We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin doors but can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thin doors but can't beat the price”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to Thailand. We paid 25 MYR for the taxi ride from the train station to the hotel, but wasn't sure if this was fair or not since the taxis don't have meters and the available taxis seemed to be an organized monopoly. Room, bathroom and linens were clean, the shower had a door which sounds basic but is not usually the case in this part of the world, making the bathroom very wet without one. The toiletry package we paid extra for only came with one bath towel, so we had to share one between the two of us. The entertainment package we paid extra for came with TV and wifi access, but we had to keep logging back in to the wifi every 15 minutes (highly annoying). We didn't go, but it's across the street from a mall which appeared to have fast food options. It's on a very busy street and we heard some traffic noise, but we were more disrupted by some drunk guests who were out in the hall talking loudly in the wee hours.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lux_vs_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    176
    98
    29
    29
See reviews for
93
96
62
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I did the booking via internet. Got a very good rate.
Just be aware that the usual hotel's 'free' amenities like towels, soap, air-con, TV, wifi are options which you have to buy / add

Check in was fuss free.

Pros
Good Bed
Good Shower
Everything in room works
Walking Distance to food and shopping center

Cons
Room dirty (dirk marks on walls, hairs on table and on toilet floor)
Amenities are options.
No free parking (covered parking is add-on cost again)
Difficult to get parking on peak/public holidays

Given I get good rate via internet (early booking), I would give it a value for money stay
But if I pay normal rate for the room, I might go for other sub RM130 hotel rooms elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and wifi, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us.

I've notified the relevant team to improve on this area.

I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience. See you soon

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Pahang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I suggested this hotel to everyone who came to Kota Bharu, Kelantan. Affordable and comfortable hotel for you to check in. The room is great and comfortable including the basic amenities that you can choose depend on your budget . You will find the gem of East Coast at Tune Hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zizul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review following your recent stay at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices. Our primary focus is to offer a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. The 5 star beds, and the soothingly powerful shower serves comfort at great value, all time.

I hope you'll continue being a fan of Tune Hotel and we hope you give us the opportunity to once again provide you the positive Tune Hotel experience you have come to expect from us.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Room size is OK. It does feel better than budget hotel and will not make you feel cheap staying here. 24 hours Hayaki below and a shopping mall next to it. For a small town this will do. Other hotels around are very expensive and offer same or less experience.

Room Tip: Book in advance for cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience

Providing the basic helps keep prices competitive. This allows great band of affordability particularly targeted at the value-conscious travellers

Facilities you find at regular hotels are packaged as add-ons to offer options, and ultimately the choice to tailor make your stay that's easy on your pockets.

You may find items such as air conditioning, wifi, towels, etc are sold separately as optional add ons, and you could even have them purchased during last minute check-ins over the Frontdesk

Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Such as the WIFI and parking.

Many find our concept great-value for money.

Thanks for the review and I hope you'll continue being a fan.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Kelantan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

very best hotel in kota bharu, cheap and comfortable, hotel staff very friendly,wifi very fast,simple and clean, Friendly service, easily accessible, next to shopping mall (KB Mall), reasonable rates where you only pay what you need, and many more make my staying even for the first time at Tune Hotel really enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South0fHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Friendly service, easily accessible, next to shopping mall (KB Mall), reasonable rates where you only pay what you need, and many more make my staying even for the first time at Tune Hotel really enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abd_Aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel

We offer the basic; a comfortable bed and hot shower for a wonderful slumber experience, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

It's rewarding to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay and a warmly memorable experience.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I like to book this Tune Hotels because the location in the heart of capital of Kelantan,Eastcoast of Malaysia and we can easily gets of facilities like foods,nice shopping Mall,good Parking lots and very clean accommodation and very speacial rates for any items what you only need.I also enjoy all types of food at the fist level at this Hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISMAIL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.8 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kota Bharu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
G Home
G Home
#5 of 39 in Kota Bharu
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kota Bharu
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
MyPlace Hotel Kota Bharu
MyPlace Hotel Kota Bharu
#22 of 39 in Kota Bharu
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre

Property: Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
Address: Kbcc Jalan Hamzah, Kota Bharu 15050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kota Bharu next to the state capital’s popular landmark the KB Mall. Guests will find the hotel’s location very strategic and convenient as it is within close proximity of established shopping outlets and will allow visitors to experience the rich food and cultural heritage of Kelantan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels Kota Bahru City Centre Hotel Kota Bharu
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing