We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value for money”

The Royal Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Guest House
Ranked #26 of 59 Kota Bharu B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and good value for money”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Coming back from the islands, I have spent one night at the Royal Guest House. Management and staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean. The value received for the money spent was above average. Well done.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bandy_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

No hot water upon check in and water leaks everywhere in bathroom incl toilet, wash basin and bath area. Called reception and being informed that she will convey the message to maintenance to rectify the above problems. However, maintenance didn't turn up instead they went to perform some other jobs on rooftop about 8+pm at night which include banging of hammer and sawing noise.

Ended up no hot water to bath the next morning. Inform the reception again and being awarded with RM20 discount. That is not what I wanted.

Disgusted with the lazy and don't care attitude by the reception and maintenance staffs of this hotel namely Haini (reception)

Room Tip: Never again to consider to stay at this guest house. Advice to get a better hotel and take a taxi to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rooms are very dark, with view on a wall 50 cm.
Very warm air conditioning not working well.
Horrible smell of durian in the corridor, staff not helpfull at all, would not accept me for diner because thay had a group, the following day early departure, no breakfast.
Staff don't speak english very diificult contact

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirta195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A big disappointment.

Air conditioner is not functioning well. Very warm room. Water dripping from the air conditioner. One of the nights totally called off.

House keeping is not well trained. Complained about the already opened botol water left in the fridge. One of the nights even found another already opened water, but never turn up to collect. Mentioned about the ants in the room, just came by and spray with mosquitoes oil. Dust on the wall, curtain, floor and guess the carpet is not vacuumed as well. Once there is even one used note paper being left on the small table next to the bed.

The reception is gentle, smile always but not helpful when we have problems about the room. Once the air conditioner is not working, we have to come down around 6 a.m. as the phone is spoiled, the reception surprised us by saying we should tell them earlier. If we are able to tolerate any more, we will. It is so thoughtlessness. Fortunately, there is one official wearing `baju labuh' came by to our room ten minutes later and pass us key to another room. We missed the breakfast as we slept till 1030a.m. and being woken up by them to clear our stuff in our earlier room where we left in rush to get some sleep earlier.


The hotel management must beef up .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Royal Guest House is located in the city centre, within walking distance to the main shopping area, namely, Pasar Siti Khadijah, and several museums and palaces nearby (hence the 'royal' name.) However, there was nothing 'royal' about the room, customer service and breakfast. If you have a car, it's a nightmare to get parking space. The room size is just right for one person, two is a crowd. As for breakfast, it's better to look for it at the nearby cafes, more delicious and more variety in terms of local food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.3 mi away
G Home
G Home
#5 of 39 in Kota Bharu
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kota Bharu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kota Bharu
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Property: The Royal Guest House
Address: Lot 440 - 443 & Lot 448 - 452 | Jalan Hilir Kota, Kota Bharu 15300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing