We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night in Kota Bharu”
Review of Habib Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Habib Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good for one night in Kota Bharu”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed one night in Kota Bharu before a flight and paid NZ$65 on Agoda for a room in this hotel. Not much in Kota Bhura, lots of shoe shops, night market was barren; and no food. There is a KFC, McDonalds and Pizza Hut. Hotel room was large, comfy king bed, LCD with fox movies. It was a little weary but clean. No fridge. Staff were helpful and friendly. Flight was too early to try breakfast. Taxi to airport cost 30rm and hotel arranged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
23
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It was a good hotel with great location. It was value for money as it was really convenient for us to travel around the city. It was near to restaurants, attractions and market. Walking distance less than 5 mins. The rooms are large and clean and staffs were very helpful. Improvement point; probably can add refrigerators and safe box because I think these are basic stuffs that a 2 star hotel should have from my experience. Other than that, due to great location and value, will consider to come back and stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as_yaacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Habib before we went to the Perhentians, and it is a great hotel. It is in a good location, and within walking distance of good museums and attractions. The rooms are large and clean, with good modern bathrooms. The staff are really helpful and always friendly, and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was in Kota Bharu for a business trip and wanted a place centrally located. Habib Hotel fit the bill nicely. It's a refurbished hotel, so most of the amenities are in better condition than other similarly priced hotels. Checking in was a breeze since I booked through Agoda and all I had to do was hand over the booking slip and they checked me in without fuss.
The room was a superior with twin beds, all the usual amenities. 2 things to note: the room doesn't have a mini fridge and the toilets are basic showers only. The bed was firm which was good and I had a good night's sleep during my stay.
Can't comment too much on food because it was fasting month, but they did provide meals for sahur, the pre-fast early morning meal.
One gripe I have is the lack of parking at the hotel. It's going to be a hassle for car owners because you have to park in the city council bays which require you to constantly feed coins. Maybe Habib can buy or lease some of the parking bays for their guests.
Overall, I like Habib Hotel because it was definitely value for money. It fit my requirements for a comfortable place in the heart of Kota Bharu with easy access to places I needed to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikaelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just stayed there for one night and we wanted to have a decent place since Kota Bharu really has nothing to offer. The reception gave us the fastest check-in process ever and we were in our room in no time. The hotel is newly renovated and the beds are very comfortable. Also the bathroom is good and there is a flat screen TV, though the choice of programmes is rather limited and can be improved. All staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast was within our expectation, given the price we paid for the night. Also location wise the hotel is good. It's a small place without swimming pool etc, but if you just stay one night, then this is a very good alternative.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Habib Hotel, and the one thing I'd change about our 3-week trip is that hotel. They barely opened the front door for us and never offered to help with our bags out of the taxi. Nor did the driver, for that matter.
After such a warm welcome (not), we were given our room key with no instructions about breakfast times, handed vouchers for both breakfast and the ONE free welcome drink, and took our own luggage up to the room. We got into the elevator with our luggage, pressed the button, nothing happened until the door fully closed, followed the “stand behind this line” sign on the floor, then got up to the second floor and waited. Not only did the door not open, but the light went out (it has a glass door, so we could see out), and it went quiet. Turns out you have to manually push the door open. We then schlepped our bags to the room over the DIRTIEST CARPET I HAVE EVER SEEN! It's truly a disgrace! What they say about first impressions is true and this was not a good first impression.
The room itself was sparse and smelled bad—moldy. We immediately put on the air-con, which we thought might help, but the smell might have come from there. It had a large bed with a nice duvet on it, a flat screen TV mounted on the wall (every hotel has these now), a desk with a light fixture that uses the only outlet, so it's impossible to have the light on and computer charging at the same time. The bathroom had no bar of soap—if you wanted to wash your hands, you had to reach into the shower to use the liquid soap dispenser, then dry your hands on the towel in the shower area (it's okay, it wasn't that far from the sink). The sink leaked.
The room had one small window at the far end of the room and it looked out on the disgusting apartment building next door, which had some guys who smoked outside during the day.
We called to ask if they had an upgraded room and were told they were full. So this was it...but thankfully, it was only two nights.
Breakfast was a lukewarm affair with an array of dishes set out early and left without using the heating devices under the trays. The staff did nothing but talk to each other--dishes weren’t cleared as we finished and they pretty much ignored us.
As for the night market people have raved about--huh? It's mostly clothing found everywhere and nothing special. We also went beyond it to the food stalls one night, which was culturally interesting to enjoy food with the locals...until we saw the very large rats running through the area. I added some pictures of the man making murtabak, which was delicious, but after seeing the rats, we opted to take it back to the hotel and eat in our room.
I hate to write bad reviews, but after staying at the Habib with so many disappointments, I felt I had to warn others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YourSingapore.com

Helpful?
1 Thank patt711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had 3 nights at this hotel in a Deluxe Room. The first night our room was on the first level directly above the entrance. The room was a little on the small side and plainly furnished. Across from the Hotel is a cafe that is opened 24hrs. There was a lot of noise coming into our room from the cafe opposite, so much so that we complained at around 2am we were being woken up quite a lot. We were moved immediately to another Deluxe room on the 3rd floor. Much quieter and about twice the size of our original room. It was the room we were suppose to have been booked into. When booking with Agoda always confirm you are given the correct room grade you have booked as some hotels will try and downgrade when possible.
The rooms were clean enough, not much comfort at all. The WiFi was very weak and not worth while using. The staff were friendly enough. The breakfast included was simple and not much on offer and nothing was hot.
The hotel is situated about 100 mtrs from the Bus Station and within easy walking to the night market and some restaurants. Not a lot about Kota Bharu but maybe there are better hotels than this one to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T0J057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kota Bharu
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
G Home
G Home
#5 of 39 in Kota Bharu
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flora Place Hotel
Flora Place Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kota Bharu
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habib Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habib Hotel

Property: Habib Hotel
Address: Lot 1159-1162, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Habib Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Habib Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habib Hotel Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing