next morning. One item of five was addressed in the two further nights we stayed there.
In the kitchen of the 3 double bedroomed villa were 3 cups, 3 saucers, 3 teaspoons, 4 forks, 4 dessert spoons, 5 large plates, 2 small plates, 1 electric kettle and a gas oven/hob.
There was no toaster, coffee pot, tea towels, dish cloths or even kitchen roll. No cereal bowls or a casserole dish or a saucepan of any kind. Every kitchen cupboard was empty.
We had to ask for a hair dryer which was mentioned as one of the facilities on their internet site.
There was no bath mat in the bathroom, no face cloths and no small towels. We had 2 bath towels to start with. We had a large spa bath which we could not use as it had no plug.
We took a table lamp from one of the other bedrooms as the lamp in our bedroom did not work. The shower in the 2nd bathroom dripped constantly and the floor was always wet and slippery.
There was a tatty coffee table in the lounge. The top was blistered and the edges of the veneer were peeling.
From the outside all the villas look beautiful. Inside they are tired and badly in need of an upgrade. The staff are all very nice, pleasant and appear helpful but nothing is done. The swimming pool was very nice but I think pretty dangerous as the metal step ladder to assist you getting in and out of the pool was neither fixed to the side of the pool or had any steps.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJonTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is a difficult review to write because we have such affection for the staff at the hotel. We have stayed at the Tiara on 4 previous occasions and my last review stated that it was the best hotel in Labuan despite warning about the noise from the bar/night club. After this experience I can no longer subscribe to that view. As on the previous occasions, we booked and were placed in one of the one-bed apartments overlooking the pool area and quite close to bar/nightclub. On our first night (Friday) we were kept awake until after 2am with the noise from the revelers in the bar. On Saturday night, the noise continued until 4am. We asked to move to one of the "Deluxe" rooms further away from the bar and were placed into a room which had certainly seen better days. Parts of the coving had been pulled away from the bathroom wall; there were exposed wires in a junction box connecting to the extractor fan and there was a considerable amount of mold in all areas of the bathroom and shower. On the second night the AC failed and so we moved to another "Deluxe" room that was slightly better but still way below what would normally be expected from one carrying that name. Our experience this time confirmed that the noise from the bar into the one-bed apartments is significant and intrusive for those guests not wanting to become involved in the partying. The Deluxe rooms are quieter but need significant refurbishment.
Here are the good and bad points:
Good:
The pool and surroundings
The evening meals in the restaurant -Especially the Chinese menu
The Price - its very reasonable
The staff - all of them are friendly, courteous and helpful
Not So Good:
The rooms - especially the older "Deluxe" rooms are looking warn and tired and could do with a face lift
The breakfast buffet. - By 9:15am several of the burners had gone out and the food was getting cold
The Noise from the Bar/Nightclub - The owner is aware of the problem and needs to solve it

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sejlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I called the hotel to make booking but was answered very rudely by the staff on the phone. 1st call when i say i don't have my credit card with me to confirm the booking, she says to go find any credit card and hang out the phone. The 2nd time, i called, she said to call another 5 minute then hang out the phone again. I managed to place my booking the 3rd time without credit card to confirm booking just my name & contact no. I guess it's a different staff, so the management is different

When i arrived at the hotel to check in, the reception was very unwelcoming (without a smile to greet the customer), then ask RUDELY how many will be staying in the room? Just because my aunts family (who's labuan citizen) are there also at the lobby, she glance and says maximum 5 person with a very unpleasant look. I have to explained that not all off the family are staying because some of them are labuan citizen?? Nonesense... I booked 1 of the most expensive apartment in the hotel and i get that kind of treatment? Maybe it's because i get discount as a government servant, then the treatment is different? I'm so pissed at the staff, but i forgot to see the nametag so i can report such rude & unpolite front desk staff to the hotel management.. hopefully they'll send their staff to training for PR so that they now how to treat the customer nicely.

Well, as for the room, it's in good condition, 1 aircond is not working but the maintainance staff fixed it. The view was spectacular & relaxing ( i got the apartment facing the pool, thankfully). I love the pool because it is very clean & well maintained. I stayed at APARTMENT with 2 BEDROOM (double bed).

For a price i had to pay, i'm satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorAmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We decided to have a one night getaway to Labuan with the whole family (2 adults n 3 kids). I've never stayed at any Labuan's hotel so I googled search and saw this hotel advert, the place looked beautiful and room rate is consider cheap. So i booked it instantly. Upon arriving the hotel my hubby and I was very much delighted and pleased to see the hotel. The hotel's area is quite large with resort concept. The swimming pool is very family friendly, just need to replace the floating device. The deluxe room is quite spacious for me n family, 1 single bed n 1 king sz bed. Food from the hotel's restaurant was very cheap although nothing extraordinary. The popular seafood restaurant, Mawilla, is just 2 mins away from the hotel (by taxi). The hotel also has it's own pub (cheer.pub). Bathroom is very big with bath tub and separate shower, although the towels were quite seasoned. Furniture and tv are pretty outdated but we didn't really mind as other features surpassed it. Staffs were helpful and friendly but some couldn't speak English (when I ordered for room service). The balcony of our room overlooking the sea. All in all it was a very pleasant experience and worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nance80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I been to Labuan regularly. Yet i never stayed in this hotel due to its quite far from town. Tried it 2 days ago. Wow.. What can i say its a great hotel indeed. Very spacious room (i checked in Deluxe Room) & nice room setting

Probably the set back was the hotel is quite hard to get & normally booked with a lot of people. You don't expect to get a room walk in. Please book before you go.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 18 in Labuan Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Labuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Labuan Hotel

Property: Tiara Labuan Hotel
Address: Tiara Labuan Hotel Jalan Tanjung Batu, Labuan Island 87007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Labuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiara Labuan is a city cresort located off the coast of Borneo. It provides free parking, Wi-Fi, restaurant, bar and fitness centre. Rooms have a private balcony and a kitchenette. Rooms are spacious and feature a bathtub, shower facilities and a hairdryer. Cable TV, a minibar and 24-hour room service are also provided. Guests of Tiara Labuan can play a game of table-tennis or use the resort’s sauna. Barbecue facilities are available. The islands around Labuan host the world’s richest coral and fishing grounds. Labuan is a duty-free shopping haven with rich historical background. Located in the state of Sabah, Tiara Labuan is a 10-minute drive to Labuan Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tiara Labuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing