We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by this beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habib Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Habib Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Österreich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprised by this beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Coming from the Perhentians, we had a stop-over in Kota Bharu. We just needed something for one night, so we decided to book a room at Habib Hotel. It was such a good experience to stay at a place again with big and most of all really clean rooms again. The staff is extremely helpful in every way and even let us back in our rooms again after already having checked out (train in the early morning was cancelled, so we headed back to Habib Hotel). AC and WIFI are working perfectly. Though there were just us and another 2 guys staying at this hotel, they had quite a big buffet for breakfast with tasty food (western and asian). Regarding the location: It couldn't have been better for us. There are plenty of stalls around the corner and its just a 5 minutes walk to the main bus station. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lex_kerouac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
21
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I chose this hotel for its location which is smack bang in the city. It is 5-8 minutes walk from Pasar Siti Khadijah, shopping centre, lots of jewellery shops, government offices and the main bus station. Room is pretty basic and ok enough for 2 persons. More than 2 or 3 would be pretty cramped. There is a door-less elevator which is mmmm......(don't know how to put it exactly) which serves 3 floors. The staff are helpful and there is a local tomyam stall right in front of the hotel.

All in all, I guess this is a decent compared to a few others in town and if you are looking into transiting in Kota Bharu via the bus network, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noor Azah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Assalamualikum and greetings, my friend and I booked this hotel via the phone. The booking was easy and quick, the receptionist was very polite. That was a good impression. Some front-desk people tends to rush you. By the way, this was my second stay.
It was easy to locate Habib coz it was right smack in the middle of KB. I'm not sure but they don't seem to have a parking lot of their own, you park your car right infront of the shoplot which is under the management of the Majlis Bandaraya KB I reckon. It was however, a nice enough parking area - under shady trees.

Habib is runs by the famous jewellery company I believe. It is small and simply decorated. You have got to ride the slow elevator to get the feel of the boutique hotel. Room was so so, television channels were limited. Shower was a little slow. Breakfast was so so again. However, the staff were nice and helpful. Room service was prompt, and the food was yummy, (we ordered Mee mamak and Fried Meehoon).
It is a no-frill hotel, clean and friendly hotel. Nice enough to sleep in after a long jalan-jalan around the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halima57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Check-in and check-out was a breeze. Comfortable room, if somewhat weird (a pillar in the middle of the room).

Good location if you're willing to walk. Short drive to almost everywhere in town. Plenty of delicious eateries nearby (do some online research before you go).

Short drive to Pasar Siti Khadijah, Bazar Buluh, Istana Jahar, Tambatan Diraja, etc.

On the Friday I was staying, there were an event nearby and guests got to remove their car before of after 8.30 am - 10.30 am. That was the only inconvenience for me.

Hotel has potential but could use some TLC.
A good choice for a convenient and comfortable short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheaSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The location was great for us as we were looking for a hotel close to the bus station. Next day we traveled to the Perhentians.
The room was ok. The bed sheet had a blood spot, I wonder if the bed was cleaned. The towels had stains but they were washed I could smell that, fresh.

We slept very well, no noise, and the bed is confortable. Breakfast was ok.
For one night it was ok.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My family and I booked for 2 Nights stay at this Hotel. Simply booked for this hotel after reading reviews from others. We booked for Superior Rooms. Prior to our departure to Kota Bharu, I've spoken to the Manager of the hotel that we will need some frozen space to keep our Keropok Lekor which we bought from Terengganu (approx 20 kgs). There is a parking slot reserved for the hotel's guest.

Pros:
(1) Quite Centralised - walking distance to tourist attractions, Pasar Siti Kadhijah, etc.
(2) Staffs are very accommodating & friendly
(3) Kind Manager allowing us to store our keropok Lekor in their ice freezer.


Cons:
(1) The water pressure in the shower are low. I takes hours for me to shower and due to the low water pressure, the shower waters are hot (coz I turn on the water heater).
(2) Mosquitoes in the hotel room, corridors
(3) No minibar or safe box for Superior room
(4) Breakfast was basic but tasty
(5) The bathroom looked very old and mouldy

Overall, I find that this hotel needs improvement in running their business. Habib Hotel, please accept my review as positive criticism.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

pleasant reception with restaurant adjoining.
Room walls were dirty and the bathroom needed the scum cleaned off the shower area. Needs net curtain on window as flats next door look straight in.
Bed was clean and comfortable and towels clean – slept well.
Breakfast was good and the meal we had was also good.
central position – easy to walk around town / visit museums – local bus and taxi station just up the road.
Would we stay again - no

Room Tip: high floor back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berni109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Home
G Home
#7 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al-Ansar
Hotel Al-Ansar
#25 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habib Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habib Hotel

Property: Habib Hotel
Address: Lot 1159-1162, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Habib Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Habib Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habib Hotel Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing