We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a better hotel in Kota Bharu, Kelantan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here one night in March 2013. on a business trip, I didn't really have the time to explore the town, or the hotel all that much. my first impression was a clean, higher-end hotel, as this chain rightly is.

One of the less developed cities in Malaysia, Kelantan doesn't receive enough tourist/visitor traffic to justify top end hotels, so the renaissance stands its ground as one of the top, if not the top hotel in town.

the rooms are spacious, which I like. internet was free, and that is the minimum I expect. the sleep was peaceful, and the views of the low-rise city was really really welcoming. you can see the ocean from the higher floors.

downside was the bathroom. so much space in the room, and yet you have to squeeze yourself just to sit on the throne! ridiculous! watch your elbows, knees and even your head.. sit up straight at all times!

yes, I would stay here again - maybe in the royal suite, which hopefully has a larger bathroom.

if the hotel had one thing to shout about, it would have to be its breakfast spread. wonderful! so much food and variety - the only chance I had to taste local cuisine... fine fine..

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing north... you get a nice sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldCitizenMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 365 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant stay. Room was well maintained. Staff were very friendly from arrival to check out. Welcome drink while we checked in. Had free internet access. The buffet dinner was impressive- lots of variety. Pity I did not have time to check out the pool and spa. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StefyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed in Renaissance Kota Bharu at the end of December with my family and truly enjoyed our stay. The check-in was fast and the receptionists were all smiles & welcoming. The rooms were spacious and all the amenities were good. We ordered room service for dinner and the food came very quickly and we were really pleased with the presentation! To top it off, everything we ordered were delicious. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool and I had a relaxing massage in the spa.

The only setback to this hotel is that it's a bit far from the town center. We were fine with this as we has a car but for travelers who wish to go walkabout on foot, this may not be possible. The mall connected to the hotel looks like a place stuck in the '70s, although the supermarket has some basic essentials.

All in all, I dare say that this is probably the best hotel in Kota Bharu. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdillahNordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was a good hotel. Room was very clean and classy. Bed was very comfortable.

Buffet breakfast was awesome, especially its local delicacies (eg nasi dagang).

Parking area was a bit cramped. I think its a value for money hotel and probably the best hotel in KB.

In terms of location, its a bit far from the main attractions of the city such as Bazaar Buluh Kubu, Pasar Siti Khadijah and also from the famous Pantai Cahaya Bulan. But, taxi is everywhere in the city and its reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank as_yaacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room is so-so.. spacious but looks a wee bit old. It's been raining the past 4 days here in Kelantan thus the room is very cold even without air conditioner. Tried putting on the air-cond at 30 degrees. Didn't work, still cold.

Anyhow, the buffet breakfast and lunch is good because this hotel provides local food everytime. So, besides the typical set of western breakfast, they have various choices of local dishes.

Good hotel to stay for official business.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaJa_LuRVeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Usually in Kota Bharu I'll stay in one of the cheaper hotels when working. But this time I brought my family and decided to splurge and stay at Renaissance. The hotel may be old and showing signs of its age, but it's still the best in KB at moderate prices. As usual, the main reason for choosing a hotel for the kids is the swimming pool and Renaissance doesn't disappoint with its heated pools. Since it was the rainy season, it could get chilly for the kids when they're wet so they just stayed inside the pools to keep warm! There's also spa facilities for men if you're into it which is quite relaxing after work. I know there's a spa for women but the wife didn't try so I can't comment.
The rooms were standard deluxe. Nothing to shout about but the beds were firm and I liked it. One thing I would like to suggest to the hotel is get rid of the Vision Four channel and get some Astro channels especially something for the kids.
The breakfast buffet was hit and miss. They had a huge spread but some of the food wasn't as good as it looked. Disappointed with the Nasi Dagang but this is Kelantan, and you could always get cheaper, tastier food at the various stalls and restaurants in town.
The staff were friendly and helpful and also allowed me to have a late check out without any fuss which was greatly appreciated.
Overall, the kids enjoyed their first visit to Kota Bharu and Renaissance. I'd probably stay here on my own if I had enough time to enjoy the hotel during work :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikaelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good place to stay, friendly staff, clean room, good room layout. The pool was nice and open till late night. We had our car with us, parking was free (same parking floor with connecting shopping complex). The shopping complex was not that big but sufficient if you need to buy personal stuff. I agree with other travellers, the breakfast buffet was good. We wanted to go around KB and eat good food but we were stuffed after the buffet. It's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You may request room with two queen beds if you have small children travelling with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InazKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Bharu
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 40 in Kota Bharu
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 40 in Kota Bharu
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 40 in Kota Bharu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
24.9 mi away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ridel Hotel
Ridel Hotel
#17 of 40 in Kota Bharu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Address: Jalan Sri Kota | Jalan Yahya Petra, Kota Bharu 15100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range: $55 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the rich Malay culture at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel and the city's only five star international class hotel with premier convention and wedding venue. Conveniently located in the heart of Kota Bharu's commercial and shopping district and also close to the domestic airport. For business or leisure traveler, the 298 spacious accommodation rooms and suites provides world class service and facilities including High Speed Internet, 2 Executive Floors with dedicated Club Lounge,Business Centre, wireless meeting rooms with Grand Ballroom, an on-site event management to create exhibitions, conventions, meetings and most extravagant weddings. The Renaissance Fitness Centre is Kota Bharu's largest gymnasium equipped with latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi and a heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel Kelantan
Kota Bharu Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing