We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap convinience and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Penang
1 review
“Cheap convinience and comfort”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good budgeted hotel with high class experience. Located at easy acess location. Recommended to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose room that facing the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas Rizal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    176
    98
    29
    29
See reviews for
93
96
62
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I am impressed, that's all i can say. Very simple, has all the essentials that travellers want (ie. cleanliness, comfort, security and a central location next to a large mall just 20 steps away!), options that don't incur waste (ie. preloading aircon time according to your preference), and having a partner 24-hour cafe and a small retail shop downstairs where you can pick up your newspapers and breakfast.
For the laughable amount that you are paying, you will never get this standard of rooms in any "proper" hotel! I am truly a convert, and I think if there is a Tune Hotel wherever I am going, that would be my first choice from now.
After all, if you just need a place to sleep (and very comfortably at that!), why throw away good money on unnecessary frills, and instead, why not splurge it on activities and other things that means more in a trip? Way to go, Tune Hotels!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventuresOfLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stop over for 1 night after 3 nights in Perhentian Island to catch-up on Kota Bahru food :)
As advertised, small functional room, very comfortable bed that my kids absolutely love it. We took the additional TV/Wifi/12 hr air con. It's more than sufficient. If you need to catch-up on fast food, KB Mall is just next door. Hayaki cafe is average. We opted for Yati Ayam Percik some distance away. Overall, good option for short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at Tunes in Hatyai and Kota Bharu Town Center. Both hotels had clean rooms, toilets and very accommodating staff at front desk. You don't pay what you don't need!!! Efficient check in out at all times and good security especially at Tunes Hatyai.

A very practical chain of hotel for people on the move who require a pleasant room to come back and rest after a hectic day.

If you don't need it (frills) they don't charge it!!!! Suits me fine.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors with windows...an excellent choice for quiet and peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stopped over in KB for one night on the way to the Perhentians. Tune was clean, cheap and easy! Nice staff on the counter for our late arrival, room was small but all we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A very well located hotel that is right next to KB Mall. So it makes it very easy for shopping and eating out. KB Mall has everything that you will need.
The rooms are very clean and tidy with new furnishings. It is an "add-on" hotel. So if you want air-con, TV, Wi-Fi etc then you have to pay extra. But not much and for most of the luxuries, you're looking at around RM100 per night.
The whole hotel is non-smoking, so smokers, you need to go out the front of the hotel for a smoke.
Overall, a great place to stay and I will go back to stay there every time I go back to Kota Bahru.
The only thing I would like to see in the rooms is a small fridge.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same. No real nice views. The only good view you will get is of KB Mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiDiverAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Check in and out was fast and easy. Love the shower and clean toilet. Bed very comfy and room is very cooling with only the fan switched on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamsmKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.8 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kota Bharu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
G Home
G Home
#5 of 39 in Kota Bharu
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kota Bharu
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
MyPlace Hotel Kota Bharu
MyPlace Hotel Kota Bharu
#22 of 39 in Kota Bharu
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre

Property: Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
Address: Kbcc Jalan Hamzah, Kota Bharu 15050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kota Bharu next to the state capital’s popular landmark the KB Mall. Guests will find the hotel’s location very strategic and convenient as it is within close proximity of established shopping outlets and will allow visitors to experience the rich food and cultural heritage of Kelantan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels Kota Bahru City Centre Hotel Kota Bharu
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing