We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor :-(”
Review of Billion Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Billion Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Once we arrived here, we checked in at 3pm and was asked to wait for an hour for our room to be ready, although we had pre book it earlier and mentioned about our arrival time. Internet was charged for rm50 for 24hrs which is so so expensive (other hotel will give it for free or cheaper). Food rating will be 3/5, room condition not as expected. For overall, we would like to rate this hotel 2/5. Not matching its price. Hope this review will be helpful. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izyan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Maybe not my favourite hotel in Labuan but it is central and you can walkabout safely which means I have been using it more. Yes I could take taxis which are not expensive but being central gives me a reason to walk about rather than sitting in the back of a taxi. Lack of sockets in room can be frustrating especially if you are working with two laptops - simply remedy would be to for me buy a double socket extension but not got round to doing that as yet. Most of the staff very friendly. Okay occasionally a bulb out but that can happen anywhere. Internet access in the annex can be hit or miss but this forces me to sit by the pool and get access to main hotel internet service. Even when pool busy haven't really heard any noise when staying in poolside rooms. I tend to eat out so its only snacks that i have here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We recently went to the Island of Labuan with some visiting relatives from New Zealand. We have years ago stayed in this hotel which needed an uplift. So it was good to check in to refurbished rooms.
The hotel is located just about 5-10 minutes walk from Financial Park complex made up of shoplots, office tower, and service apartments. We were told to book the Beta service apartment at first which could be cheaper for our group of 11, however there was no reply to my email so we settled for Waterfront ultimately.
Our booking was through marimari.com at RM279 nett (park view), with breakfast included, and free hotel shuttle to the airport which timing however did not suit us.
My brother requested for a King-bedded room connecting to twin-bedded room for his children, but the receptionist insisted there was none and that all the connecting rooms are twin-bedded. We thought this was a strange arrangement. However, when my brother and family went up to their twin-bedded rooms, they noticed a king room being made up by the housemaids which was connecting to one of the twin rooms. So he went downstairs and got the rooms as wanted.
The walk from the hotel to the town centre is about 10-15 minutes.
The hotel was fairly quiet at the time we were there, most of the times we had the free internet PCs and the pool to ourselves.
Breakfast was quite a good spread, and they did vary it a bit for the two days we were there.
Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel is recently renovated... however, the maintenance of the hotel is very poor. The shower head in my hotel room detached itself when it was turned on the first time. The hotel has the potential but it is just very poorly managed.

Some of the bulbs in the room is not working, and the room in general is insufficiently lighted.

The drainage in the male shower / changing room for the pool is always blocked. Even after a report was made to bring the management's attention to the matter, it never got better.

The towel service at the pool is most of the time un-manned... You can't usually get a towel there...

Some of the service personnel is very friendly and polite, but some are just totally rude.

I have also joined the "Privilege Membership" of the hotel, and the member card has not even showed up yet after 1 month. They have initially promised to issue the card around 1 week after registration...

The quality of food (particularly breakfast) is totally NOT up to the standard of the price you are paying...

All in all, Grand Dorsett is by far a much better hotel (a bit pricey compared to Waterfront), Tiara Hotel (this one cost about the same) is also a much better choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TonyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

my partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December.We were greeted by the 2 friendly staff at reception. They had good PR,very courteous and we felt very welcome at the hotel right away.The bellboy was just as friendly showing us our lovely spacious room.It was clean and cosy.We had a lovely room overlooking the beautiful pool.Breakfast is such a delight in the Spinnaker restaurant.Good variety of local and western buffet and again,very friendly,courteous and helpful staff. The hotel is in a very convenient location. We were able to walk to town.Overall we were very very impressed with everything and would recommend Waterfront for it's location,ambience,pool,food,wonderful staff etc. Value for money indeed.We would stay here again.Thanks to the management and staff for our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Short trip from the airport. Quiet place. Spacious lobby. Restaurant with good food.
Room is big and very clean. Just walk out and jump into the pool. Or just go fishing.
Beautiful landscape nd helpful staffs.
Short distance to town and historical places. Good local food are avilable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolcatPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This Hotel is one of the few limited hotel available in Labuan. Thus not much choice for me to put a night. The hotel was recently renovated and just recently changed to card system to get in to the room (Previously still using keys). Breakfast was lousy..can get much better food outside the hotel. The fixture in the restaurant was old as well. its more suitable for business traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogeswaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billion Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billion Waterfront

Address: 1, Jalan Wawasan, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Waterfront Labuan Financial Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range: $50 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Billion Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billion Waterfront officially opened its doors on the 01st December 1994 and was launched by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The hotel is developed on approximately 4 hectares of reclaimed land adopting a contemporary architectural style with its external and internal decors. In 2004, the hotel received a 4-Star hotel rating from Tourism Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Billion Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing