We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lee Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/31
$53
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crystal Lodge(Kota Bharu)
$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Perdana(Kota Bharu)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Home(Kota Bharu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jewels Hotel(Kota Bharu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown Garden Hotel(Kota Bharu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flora Place Hotel(Kota Bharu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
40
16
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
16
4
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lee's Guesthouse one night, in transit waiting for the Ferry to the Perhentians. When we booked, we just wanted a random place to stay, but what a nice surprise to meet Mr. Lee!

First of all, the place is impeccably clean. The kitchen, the bathroom, the common area, our room, the bed linen. Really nice!

Then, Mr. Lee was incredibly friendly and helped us with transport from/to town (his place is a bit outside of the centre, so he'll give you a lift to and pick you up from town as per his availability). So we actually got to see a bit of Kota Bharu, which we probably wouldn't have without his help.

Then, there is the really cozy common area in his place - couch, TV, WiFi and most importantly a fridge with beverages you would otherwise not easily find in town (hehe). Just help yourself in the fridge and pay everything once you settle the bill.

Mr Lee has also been incredibly helpful in giving advice, which ended up saving us a couple of bucks when booking our return flight with AirAsia (just to be clear - we didn't buy anything extra from him, so he was not after a commission, but really just to be friendly to us).

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank daniel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Quite frankly perfect – and just what I needed.
Lee picked me up from the airport at 11.30pm and took me to a clean AC room for the night. The following morning he arranged a nice breakfast and transfer to the Perenthian islands. Before leaving, he took me to town to repair my jeans at a tailor, get a hair cut and a local SIM. I made the 2pm boat and he even arranged luggage storage. He also took me to buy my bus ticket for going south and the best route!! He even left drinks for the taxi transfer to the boat.
This was perfect for a quick transfer in KB to the beach!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richyrich051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for just one short night, on our way from Kota Bharu to the Perhentians, to catch the first boat in the morning. Mr Lee picked us up from the airport when we arrived around midnight, and he did arrange the boat tickets to the Perhentians for us as well. Stayed in contact via text, reminding us to confirm our return boat with the operator. The location of the guesthouse is nothing special, just a quiet residential area, but this was not what we came for in the first place. Rooms are very basic and clean, with a shared bathroom.

Overall, we felt treated like family by our host. Lee arranged all the logistics (buying the boat tickets, arranging transfer to the harbour), so we didn't have to worry about it. Highly recommended for people who are passing through Kota Bharu on their way to the Perhentians.

Room Tip: Not a big choice of rooms, as property is fairly small. Having bought a local prepaid SIM card helped to stay in contact with Mr Lee via text and phone.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We only stayed one night and Mr Lee was very helpful and organised transport and boat tickets both coming and going. The guest house is comfortable and clean and offered a basic breakfast of toast and cereal but it is well out of town. On the plus side, Mr Lee dropped us off at a local mall and picked us up at the night markets at no charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifel0nglearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at Lee's guesthouse for 2 nights when traveling from Thailand to the Perhentian Islands. Firstly, the room was very clean, spacious, with a/c, and comfortable beds. Mr. Lee took excellent care of us, bringing us to and from Kota Bharu (it is not in the city center), provided cereal and toast breakfast, as well as arranged our travel to Kuala Besut and then the jetty to the islands. We also were given complimentary laundry ;-). He made us feel like we were at home, and truly took great care of us. It was so nice to stay here, and would recommend to anyone who looks for a quite place to relax, especially after a long (and hot) trip from Thailand.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank MG783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews