We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Dynasty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dynasty Inn
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The room I stayed in was very basic, but everything functioned well. Not the cleanest, but it was OK overall. It's certainly not a hotel to hang out and relax, but adequate to come home to after a long day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineMayYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    9
    10
    10
See reviews for
4
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I made my booking with hotels.com at a very good rate. One of the reasons I booked it was because it also said in the description that it included a refrigerator. Upon check-in I went up to my room to find there was no fridge. So I went to reception and showed her the booking sheet and description, but she refused to give me a room with a fridge. So I had to pay a further 50% of what I had already paid to upgrade to their executive suite. Once I got to their executive suite, it wasn't much different at all to the other room. In fact the only difference was it had a fridge and a balcony. The sun setting in the afternoon was so hot that the air con couldn't cool the room down, so you spend about 3-4 hours sweating until the sun finally goes down. Not very comfortable.
Other than that, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom looks like it was still from the 1970's. Not so nice. Clean, but the pictures that you see on the booking sites must still be the original ones when the hotel was built, because the room look nothing like them. I mean, some of the pictures of the rooms look amazing and very recently renovated. But I'm sure when you book on one the the sites like agoda, booking or hotels you do not get one of these rooms. You get one of the rooms that has not been renovated which I think is very cheeky and false advertising.
Overall. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Unfortunately unless you book directly with the hotel and ask for one of their nicely renovated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiDiverAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kuching
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The split unit air-cond was is old and made a lot of noise. I can hear the air-cond noise from the next room as well. Can sleep well at night because of it.

Breakfast provided is good for this range of room rates.

yipew@yahoo.com

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ee Wei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time here. Why did i choose this hotel for the second time? This is because it is in the town of KB, easy to park the car, the room is clean n comfortable, the service is good, the food for breakfast is varity and delicious too...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I booked two rooms through agoda, the photos are just pure lies! In the photos it's modern and clean, in reality the rooms are old, dirty an disgusting. In my elderly mothers room there was a dead lizard with a maggot eating it in between the bed sheets!!! She was horrified! As we were coming from Australia we had to choose hotels based on photos, this hotel lied to us. They actually have framed the pictures that are on agoda and have them on the wall in the lobby!? I would not go back to this hotel even if you paid me. The bathrooms are also disgusting, foul smelling and we wore shoes every time we went in there. Don't be fooled, find a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paraparadionne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I frequent this hotel since 2002 and my most resent stay is on 31 December 2013 - 2 January 2014. I just feel comfortable with the peaceful surrounding with clean and comfortable bed. Moreover, the staff here are friendly and they make me fell at home. Breakfast is simple but is set at roof top with panoramic view over the Kelantan river.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have balcony for you to enjoy the view. If you like a more quiet place, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina7155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

called in to check for price and was quoted RM$128 per night. 20mins later, called in again to confirm booking and was told price have gone up to RM$150 per night. when asked why the increase in price, reason was "school hoilday". but was given a "discount" back to RM$128 when mention that I called to check price only 20mins ago. VERY DISHONEST behavior from the front desk.

room had a moldy smell and bathroom walls had dust build up. vents were clogged with dust too. showing that house keeping was slack and did not even try to clean those out of reach places.

there was only ONE tea bag as compliment drink. suspecting it to be left by the last guest of the room.

room also did not have a mini fridge for guest to keep their drinks cool.

only up side was that they had discovery channel on tv.

you pay what you get for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto_L828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Al-Ansar
Hotel Al-Ansar
#25 of 39 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
MyPlace Hotel Kota Bharu
MyPlace Hotel Kota Bharu
#21 of 39 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
G Home
G Home
#5 of 39 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flora Place Hotel
Flora Place Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridel Hotel
Ridel Hotel
#8 of 39 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dynasty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Inn

Property: Dynasty Inn
Address: 2865-D E Jalan Sultanah Zainab, Kota Bharu 15050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dynasty Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dynasty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dynasty Inn Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing