We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only decent hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The only decent hotel in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The only decent hotel 3-4 star hotel in town: mostly business professionals on official trips will bunk in this hotel. The breakfast is good: try the local nasi dagang and nasi lemak: best in town in my opinion. Staff very helpful. Convenience store is just opposite the road

Room Tip: Higher floor is less noisy from the road below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    145
    67
    20
    12
See reviews for
73
87
20
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I love the pillow......the whole family sleep soundlessly. Feel like on a water bed....so soothing
I love the varities of breads presented all over the dining hall.
At times of emergency....help comes all the way very fast

Room Tip: Ever room is a pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquayanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for two days and i really loved the experienced.The room is spacious and the bathroom is clean. The location is strategic and easy access to any part of town.
For the food,i can only say this...yummy.
Will come here again during next visit to kota bharu.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebudmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

its always good to be back to this hotel - they have the fluffiest pillows that are actually super comfy. another plus now is the 'healthy' section of the breakfast buffet. they have cereals, low-fat milk, a myriad of fresh juices and overall good spread.

its one of the better hotels in the area - and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My second visit to this hotel

This is probably the only major hotel chain in Kota Bharu, Kelantan and its very popular among tourists (personal observation)

I stayed for 9 nights. Had enough time to explore the hotel.

Excellent beds and comfortable pillows. This is certainly the plus point of this hotel. Gave me many good night sleeps.

Rooms come with safe, coffee and tea making facilities, "takeaway coffee mugs too! "iron with ironing board, TV
Wifi is free for Marriott rewards members.

Gym has a good range of facilities and weights, and functioning but certainly needs a makeover as some of the equipment are really old. Air conditioning was down for a week, really felt like doing gym in the sauna. Small swimming pool, but good enough if you're just looking to do a few laps. There is a spa available. Rates reasonable but did not try.

Takes roughly 30 minutes to reach from the airport; This is simple due to the fact that there are many traffic lights in Kota Bharu and takes a long time for each cycle to go by. It is located next to a shopping mall called "Billion". You can get your basic supplies from fruits, bread, bottled water to cloths! For those who are driving, car park is located below the mall (through a side entrance), can be very quite in B2 (I suggest to avoid if you're a lone driver). At least parking is now free (you need to get it stamped at the reception every time you leave the hotel - I stamped easily 30 times; I find this very irritating).

Don't take rooms close to the "service lift", You will hear door opening and closing very often which will certainly disturb your sleep. If you take rooms facing the main road, there will be some element of noise pollution, even at the 18th floor!

otherwise, this is a good business hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms close to the "service lift", You will hear door opening and closing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_gpjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the first time I've stay in this hotel despite coming to Kota Bharu thousand times before since high school. Among that many times I've also stayed in many different hotel be it cheap or expensive hotel. I have to say that this is the best hotel so far despite its being a 5 star and all. First, the room is pretty large, with us traveling the whole family with 2 kids and all. Its a standard 5 star hotel room with big bed and even a big bathtub! The only complaint about the room is, it is too cold even when you off the aircond. The swimming pool is huge and even have a small pool for children. The gym also were huge and well equip. The plus plus point about this hotel is its staff. They were sooo nice, warm and eager to help and assist. The last time i met hotel staff this nice is at The Datai, Langkawi. They're too nice i even give tips for the first time in my life. The hotel is adjecent to a shopping mall next door, so its pretty convinient too. I even bought a new pair or ray-ban here. The car parking was also easy but rather narrow for a big car like mine to park, and it is free.
The only minor point to this hotel is, being the best hotel in Kota Bharu, everybody is doing they're function here. The lobby especially the front entrance of the hotel always, always busy with people. Be it in the morning for people attending their seminar or at night with people attending a wedding or a dinner. So, its pretty noisy and all around that area. Apart from that, this hotel is the best in Kota Bharu!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are much nicer to see the whole town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madone1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Everything in order. Comfortable, clean room, decent breakfast, good food, friendly and helpful staff.
Situated in city centre. Kota Bharu is close to lovely ocean shore and a stone's throw from Thailand border. Great place for silks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaunestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Bharu
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
24.9 mi away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#12 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Property: Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Address: Jalan Sri Kota | Jalan Yahya Petra, Kota Bharu 15100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the rich Malay culture at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel and the city's only five star international class hotel with premier convention and wedding venue. Conveniently located in the heart of Kota Bharu's commercial and shopping district and also close to the domestic airport. For business or leisure traveler, the 298 spacious accommodation rooms and suites provides world class service and facilities including High Speed Internet, 2 Executive Floors with dedicated Club Lounge,Business Centre, wireless meeting rooms with Grand Ballroom, an on-site event management to create exhibitions, conventions, meetings and most extravagant weddings. The Renaissance Fitness Centre is Kota Bharu's largest gymnasium equipped with latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi and a heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel Kelantan
Kota Bharu Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing